We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Surtees Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Surtees Hotel
Glasgow
Level Contributor
180 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

A nice big bright and airy room in a great location. Very noisy when the window was open, but being in the centre of dean street, what can you expect. You wouldn't stay there for a quiet retreat! Great for being in the hub of things, and great for the price. The carpet could have done with a decent hoover, bits of fluff everywhere but otherwise okay, with a good powerful shower and a great comfy bed. Lovely varied selection for breakfast whether you wanted cooked or continental. Friendly staff with a warm welcome. We'll be back for more.

Room Tip: Lovely bright room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave a review.

We would also like to thank you for being so understanding about the noise we pick up from outside revelers.

We take pride in providing a comfortable and memorable stay to all of our guests and I will make sure all of my staff are aware that their hard work is paying off.

Kind Regards,

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    158
    149
    85
    136
See reviews for
43
191
37
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

booked a 'deluxe' room and was probably worst i've had... ever!!! top floor, lift broken so was 4th floor via stairs. attic type room/cupboard with sloping roof you had to limbo past bed to get to window which was about 2" square. ridiculously hot room even without heating on and window open no air con, actually dripping sweat lying on bed. staff said was to do with boilers near to this room. eventually gave up and checked out at 7am. staff mostly couldn't care a less.

Room Tip: don't be tempted by cheap deals, false economy!!! stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenziko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review.

We apologise that our lift was out of service during your stay with us and you had to take the stairs to our 4th floor - which unfortunately we don't have as our hotel goes up to 3rd floor.

We understand that our hotel can become extremely hot and we would love to install air conditioning but as a grade 2 listed building, this is something we are unable to do.

I would like to apologise that you would made to feel like my reception team didn't care about your problems, I have spoken to the members of staff involved.

Kind Regards,

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Drighlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

Although the hotel was clean and tidy, the top floor rooms had no air conditioning and you suffer, when you open your window, with noise from the road and street. There is also NO lift. The corridors and stairs are narrow which makes it difficult when carrying a large bag to your room.

Staff were very good but would I book again, No.

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jlucas090866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review.

We would firstly like to point out that we do have a lift but unfortunately it was out of service during your stay, we apologise for this. We understand how inconvenient this has been. Our lift is now back up and running and we are sorry that it was not fixed in time for your stay.

We would love to install air conditioning in our hotel but as a grade 2 listed building, we are unable to do so.

As a Newcastle city centre hotel we are going to pick up outside noise, we apologise that this affected you during your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

stayed in this hotel for one night after a concert at city hall, we had room 39 on the top floor the lifts where broke so it was abit of a hike to the room but no problem as we are both fit. the room had been modernised but the carpet was old with burns from the iron on it, apart from the room was great. the heating was off but the room was so hot we slept with the windows open all night so it was alot noisier than it would have been, tea and coffee where provided in the room and toiletries too, plenty of towels and nice bedding but with a runner over it that had yet another iron burn on it. would we stay there again? yes as it was cheap clean and tidy and in a great location.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allenj520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review of your stay with us.

We would like to apologize for the issues you had with the carpet in your room, unfortunately some of our previous guests have not shown respect to property of our hotel. We are slowly but surely replacing necessary carpets in our hotel and we are sorry that this was not completed in time for your stay with us.

We would also like to apologize for the noise you experienced from outside of the hotel during your stay with us. Unfortunately we have no control over outside noise and being a Newcastle city center hotel we are going to pick up noise from outside revelers. We are currently looking to install secondary glazing to our windows which should hopefully help with this problem.

Kind Regards,

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed on 27-29 April on wowcher deal.we don't mind basic, which it was. We don't mind noisy which it also was.
We asked specifically how much late check out was and for how long, £20 until 4pm which was perfect as we had 8pm flight. 1.20pm we received a rap to say late check out was 1pm. I went to reception and was told late check out is 2pm and all staff know this and she would take it further with staff member once I insisted I was told 4pm. I was made to feel like a liar or I was going to get the staff member in trouble.
Also after checking in sat at 2pm eventually got the wine from wowcher deal on sun night after asking twice. Wont be back!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deehambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review.

We are sorry to hear that you felt you received bad service during your stay with us.

All of our booking sites and all literature around the hotel advertise our late check out time being until 1pm and anything extra to be confirmed by management.

Kind Regards,

Laura Thynne
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Upon arrival we found lots of steep steps... Carried our cases up them and round a dark corner was the entrance. Got to reception, was told the lifts werent working, and we were on the third floor!! Around 45 steps to climb to get to out room, both of us asthmatics, wouldnt you think we would have been telephoned and warned about this before we arrived. If one of us was disabled we would not have been able to get to the hotel reception never mind our 3rd floor room!! Once inside our room the first thing we seen was a wet puddle on the window ledge and lots of wet/damp marks on the walls. The carpet was rotten also. No telephone in the room meant asking reception to book us a taxi consisted of tackling all those stairs again!! Bathroom looked okay, but a bad odour coming from around the toilet and brown paint splatted on the floor wasnt very nice. Location was okay but apart from that I would avoid. We opened our windows to find numerous empty beer bottles on the ledge outside, it was just unacceptable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieDickinson0284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review.

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are aware that our lift being out of service is a huge inconvenience to all of our guests and we sincerely apologize for this. All of our booking sites did advertise that our lift was temporarily out of service and we are sorry that you were not able to read this prior to your stay with us.

We are currently looking to replace various carpets in the hotel which have been stained by previous guests who unfortunately have had no respect for the property of our hotel. We are sorry that this was not complete in time for your stay with us. The same applies for us having no phones in our rooms.

Our housekeeping team work extremely hard to ensure that our whole hotel is clean and tidy at all times, they have all been made aware that this has been marked down on during your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

This was a very nice hotel and excellent for the price. Room was very clean, bathroom and shower were perfect. Bed was extremely comfortable, with very nice linen. Far nicer than a travelodge or something similar for the price. Teas coffees and assortment of biscuits also. Staff were very friendly. Would recommend. It isn't a 5 star so it shouldn't be judged as one, although there were touches of 5 star class. One thing I would say to the owners is that the lock on room 29 needs a touch of attention, apart from that thank you very much. Great location also

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review.

We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend us to your friends and family.

Thank you for making us aware that the lock on room 29 needs some attention, we are currently changing all of our yale locks to key card operated locks and you will be pleased to know that room 29 is at the top of the list!

Kind Regards,

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#20 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#22 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#55 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#37 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surtees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surtees Hotel

Property: Surtees Hotel
Address: 12-18 Dean Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Surtees Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surtees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surtees Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing