We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean,friendly, central hotel”
Review of Surtees Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surtees Hotel
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and were very happy overall. Staff were very friendly, room was lovely and clean and spacious and looked exactly as they did in the pics. Only disappointment was that there was no hot water for a shower from when we arrived on the Thursday (my birthday) right through until the Friday evening. After travelling some distance and having booked a restaurant and being unable to wash properly beforehand and then again to go out the following day was hugely disappointing. Staff were most apologetic but because we paid by voucher not too bothered whereas other guests offered full refunds. On the plus side breakfast was lovely and the location was rare and central.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel, I am glad your found our staff to be helpful and friendly as we strive to provide excellent customer service.

I'm sorry about the problems you encountered with the hot water, this is something we have rectified and have replaced our boiler.

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 590 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2013

21st – 23rd January 2012

Having read numerous reviews of this hotel I was a little worried about our visit. Granted, many of the things that people had mentioned in their reviews were present but the majority are outside the hotel’s control and most of the others were a bit finickity. We stayed during the week but it could well be different at the weekend when clubbers and stag do’s may be in residence.

Parking:

Multi-Storey car park on Dean Street is approx 50ft from the hotel. You pay between 0800hrs and 1700hrs at approx. £1.30 per hour, which for the convenience was a small price to pay. Don’t panic about having to be down at 0800hrs each morning to feed the meter just put extra in the day before and it carries over to the next morning. We were lucky and as soon as we turned into the car park there were spaces on the ground floor and we could see the hotel entrance from the car.

Check-in:

Friendly, efficient, fast. The young lady explained everything we needed to know and also answered all of our questions regarding restaurants, shops etc. They have a pad of city maps on the desk, just ask and they will give you one. All of the people on reception during our visit were friendly and helpful.

I had read about the lift and from all the bleating in some of the reviews was expecting to have to climb up a rope to our room. It is an old fashioned small lift and was necessary because my wife had packed enough clothes for a 3-week stay. In fact it enhanced the stay as we had a good giggle trying to get everything in to it, shut the gates and reach the button (we were only on the first floor so could have walked).

Out of the lift and through the security door and a fire door and we were at our room.

Room:

We had room 7 which again was a pleasant surprise. Clean, spacious and modern with a large flatscreen television. The bathroom was clean and modern and we had no problems with the shower, heat of the water or water pressure As per other reviews we did notice that one window pane was cracked and had sellotape on it but it didn’t make a jot of difference.

One bedside light wasn’t working so I took the bulb to reception and she gave me a replacement – no dramas.

It was snowing and minus 2 when we arrived but the room was very warm and remained so during our stay as did the temperature outside and the snow.

Breakfast:

Nice selection, full English or continental style breakfast. There were cereals, fresh fruit and a toaster with a selection of bread. Hot water for your teapot, fruit juice and milk were also on offer.
Day 1 Breakfast:

Only one other person in the breakfast room and it was nice and quiet. We both went for the full English breakfast which was cooked well by the English lady and served quickly.

Day 2 Breakfast:

Two or three oriental families in the breakfast room, who were very loud. The radio was on a little too loud and was ever so slightly off station but it drowned out the other guests.

We noticed that two families who came in after us got their full English breakfasts almost straight away and we were still waiting for ours. The waitress must have noticed us checking this out as an African lady came out and we think said “you are having poached eggs which take longer so I did the other breakfasts to keep a quick service going (we struggled to hear what she said over the radio). We weren’t bothered so there was no need for her to pop out to the table.

Hotel Location:

It’s a city centre hotel so there will be noise at night, if you want peace and quiet stay in a hotel in the country and catch a bus or drive into the city.

As per other reviews there was noise from revellers returning home and also when the club under the hotel emptied their bottles in the early hours but nothing too bad. Our room was facing the train line but there was very little noise as I think they run on electricity.

Really good location for just about anything, 10 minute walk to the Theatre Royal, Castle Keep, Quayside & Tyne Bridge, Grey’s Monument & Shopping.

Hotel stays are a bit like Russian Roulette, if 100 people turned up the same day & had the same type of room and service as us 50 of them would have written bad reviews.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WillsyGrimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review we really appreciate all feedback that we get and I am glad the staff made a good impact on your stay.

We hope to see you again with us soon

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

the only reason i gave this hotel 1 point is because the reception staff were ok and so was the breakfast but the rooms were filthy and very noisy with no double glazing surrounded with very late/early morning closing pubs and night clubs emptying bins every 30 min!! and you could here every thing to all hrs the hotel was full of stag and hen partys and you can here them all night going out and then coming bk in , it was so bad we were booked in for 2 nights and only stayed 1 that was more than enough never even used the shower or took my shoes off! just didnt feel clean or comfortable there at all,this type of place should be aimed a young and lively if your easy pleased but would defo not reccomend it at all!!!!

Room Tip: just dont stay here at all!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colindickson105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Located right in the city centre, the hotel was ideally positioned as everywhere we went (pubs, bars and St James Park) were in walking distance.

The layout of the hotel was weird but nothing wrong with our room (it was too big if anything!) with the only let down being that the windows were not double glazed so it could be a bit noisy. Also special mention to the staff as they were very accommodating given how late we arrived due to all the snow.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

I booked two nights for new year. The hotel is in a great location if you want somewhere close to nightlife. However, when I saw my room, it was disgusting. There were water marks on the ceiling which looked like they had been there for some time, the area by the window was filthy, not just a bit of dust but dirt and grime all over the carpet had crap all over it and to top it off there weren't any towels so I had to (embarrassingly) knock on someone else's door to ask for a spare completely naked and dripping wet!
Luckily, as the night went on for so long the room was used more for a storage space than a bedroom.
All of that said, the girl at reception was more than accommodating, they didn't have any other rooms but she refunded me the price of one night and let me pay half price with free breakfast, which I was too late for anyway, for the other.
To sum up, book if you're having a party, don't book if you plan on a long stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sailormac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your review, and i am happy to hear that members of our Reception team were so helpful.

I would also like to take this opportunity to apologise for the problems you encountered during your stay and to let you know we have taken this on board and are carrying out a full and thorough repair project throughout all of our rooms.

Thank you again for your Review.

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Bought a two night stay via a deal - if I had of paid full price I would of been angry.
The hotel website is misleading - the rooms did not look like the pictures:(
You had to park nearby at a cost of £11 per day:(
If you stay for a couple of days you don't get room service however we were asked if we needed clean towels, coffee etc and this was left outside our room, quite bizarre.
Breakfast was of a higher standard the second day.
Plus side the hotel is central:)
The bathroom ceiling had mould on it with the paint peeling off it was disgusting:(
I won't be staying again:(

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susiewoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear about the issues during your stay. I have spoken to the staff involved and apologise for this. In regards to the repair work for your room we have now implemented a full repair programme to all of our rooms to correct these issues.

Unfortunately we do advertise as having no car park, with it being a city centre hotel space is of a premium.

Once again thank you for your Review

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Smack in the center of the city, this hotel seems to be trying to be something it's not. Stayed for one night whilst attending a graduation ceremony. Very well situated for restaurants and bars but it was well populated by drunken teenagers and it was only Tuesday night ! You can park in the multi storey behind it but the clock kicks in at 8am and the traffic warden pounces by 8:15. You can buy one in the evening so you don't have to rush out in the morning. Didn't eat here - booked a breakfast but after sitting for 20 minutes and being ignored, I had to go - smelt nice though !
This hotel would be OK for a single night during the week (£40s pretty cheap) - the room was actually quite nice, but I would avoid it on a Friday / Saturday unless you're on a stag / hen do.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ralphandbola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I would like to firstly like to address the problem you encountered during breakfast, this is not how our breakfast staff usually behave and would like to apologise for that.

In regards to your comment about Friday and Saturday nights I can completely understand where you are coming from, as you can imagine being a city centre hotel in one of the most popular cities in the UK for Stag and Hen do's, along with many other hotels in the area weekends tend to be one of our busiest periods.

Thank you once again for your review

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
608 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grey Street Hotel
Grey Street Hotel
#43 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#55 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surtees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surtees Hotel

Address: 12-18 Dean Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £47 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surtees Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Surtees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surtees Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing