We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, comfortable stay”
Review of Surtees Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surtees Hotel
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Was wary of goin here after reading some reviews but myself and my mates had a fantastic stay here. Rooms were spacious, warm, comfortable and clean. Continental and full cooked brekkie was delicious. Bit noisy at nite with passers by but u expect this wen u stay in a centrally located hotel in a young, lively vibrant town, didn't spoil anything for us. Only issue is the lift not working and apparently hasn't been for ages but that wdnt put me off. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. This hotel is great value and I would recommend it to anyone. Can't wait to go back :)

Room Tip: Entrance round the back of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanieP88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your lovely review and we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We can only apologize for the huge inconvenience of our lift being out of service & you will be pleased to know that it is now fixed and up and running.

We will hopefully see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 590 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

Three night stay 4/7 th april. This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. It was taken through Woucher 2 nights for the price of one and then we added an extra night at full cost. I f only we had looked at the room before paying for the extra night We would not have stayed at all. From the entrance to reception to bedroom the place is filthy. The carpets are disgusting. O n the 3rd day our room was not even serviced so no loo roll,soap,shower gel ,towels etc. The noise is unbelievable from the nightlife, no mention of this on the webb so do nt expect to sleep till 4am ! A big leaning curve for us, look at what you are getting before you pay. We were told the lift was out of order and being repaired that date now looking at previous reviews the same story in Feb. We think that says it all. Do nt choose the Surtees hotel .

Room Tip: don t choose one at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 74summer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the hotel.

I am sorry you did not find the hotel to your liking. In regards to the servicing of your room I will look into this matter with our housekeeping department as we strive to provide comfortable and clean rooms to all of our guests.

I am aware that our lift being out of order is an inconvenience, the lift has been out of service since January but due to the fact it is listed, repairs take longer as parts are harder to track down. We are unable to replace it as it is protected by English Heritage.

I understand that noise can be an issue during evenings, Newcastle is a very busy and vibrant city with a renowned nightlife and we can not control the noise levels outside of the hotel. Once again sorry you did not enjoy your stay.

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last night whilst visiting Newcastle for my brothers 30th birthday night out. The hotel has its down falls, like our room was obove a gentleman's club and a noisy bar. So if your looking for an early night you can forget it. But as we where there to sample said night life it didn't really affect us. The entrance is around the back which, can be hard to find. Walk as if your going into the multi story carpark and you will see the entrance. Perhaps some signs would help here.
Our room was of a good size and was well equipped. The decoration was nice and it was very clean. Beds where reasonably comfy, the pillows where a little limp. The shower in the morning was near on impossible as it was either red hot or freezing cold! Perhaps something wrong with the mixing valve?
Breakfast was excellent! Again the staff where very attentive. My friend did ask if we could have what ever we wanted. The reply was yes. He ordered full cooked breakfast with two of everything only to get one of everything. But it was of good quality and we really enjoyed it.
In summary an excellent hotel to sample newcastle's night life. But don't go expecting peace and quite and an early night.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goldenwilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in Newcastle and at The Surtees, we take all feedback into consideration and I will look into the points you highlighted. It is a pleasure to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful and hope that you will choose to stay with us again should you choose to have another night in Newcastle.

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The friendly reception staff were great even before we got to the hotel, rearranging our booking with ease when I ended up with a diary clash. Equally as welcoming when we turned up for our midweek visit. Lift not working, but we were only on the 1st floor. Good sized clean room overlooking Dean Street. Well appointed room with comfortable bed and easily controlled heating. Breakfast was included with our package. And was prepared and served by obliging staff. It was freshly cooked, filling and well presented.
You must remember that Newcastle is a vibrant, young city with an extremely active night life. There was some disturbance in Dean Street on both evenings we were there, but it was merely boisterous behaviour following an evening on the town or after the football.
En-suite bathroom needed a couple of items repaired, but this certainly didn't detract from our visit. We'd be happy to return and use the hotel again. It has an enviable central location and is surrounded by a wide range of excellent restaurants. Making your dinner choice really difficult.

Room Tip: The hotel is back to front with the entrance behind the Dean Street frontage. It is however directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coralcaybelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the hotel.

I would like to firstly thank you for the positive feedback for our staff, our staff work hard to provide excellent customer service and it is nice to hear that this makes a difference to guests.

I am also glad to hear that you found the hotel to your liking and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please keep and eye out for the special offers that we run through our website and booking.com & laterooms.

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

If you are looking of a comfortable, affordable and central location the Surtees is the place to stay. The rooms are a strange shape but are clean and warm, with plenty of towels and pillows. The staff are great too. Newcastle is a party town and even during the week at eleven o'clock the town comes to life and can get pretty noisy. You know your close to the nightlife, excellent location for the party hound. We had a great time. Not recommended for business trippers or families but for everyone else brill.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amanda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel, we appreciate all feedback.

I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff friendly and helpful. We pride ourselves on providing good customer service and receiving positive feedback makes all the difference.

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We arrived at the Surtees only to find there was no room for us. This was to no fault of the hotel but the hotel booking site ebookers, they had processed our order taken our money but not passed on our booking to the Surtees! The girls in reception really could'nt have been more helpful, they phoned round practically every hotel in Newcastle until they found us a room. They turned a nightmare situation round for us! Thank you so much girls.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank claire m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel.

I'm sorry to hear that you didn't get a chance to stay at the hotel but I am pleased that our staff made such a difference in a nightmare situation. We strive to provide exceptional customer service and the staff appreciate acknowledgement of the job they do.

We hope you will get the chance to stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I stayed here with soon to be boyfriend so we could have some time alone. Staff at reception was lovely, very friendly. lift was out of order, we were on the third floor so took ages luckily we didn't have suitcases to carry up the stairs. Room was ok, bed was pretty big although we figured it was two single beds together this didn't bother us just thought it was a little werid. room was boiling hot had to open all three windows. VERY noisy outside and were on the third floor. could hear people outside and at 4 oclock in the morning a big truck was getting rid of glass bottles which woke us up and last for an hour. carpet was a mess.
however nice bathroom! bath&shower. with lock on the door. supplied shower cap, plenty towels, shower gel. bed was very clean, plenty pillows. television good size worked well.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauraf91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel, we appreciate all customer feedback.

I would like to apologise for the issues you had with the heating we have had a brand new powerful boiler fitted and are still trying to adapt the temperate to a level which is suitable for all guests.

We have been undergoing a repair programme throughout the hotel and our carpets are something we are looking to replace, unfortunately we have had damage caused by previous guest who have not shown the same respect to our property as yourselves.

I am glad you found our staff to be helpful and friendly, as we strive to provide great customer service

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grey Street Hotel
Grey Street Hotel
#42 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#55 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surtees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surtees Hotel

Address: 12-18 Dean Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £48 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surtees Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Surtees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surtees Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing