We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a very good time...”
Review of Surtees Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surtees Hotel
Reviewed 10 November 2013

There are some very varied reviews about this hotel on Trip Advisor, so was a little worried about what we may have let ourselves in for, but fortunately we had a very nice time and were very impressed.

We arrived on a Sunday evening, and were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who was only too happy to help in any way he could, even though he had unfortunately lost his voice, something we all joked and laughed about. After reading past reviews about some rooms being refurbished and some not, I asked if we could have a refurbished room - he said that is what we would get, and that now the majority of the rooms were now refurbished.

It is true what other reviewers have said about the corridors and reception needing some improvements and this is true - the carpet is rather tired and could do with replacing. The entrance is at the back of the building, and is a bit grotty next to bins etc, and groups of smokers -but it is very urban, and in some ways can't be helped, but does need a tidy up.

The lift is a piece of history in itself, and has the old original manual open and close gates. Unfortunately if somebody fails the close the gates properly on any of the floors then the lifts will not move - we found this was the case when we arrived, so hauled our luggage up to the third floor - but later on saw the notice that said if we had asked, then the receptionist would have gone up and closed the gates, so the lift would work. We used the lift several times after that, and indeed if everyone remembers to close the gates, then all is well.

We were in room 36, and really it was very good - it was clean, fresh, had a big TV, tea, coffee, biscuits, hair dryer etc etc - everything you would expect. When we arrived it was quite warm in the room, despite the radiator being turned right down and it being cold outside. Big old-style sash windows, could be opened wide which soon allowed us the get the temperature of the room just right. Our room looked out towards the railway arches towering above the buildings, but the sound of trains did not bother us too much - mainly because we used ear plugs - I would recommend these, especially if you leave the window open as we did. The location of the hotel next to many restaurants and pubs means you will always have outside noise to contend with, so don't come here for silence.

The bed was very comfortable, bathroom was fine with plenty of hot water - the shower was a little weak - don't expect a power shower. Overall very impressed with the room. We had breakfast, and this was great - as much continental as you liked, and then a full English, tailored to your needs. The lady serving and preparing the breakfast was very friendly and a real ray of sunshine in the morning. The breakfast room was very nice and bright and clean. The hotel also had a lounge/bar, but we didn't try this out, apart from my partner waiting in there, while I collected the car when it was time to leave.

The location of the hotel is right in the middle of the restaurants and bars district of the city, and also very close to the Quays, and other tourist attractions such as the Castle.

I picked up a few handy tips about parking from other reviews. There is a multi-story car park right behind the hotel, which is free between 6pm and 8am, so as we arrived at 6pm I was able to park there, and then once we had settled in, and been out to eat, I then moved the car to the Travelodge car park which was £10 for 48 hours which worked out the cheapest option, and only a ten minute walk away. Obviously ideally this hotel is located for those who arrive on public transport.

Overall though we felt we certainly got what we paid for and more. We originally booked through Mighty Deals for two nights B&B for £55. The hotel and Mighty Deals did seem to fall out, and we were contacted by both parties a few weeks before regarding this. So ended up paying the hotel directly on the same terms and receiving a refund from Mighty Deals. Not really any hassle though from either party which I was very pleased about. We has a good time, so recommended!

Room Tip: Hard to comment, as I suspect all rooms have their good points and bad points about noise. Room 36 o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hillskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights, and the hotel is nice enough, good size room with nice modern decor, the hotel isn't up to 5 star standards in terms of quality being a little rough around the edges, but you get what you pay for and this hotel suited us perfectly. staff we spoke to were friendly and helpful, breakfast was very nice and served quickly, room cleaned everyday with fresh bedding and towels.

Overall would definitely stay again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mikey596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review

We appreciate all feedback and i'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

On arrival we were met with a very un helpful receptionist, when we arrived at our room we were not disappointed, nice size and decor was modern, on closer inspection we found the room to be dirty with hairs in the bath and dust on the back of the bathroom door which must have had months of build up.
On dealing with the young guy and thirty something woman receptionist , there were no customer service what so ever. The hotel was ok for a cheap budget break, but nothing more.
Would never stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Ntrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I would like to apologise for the cleaning and customer service issues you encountered during your stay and have spoken to the staff involved. I can assure you this is not normal for the Surtees Hotel and we take Customer Service very seriously.

I hope you will come back and stay with us and give us another chance

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Arrived on the Friday for our weekend trip to Newcastle and the receptionist was lovely and gave suggestions on where to go for lunch and cocktails. The room was clean, modern and well stocked with coffee, tea, shampoo, shower gel etc and refilled each day.

The negatives are that we had to carry our suitcases up to the 2nd floor because we had heard bad reviews and didn't trust it! The stair carpet is covered in stains and could do with a good clean! Outside our window was scaffolding which blocked out any view we could of had and the electronic room key had to be reset twice as it wouldn't let us in the room! The worst thing about this hotel is that you can hear every sound! The Vermont Hotel nearby could do with being consulted about how loud they are, past 2am and still blaring! Once asleep, the room is fine and comfy for three people.

The positives are that the hotel is in a great location and extremely close to the quayside, train station and to all of the shops! It is quite hard to find because the entrance is round the back, but easy to find when you know. The lounge is nice and relaxing, room restocked daily and cleaned daily too.

Once the refurbishment is fully completed I think I'll definitely be back to have another nice weekend. Definitely don't turn down such a central and cheap hotel like the Surtees!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Perthshire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, and I am sorry about the noise from outside disturbing you. One of the reasons for the scaffolding is that we are having more soundproofing fitted to the building and this should rectify this problem.

We hope to see you again soon and you can let us know if the building works carried out have been a success

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

stayed here for two nights, great location thats all!!!!! outside needs powerwashed badly but it would make a difference, watch going up the steps at the side deathtrap loose bricks and no lighting booked two rooms one was ok but the other needs new carpet lots of stains needs carpets from front door alway through grubby! think they need to send cleaners on a course then start at the top down to bottom thought this hotel was recently updated??? alex pollizzi would have a field day need to send staff on some customer care training think we might have had two words spoken to us whats with all the linen and things on the stairs ever heard of health and safety oh some one might want to get the underpants and the mug on the roof and out side the window of 31!!! dont know how long they have been there dont book this hotel!

Room Tip: dont get 31 37 ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wedlock2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, all feedback is important to the hotel.

I am sorry you did not find the hotel up to standard, and I have implemented further staff training in housekeeping to rectify the problems you encountered.

Once again thank you for your review

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I read a lot of reviews of this hotel on here before I was due to stay at this hotel for 3 nights. Everything was good. My room was lovely and warm, cleaned everyday, working shower and bath that worked and stayed nice and warm. Working wall mounted tv. Biscuits tea and coffee refilled everyday. Good curtains blocked out the lights from outside. Very little outside noise even from room that was facing the car park. Friendly and helpful staff. Comfy double bed!. I would deffo stay again!.

Room Tip: I stayed on top floor, I loved it!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xstephyix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, and I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay.

Reviews are important to the hotel as they highlight any issues or improvements we can make. Reviews like yours mean a lot to the staff, and we hope you will come and visit us again soon.

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night!! thank god!!! Hotel is dirty, service is terrible, very noisy and to hot!! Scaffolding right out side the window!! No customer care!! we were in the hotel for 1 hour and asked to check out no have a refund it was that bad! They refused to give us a refund but said they were happy for us to check out!!! are u kidding me!! shows how bad you guys really are!! a JOKE!!!

Room Tip: Donor ever choose this hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Guest

To begin i would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel, all feedback is important to us.

I'm sorry you were unhappy about the scaffolding on the building, but we are having important maintenance works carried out at the hotel and this could not be helped, although no building work was carried out during your stay.

I would like to add that you purchased an advanced purchase non-refundable rate of £36.75, although non-refundable we would have been happy to refund your stay had you not been in the room for more than an hour used the bed, bathrooms and all the guest supplies. Had you come straight back down after check-in and explained you were unhappy with the room this would have been refunded.

Kind Regards

Laura Thynne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#18 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
635 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grey Street Hotel
Grey Street Hotel
#43 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#58 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Euro Hostel Newcastle
Euro Hostel Newcastle
#55 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
464 reviews
0.3 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#36 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surtees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surtees Hotel

Address: 12-18 Dean Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £45 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surtees Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Surtees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surtees Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing