We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (628)
Filter reviews
629 results
Traveller rating
36
175
172
99
147
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
175
172
99
147
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel entrance night life bit dated comfy bed town centre tyne bridge quays toiletries
Filter
Updating list...
465 - 470 of 629 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Three night stay 4/7 th april. This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. It was taken through Woucher 2 nights for the price of one and then we added an extra night at full cost. I f only we had looked at the room before paying for the extra night We would not have stayed at all. From the entrance to reception to bedroom the place is filthy. The carpets are disgusting. O n the 3rd day our room was not even serviced so no loo roll,soap,shower gel ,towels etc. The noise is unbelievable from the nightlife, no mention of this on the webb so do nt expect to sleep till 4am ! A big leaning curve for us, look at what you are getting before you pay. We were told the lift was out of order and being repaired that date now looking at previous reviews the same story in Feb. We think that says it all. Do nt choose the Surtees hotel .

Room Tip: don t choose one at all
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 74summer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the hotel.

I am sorry you did not find the hotel to your liking. In regards to the servicing of your room I will look into this matter with our housekeeping department as we strive to provide comfortable and clean rooms to all of our guests.

I am aware that our lift being out of order is an inconvenience, the lift has been out of service since January but due to the fact it is listed, repairs take longer as parts are harder to track down. We are unable to replace it as it is protected by English Heritage.

I understand that noise can be an issue during evenings, Newcastle is a very busy and vibrant city with a renowned nightlife and we can not control the noise levels outside of the hotel. Once again sorry you did not enjoy your stay.

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last night whilst visiting Newcastle for my brothers 30th birthday night out. The hotel has its down falls, like our room was obove a gentleman's club and a noisy bar. So if your looking for an early night you can forget it. But as we where there to sample said night life it didn't really affect us. The entrance is around the back which, can be hard to find. Walk as if your going into the multi story carpark and you will see the entrance. Perhaps some signs would help here.
Our room was of a good size and was well equipped. The decoration was nice and it was very clean. Beds where reasonably comfy, the pillows where a little limp. The shower in the morning was near on impossible as it was either red hot or freezing cold! Perhaps something wrong with the mixing valve?
Breakfast was excellent! Again the staff where very attentive. My friend did ask if we could have what ever we wanted. The reply was yes. He ordered full cooked breakfast with two of everything only to get one of everything. But it was of good quality and we really enjoyed it.
In summary an excellent hotel to sample newcastle's night life. But don't go expecting peace and quite and an early night.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goldenwilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in Newcastle and at The Surtees, we take all feedback into consideration and I will look into the points you highlighted. It is a pleasure to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful and hope that you will choose to stay with us again should you choose to have another night in Newcastle.

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The friendly reception staff were great even before we got to the hotel, rearranging our booking with ease when I ended up with a diary clash. Equally as welcoming when we turned up for our midweek visit. Lift not working, but we were only on the 1st floor. Good sized clean room overlooking Dean Street. Well appointed room with comfortable bed and easily controlled heating. Breakfast was included with our package. And was prepared and served by obliging staff. It was freshly cooked, filling and well presented.
You must remember that Newcastle is a vibrant, young city with an extremely active night life. There was some disturbance in Dean Street on both evenings we were there, but it was merely boisterous behaviour following an evening on the town or after the football.
En-suite bathroom needed a couple of items repaired, but this certainly didn't detract from our visit. We'd be happy to return and use the hotel again. It has an enviable central location and is surrounded by a wide range of excellent restaurants. Making your dinner choice really difficult.

Room Tip: The hotel is back to front with the entrance behind the Dean Street frontage. It is however directly opposite a popular multi storey car park. Therefore rooms over the entrance are likely to ave. vehicle noise and the ones facing Dean Street risk the noise of party goers coming out of the late night clubs.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coralcaybelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the hotel.

I would like to firstly thank you for the positive feedback for our staff, our staff work hard to provide excellent customer service and it is nice to hear that this makes a difference to guests.

I am also glad to hear that you found the hotel to your liking and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please keep and eye out for the special offers that we run through our website and booking.com & laterooms.

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

If you are looking of a comfortable, affordable and central location the Surtees is the place to stay. The rooms are a strange shape but are clean and warm, with plenty of towels and pillows. The staff are great too. Newcastle is a party town and even during the week at eleven o'clock the town comes to life and can get pretty noisy. You know your close to the nightlife, excellent location for the party hound. We had a great time. Not recommended for business trippers or families but for everyone else brill.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amanda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel, we appreciate all feedback.

I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff friendly and helpful. We pride ourselves on providing good customer service and receiving positive feedback makes all the difference.

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We arrived at the Surtees only to find there was no room for us. This was to no fault of the hotel but the hotel booking site ebookers, they had processed our order taken our money but not passed on our booking to the Surtees! The girls in reception really could'nt have been more helpful, they phoned round practically every hotel in Newcastle until they found us a room. They turned a nightmare situation round for us! Thank you so much girls.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank claire m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel.

I'm sorry to hear that you didn't get a chance to stay at the hotel but I am pleased that our staff made such a difference in a nightmare situation. We strive to provide exceptional customer service and the staff appreciate acknowledgement of the job they do.

We hope you will get the chance to stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews