We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location good everything else awful!”
Review of Surtees Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Surtees Hotel
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location good everything else awful!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Check in was a total joke, 1 person and she kept stopping to deal with people pushing in the queue. Charged me the wrong amount - I told her, she told me it was right and then demanded I pay the right amount the next day on check out. She was also the bar staff so although the bar was open we had to wait ages to be served so gave up. At breakfast we were told to wait because the waitress was too stressed to serve us and then we were told we had already eaten - we had to argue to get our food and all of this made us late for an appointment. They also didn't have the rooms we booked so we ended up paying more for an extra room because they had messed up and when I tried to get this discounted they became rude and abrupt with me and it was made clear that our deposits £50 each would not be returned if I didn't pay it. Still waiting for the transactions to be processed and dreading another mess up. Extremely poor service and I'm out of pocket too.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraJ61182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    161
    153
    84
    137
See reviews for
44
194
38
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

this is hotel was good for somewhere to stay .only 20 mins walk to the arena ,not far from eldon square . all the nightlife is near by too :)
allthough i think it should be bit more singed post or a sing pointing to the back where the entrance is

Room Tip: it is good for somewhere stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayesha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Very expensive for what you get. The so-called "de-luxe twin" room had an open wardrobe with two hangers. If this was de-luxe I dread to think what the ordinary rooms were like. Very noisy part of town with shouting drunks well past 4:00am so difficult to sleep. Being disturbed by inside drunks hammering the door at 3:00 am was the last straw. Allegedly the hotel was refurbished recently! Did not look as though this was within the past 20 years. Cleanliness not good either, especially the bathroom. A fire door was jammed open by spilt chips. The management extremely unhelpful and dismissive. On top of a high room rate, breakfast was additional. The ambiance of the breakfast room with plastic chairs is poor. The breakfast buffet was Inadequately stocked, with staff conspicuous by their absence. I have paid similar prices for Hilton quality, cleanliness and service, so the fact that we were relieved of almost 130 pounds for this gruesome experience really sticks in the throat. There are far better hotels locally for far less money. We will not be back.

Room Tip: Select a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Couldn't fault the place for food stay and accomadation and friendly helpful staff ! Also very good value for money , only hassle is the parking which is down to the local council there which make it very hard for people trying to stay there for a few days but if ya can handle all that hassle I would really recommend the surtees

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife Scotland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Picked up a short stay deal, not expecting too much. On arrival the fact you walk toward a public car park entrance initially seems a bit strange, but the hotel is worth the wait. Excellent front desk staff, basic but clean rooms with everything you need for a short stay. Bed was comfy enough. Old style sash windows so don't expect not to hear outside road noise. Boutique style breakfast room which served an excellent hot breakfast. All in all a cheap stay but with more pack for your punch.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fifee48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2014

i stayed at this hotel last weekend (bank holiday sunday) there was a group of 16 in total in 8 rooms. the rooms were fine, we used the hotel to get changed in then to return after a night out so what we got for the price we paid was fair. we did not expect the Ritz for the price we paid but what we did get was absolutly fine, the room was clean and the staff were helpful.
there was a problem with one room when checked in as it was already occupied but this was soon sorted without any problems.
people have stated that there was noisy from outside- well it is in the city centre so expected.
for a hen party thats looking for central hotel thats not going to cost a bomb and only a base to get changed and head down then this hotel is ideal!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becky o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castellon de la Plana, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I recently stayed and was put in room 341 and i thought i was going to faint. The heat was incredible with little ventilation. My room had no tv remote which i asked about in reception. 40 minutes later with no remote forthcoming and on the brink of collapse i requested another room. I was put in another larger room but the shower wouldn't work. When i reported this on my leaving the staff replied "yeah, it's always a bit difficult that one!" Still, on the plus side my tomatoes are blooming!

Room Tip: Avoid room 341 at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#21 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,004 reviews
0.2 mi away
Euro Hostel Newcastle
Euro Hostel Newcastle
#55 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#56 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
408 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle Central
Travelodge Newcastle Central
#30 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surtees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surtees Hotel

Property: Surtees Hotel
Address: 12-18 Dean Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Surtees Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Surtees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surtees Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing