We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great entertaining hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The New Northumbria Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

On first inspection this hotel was a instant hit. The front is beautiful with plenty of outdoor seating and a welcoming entrance. Superb summer place to sit and have a drink or a Arabic smoke!!
The reception is very well decorated and the lady behind the desk was very pleasant and helpful.
The corridors to the rooms are very nicely decorated too but my room 206 needed up dating.
I believe its on the agenda as some others have been completed. It was a very spacious room with a good sized tv.

The bar that sells food is very well decorated with cheap priced food and a good range of
beers. They even had a happy hour that ran from 5-7 and 9-10.
The main pubic bar was again very well decorated and very snug. They had entertainment in the way of a guitarist who was very good.
There is also an Italian restaurant that looked very nice with a good choice of food.

I would recommend this hotel if you like a bit of nice light entertainment in a decent upmarket location that hosts plenty if shops, bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brynboy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have just launched our Sheesha bar so it’s great to hear you liked it. We are sorry you found you room a little outdated it is getting refurbished soon, we do try to upgrade to the newer rooms when possible, sorry we didn't manage on this occasion. Glad you have a good and entertaining visit overall, thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Although I have not stayed here I have been in touch with the reception staff who were very helpful and went beyond the call of duty to help me arrange accommodation for family. I do know the hotel is in an extremely popular area of Newcastle and would certainly book for a weekend away myself.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Lopezharo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback we will pass it on to the reception team. Hope you do come and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

facilities in the room that have not been updated are not great, rotten windows, bathroom floor coming away.
Bed not comfortable.
Rooms very close to each other so noise from hen dos is bad !
need to patrol the landings to check for hotel guests who are causing issues and not just rely on your guests who are sleeping to call down.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank palcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. A number of our rooms have yet to be refurbished but this is happening soon. Apologies that there was noise during your stay and you found your bed uncomfortable, your comments will be fed back to the relevant staff. We are always looking for ways to make our guests stay more comfortable so greatly appreciate your suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The New Northumbria needs to be put into context. It is a 3 - star hotel that caters (at weekends) for stag and hen parties on a road synonymous with these audiences. Indeed the hotel bar (Osborne's) is bar far the busiest in the area.

Therefore for what it offered it was perfect. We had a group of 11 across 5 rooms and everyone (bar me - more in a moment) enjoyed their stay. Even when we had to change room sizes the day before arrival the hotel were incredibly accommodating. The rooms were large with plenty of natural light, clean and well presented. I would suggest rooms at the back of the hotel which do not face onto Osborne Rd and are therefore going to be quieter.

My quibble was over the window in my room (125). Due to being next to a fire escape we were unable to open our window and this was not pleasant whatsoever. The heat was abrasive and not comfortable during the night. But I must review the group's stay and it was more than fit for purpose.

One suggestion would be to change the breakfast times in the main restaurant. Breakfast finished at 10am at weekends with another menu to start from 10am in the Kitchen. Sadly this did not start until 11am. Some in our group complained the food was not tasty but both of these were complaints picked up along Osborne Rd.

If you are looking for a hotel for your stag party and a great place to start the night, then this hotel is the right one for you!

My partner and I stayed in room 125

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank leemabey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived half an hour before check in and were told we had been given a complimentary upgrade. The room was a newly refurbished room. It was very hot but it was a sunny day and after calling reception at 11.45pm , I was told that they had given all the fans out but they would see what they could do. Within 5minutes a fan was delivered, which was a life saver. We ate in the hotel restaurant (Scalinis) and the food was excellent and very good value for money. We will definitely stay here again soon (I will ask for a refurbished room as a previous reviewer advised). The staff right from reception, housekeeping, in the bar and restaurant most definitely gave the most welcoming and friendliest service we have ever received. Fab!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for writing such a lovely review - its great to hear that you will be staying with us again. We are pleased that you appreciated your complimentary upgrade and thank you for such wonderful comments regarding the staff throughout the hotel - its fantastic to hear such great feedback. Yes we have now bought some more fans - due to the improvement in English weather (fingers crossed it lasts) we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Had a one night stop here last week whilst on business locally. My room was tired and definitely needed some attention, the bath panel had expanded and swollen up at the top leaving a dirty looking mess and a musty smell (see photo). The room was very small for a double with all the furniture and décor looking very tired. I mentioned to the reception staff that the bathroom need some maintenance and that the room was tired and they advised it was soon to be refurbished, in fairness the other rooms I saw looked much better, bigger and well maintained and fitted out so my tip if you are staying is make sure you ask for a recently refurbished room. I didn't get what I ordered for breakfast but what I did have was very tasty albeit a less than generous portion. At £92 this room was overpriced and does not represent good value.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay at the hotel. Some of our rooms are still awaiting to be refurbished - the final part of the refurbishment is due within the next few months. Sorry to hear about you not receiving what you ordered for breakfast, however if you would have brought this to their attention at the time then we would have amended the mistake straight away, however glad you enjoyed it nevertheless. Sorry to hear that you felt our hotel was overpriced, however we thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here for a few nights whilst visiting newcastle for a wedding. It was the start of the weekend so parking was a squeeze in the back alley, but most places in this part of town looked to have the same issue. There was a buzz around the hotel and surrounding area so you could tell we were in for a big weekend. The staff at reception were the friendliest bunch we've had in awhile, must have been locals by the looks of it.

Our room was a decent size for what we expected in the smaller location, but alas we were right above the in-house pub which made any chance of getting a peaceful nights rest impossible (I should have read the ear plug tips below earlier) We were told the music would shut off at 11pm but it was more like half 11. The lack of air con or fan in the room also made it tough during the warm evenings. We opted not to take the breakfast option as there was a Gregg's bakery and Starbucks just 5 mins walk away. Did however have dinner at the hotels Italian restaurant and was not disappointed.

Special mention must go to the girl at front desk who helped us with an emergency wardrobe malfunction. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Jesmond.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bradantha_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Unfortunately due to the location of the hotel we do have a limited amount of parking spaces available, however you are correct in saying that most over hotels in the city have the same issue. Thank you for such lovely comments regarding the staff, they are all so friendly and do go above and beyond to make the guests feel welcome. We must apologise about the lack of air con within the hotel – we have now gone out and bought more fans for the room however for guests to use if they are too hot. Thank you for recommending us to others and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#18 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
838 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#3 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western New Kent Hotel
Best Western New Kent Hotel
#50 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
254 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#24 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Northumbria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Northumbria Hotel

Address: Osborne Road, Jesmond | 61-73 Osborne Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £46 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Northumbria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Northumbria Hotel is a boutique hotel located on the outskirts of Newcastle upon Tyne, in a busy vibrant residential area. We pride ourselves on our personable, friendly customer service and strive to make every guest feel special and valued. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The New Northumbria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Northumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing