We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The New Northumbria Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Staybridge Suites Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Village Hotel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jesmond Dene House(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Newcastle Airport(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Malmaison Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$251
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
easyHotel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$59
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Reviews (535)
    Filter reviews
    535 results
    Traveller rating
    244
    184
    65
    31
    11
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    244
    184
    65
    31
    11
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewssuperior roomosbornes barosborne roadan italian restaurantwest jesmond metro stationcity centrejesmond arealimited parkingfreeman hospitalon arrivallovely hotelstayed here for nightshotel restaurantgood sizevisiting newcastlebars and restaurantsfull english
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    420 - 425 of 535 reviews
    Reviewed 28 August 2014

    Quick Tour of North England took us to this hotel. Budget/basic room but we paidf a budget price so very pleased. Reception staff were lovely. One even moved her car to allow me to park in the Hotel Carpark

    • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank Brian B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

    Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your kind comments.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 August 2014

    nice reception area and staff were very pleasent and helpful. standard bedroom nicely decorated and clean but you can hear the music from the bar downstairs, every footstep and doors banging along the corridor, not much fun at 3am, 4am, 5am need I go on!
    expensive for a basic hotel that didn't include breakfast.
    I would have though common sense would put the stags together and families and couples on other floors!

    • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank 986annew
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

    Thank you for your kind comments regarding our rooms and staff. Osbornes bar can get noisy but stops serving at 11pm. We have a night porter who can deal with any disturbances, we are positive if this issue had been raised at the time it would have been resolved. We do try and room manage when allocating guests rooms, depending on their reasons for staying, however on busy nights when the hotel is full, room allocation can be harder to achieve.
    We endeavour to offer competitive rates with other hotels and strive to provide value to all our guests. Thank you again for your feedback.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

    Had a midweek break here in Aug2014, my initial impressions were that the hotel was located in a very nice area and only 5/10min walk to nearest metro station (Jesmond) which was three stops from Central Newcastle.

    Upon arrival the weather was great which made sitting in the outdoor area very enjoyable with access to osmonds two bars, scallinis restaurant and osmonds sheesha bar. The hotel seemed very busy.

    Booking didn't go as smoothly as normal as the receptionist couldn't find our reservation (an issue with Booking.com and not the staff) after about 15mins she managed to book us in. We had a superior room, which was tastefully designed and the bed was very comfy. Our room had a wet room which was fabulous however the shower kept loosing pressure and went from freezing to burning once it regulated it was fine.

    Breakfast was delicious and plentiful with continental and the hot food was made to order-makes a big difference to hot buffets. Staff were friendly and for two mornings had no compliant. On the last morning they forgot about us for ordering hot food and when we called them over the waitress wasn't too happy as breakfast was finishing at 9:30 and this was 9:20.

    We throughly enjoyed our stay in the Northumbria and would recommend to friends.

    Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    1  Thank Michelle B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

    We are so pleased you had such an enjoyable stay with us and your booking was sorted out. Sorry there was a slight issue with your breakfast, thank you for bringing it to our attention. We agree our location is fab and the sunshine always brings people to our outdoor area. Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 August 2014

    went down Thursday for Newcastle races stayed overnight with family,hotel great, staff very helpful,hard to find a parking space as it is limited at the back of the hotel ,but got one enventualy,This is a great area to stay in very lively and plenty of bars shops and restuarants to choose from,hotel, rooms were good sized and had everything you would need,but very warm,anyway had a great time,and will return
    .

    • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank 63bear
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

    So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. Unfortunately due to the location of the hotel car parking spaces are limited, glad you found one. If you are after some local places to go we recommend our onsite bar Osbornes and our Italian restaurant Scalini’s. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 August 2014

    On first inspection this hotel was a instant hit. The front is beautiful with plenty of outdoor seating and a welcoming entrance. Superb summer place to sit and have a drink or a Arabic smoke!!
    The reception is very well decorated and the lady behind the desk was very pleasant and helpful.
    The corridors to the rooms are very nicely decorated too but my room 206 needed up dating.
    I believe its on the agenda as some others have been completed. It was a very spacious room with a good sized tv.

    The bar that sells food is very well decorated with cheap priced food and a good range of
    beers. They even had a happy hour that ran from 5-7 and 9-10.
    The main pubic bar was again very well decorated and very snug. They had entertainment in the way of a guitarist who was very good.
    There is also an Italian restaurant that looked very nice with a good choice of food.

    I would recommend this hotel if you like a bit of nice light entertainment in a decent upmarket location that hosts plenty if shops, bars and restaurants.

    • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank Brynboy56
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

    We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have just launched our Sheesha bar so it’s great to hear you liked it. We are sorry you found you room a little outdated it is getting refurbished soon, we do try to upgrade to the newer rooms when possible, sorry we didn't manage on this occasion. Glad you have a good and entertaining visit overall, thank you for your feedback.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews