We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Surtees Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surtees Hotel
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Good location once you find it and manage to get parked. Beds were clean and comfy, bathroom was adequate, no bath. Carpets had stains but reception was aware of this. Noisy with the window open, but it is a city. We were booked as a hen party with 6 rooms, we were split over 3 floors. Lift wasnt working so it was a bit of a trek for us on the 3rd floor. We didnt eat in the hotel so cant comment on the food. Staff were friendly. Room deposits were returned quickly.

Room Tip: We were in room 31. It is a large room, only downside was no bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaB1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Nice little hotel thats practically in the middle of the city. Our room was nice and clean but other photos show dirty ones. Only complaints: couldn't open windows, no milk for tea etc. bathroom fan broken and fuseboard in room was not in a safe condition.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Very good location and clean bedding but that's about it! Carpets not cleaned, bathrooms dirty and dusty and just generally drab! My shower did not work so I went downstairs to ask about it and was offered the key to another room to use the shower...what! No lock on bathroom door, windows that had to be kept opened with a cup, missing bulbs and dirty window dressings. Initial impressions were poor, dirty floors, stairs and these impressions continued. Unhelpful staff and quite frankly rude! Worst hotel experience ever - yes it was cheap, but really!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sambojambo1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Paid £95 for a double room for one night (only because everywhere else I would normally stay was fully booked), this did not live up to the standards of other hotels in Newcastle offering similar rates. The hotel is down an alley which already posits a negative impression. The reception is old and scruffy looking. Our room had a hair on the bed, the mugs were still wet, the walls were all scratched and were seriously in need of a few coats of paint, the carpet was destroyed and the windows were unbelievably hard to close. The decor itself is nice but it does not distract from all the other faults. I am not a fussy person but this is the worst hotel I've stayed in, a travelodge is a massive improvement compared to this!! I had booked to stay here again in September and have just cancelled and booked the Sandman Signature instead for pretty much the same price and that is definitely worth the money!! Would not stay here again!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chloe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Check in was a total joke, 1 person and she kept stopping to deal with people pushing in the queue. Charged me the wrong amount - I told her, she told me it was right and then demanded I pay the right amount the next day on check out. She was also the bar staff so although the bar was open we had to wait ages to be served so gave up. At breakfast we were told to wait because the waitress was too stressed to serve us and then we were told we had already eaten - we had to argue to get our food and all of this made us late for an appointment. They also didn't have the rooms we booked so we ended up paying more for an extra room because they had messed up and when I tried to get this discounted they became rude and abrupt with me and it was made clear that our deposits £50 each would not be returned if I didn't pay it. Still waiting for the transactions to be processed and dreading another mess up. Extremely poor service and I'm out of pocket too.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraJ61182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

this is hotel was good for somewhere to stay .only 20 mins walk to the arena ,not far from eldon square . all the nightlife is near by too :)
allthough i think it should be bit more singed post or a sing pointing to the back where the entrance is

Room Tip: it is good for somewhere stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ayesha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Very expensive for what you get. The so-called "de-luxe twin" room had an open wardrobe with two hangers. If this was de-luxe I dread to think what the ordinary rooms were like. Very noisy part of town with shouting drunks well past 4:00am so difficult to sleep. Being disturbed by inside drunks hammering the door at 3:00 am was the last straw. Allegedly the hotel was refurbished recently! Did not look as though this was within the past 20 years. Cleanliness not good either, especially the bathroom. A fire door was jammed open by spilt chips. The management extremely unhelpful and dismissive. On top of a high room rate, breakfast was additional. The ambiance of the breakfast room with plastic chairs is poor. The breakfast buffet was Inadequately stocked, with staff conspicuous by their absence. I have paid similar prices for Hilton quality, cleanliness and service, so the fact that we were relieved of almost 130 pounds for this gruesome experience really sticks in the throat. There are far better hotels locally for far less money. We will not be back.

Room Tip: Select a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
easyHotel Newcastle
easyHotel Newcastle
#18 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
640 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,077 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grey Street Hotel
Grey Street Hotel
#46 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#58 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Euro Hostel Newcastle
Euro Hostel Newcastle
#59 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
#29 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surtees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surtees Hotel

Address: 12-18 Dean Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £38 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surtees Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Surtees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surtees Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing