We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe all the bad reviews ”
Review of Surtees Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surtees Hotel
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights, and the hotel is nice enough, good size room with nice modern decor, the hotel isn't up to 5 star standards in terms of quality being a little rough around the edges, but you get what you pay for and this hotel suited us perfectly. staff we spoke to were friendly and helpful, breakfast was very nice and served quickly, room cleaned everyday with fresh bedding and towels.

Overall would definitely stay again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mikey596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review

We appreciate all feedback and i'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

On arrival we were met with a very un helpful receptionist, when we arrived at our room we were not disappointed, nice size and decor was modern, on closer inspection we found the room to be dirty with hairs in the bath and dust on the back of the bathroom door which must have had months of build up.
On dealing with the young guy and thirty something woman receptionist , there were no customer service what so ever. The hotel was ok for a cheap budget break, but nothing more.
Would never stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Ntrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I would like to apologise for the cleaning and customer service issues you encountered during your stay and have spoken to the staff involved. I can assure you this is not normal for the Surtees Hotel and we take Customer Service very seriously.

I hope you will come back and stay with us and give us another chance

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Arrived on the Friday for our weekend trip to Newcastle and the receptionist was lovely and gave suggestions on where to go for lunch and cocktails. The room was clean, modern and well stocked with coffee, tea, shampoo, shower gel etc and refilled each day.

The negatives are that we had to carry our suitcases up to the 2nd floor because we had heard bad reviews and didn't trust it! The stair carpet is covered in stains and could do with a good clean! Outside our window was scaffolding which blocked out any view we could of had and the electronic room key had to be reset twice as it wouldn't let us in the room! The worst thing about this hotel is that you can hear every sound! The Vermont Hotel nearby could do with being consulted about how loud they are, past 2am and still blaring! Once asleep, the room is fine and comfy for three people.

The positives are that the hotel is in a great location and extremely close to the quayside, train station and to all of the shops! It is quite hard to find because the entrance is round the back, but easy to find when you know. The lounge is nice and relaxing, room restocked daily and cleaned daily too.

Once the refurbishment is fully completed I think I'll definitely be back to have another nice weekend. Definitely don't turn down such a central and cheap hotel like the Surtees!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Perthshire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, and I am sorry about the noise from outside disturbing you. One of the reasons for the scaffolding is that we are having more soundproofing fitted to the building and this should rectify this problem.

We hope to see you again soon and you can let us know if the building works carried out have been a success

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

stayed here for two nights, great location thats all!!!!! outside needs powerwashed badly but it would make a difference, watch going up the steps at the side deathtrap loose bricks and no lighting booked two rooms one was ok but the other needs new carpet lots of stains needs carpets from front door alway through grubby! think they need to send cleaners on a course then start at the top down to bottom thought this hotel was recently updated??? alex pollizzi would have a field day need to send staff on some customer care training think we might have had two words spoken to us whats with all the linen and things on the stairs ever heard of health and safety oh some one might want to get the underpants and the mug on the roof and out side the window of 31!!! dont know how long they have been there dont book this hotel!

Room Tip: dont get 31 37 ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wedlock2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, all feedback is important to the hotel.

I am sorry you did not find the hotel up to standard, and I have implemented further staff training in housekeeping to rectify the problems you encountered.

Once again thank you for your review

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I read a lot of reviews of this hotel on here before I was due to stay at this hotel for 3 nights. Everything was good. My room was lovely and warm, cleaned everyday, working shower and bath that worked and stayed nice and warm. Working wall mounted tv. Biscuits tea and coffee refilled everyday. Good curtains blocked out the lights from outside. Very little outside noise even from room that was facing the car park. Friendly and helpful staff. Comfy double bed!. I would deffo stay again!.

Room Tip: I stayed on top floor, I loved it!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xstephyix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, and I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay.

Reviews are important to the hotel as they highlight any issues or improvements we can make. Reviews like yours mean a lot to the staff, and we hope you will come and visit us again soon.

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night!! thank god!!! Hotel is dirty, service is terrible, very noisy and to hot!! Scaffolding right out side the window!! No customer care!! we were in the hotel for 1 hour and asked to check out no have a refund it was that bad! They refused to give us a refund but said they were happy for us to check out!!! are u kidding me!! shows how bad you guys really are!! a JOKE!!!

Room Tip: Donor ever choose this hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Guest

To begin i would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel, all feedback is important to us.

I'm sorry you were unhappy about the scaffolding on the building, but we are having important maintenance works carried out at the hotel and this could not be helped, although no building work was carried out during your stay.

I would like to add that you purchased an advanced purchase non-refundable rate of £36.75, although non-refundable we would have been happy to refund your stay had you not been in the room for more than an hour used the bed, bathrooms and all the guest supplies. Had you come straight back down after check-in and explained you were unhappy with the room this would have been refunded.

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Booked this hotel with a work colleague as going to the races with work.
Emailed the hotel in advance to ask if we could check in early, arrived at check out time and were told they would try to get a room ready for us, which was fine.
Until a group of about 30 men appeared and were all checked in and given room cards immediately!
After we had waited an hour we were given our room.

The room was great! Huge in fact! VERY impressed with it due to the price of £45! The room was very clean as was the bathroom. Really liked the bathroom with good quality shower and tiles.

The location was amazing too - right in the city centre just off the diamond strip! There isn't a better located hotel around even if you were paying much more. There will always be noise in such a location and its a listed building what do people expect them to do?? If you want the location put up with the noise! I cant say it bothered us and we were back in the room at midnight.

The maze comment is something me and my colleague are still laughing about, after getting back to the hotel it took us about 15 mins to actually locate our room, up and down stairs and corridors! The night porter/receptionist found us amusing as we passed backward and forward through reception!

Overrall fantastic value, great location - stop moaning!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank em3334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for your review of our hotel. All customer feedback is appreciated, and a lovely review like your own lets us know we are doing things right.

I'm sorry about your delay on check in and we are looking at ways to streamline check-in with large groups so this does not effect other guests in the future.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Grey Street Hotel
Grey Street Hotel
#43 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#18 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
634 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#56 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Euro Hostel Newcastle
Euro Hostel Newcastle
#55 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
464 reviews
0.3 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#37 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surtees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surtees Hotel

Address: 12-18 Dean Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £47 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surtees Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Surtees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surtees Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing