We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city centre location”
Review of Surtees Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surtees Hotel
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights here and couldn't fault the location or the rooms , the staff were very friendly and helpful. With a car park right across the road from it we were delighted. I would stay here again next time I am in Newcastle. Only slight fault can be noisy in the morning due to the railway bridge.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank WeeGib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 590 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in better Premier inns and Travelodge hotels. On the positive, It is centrally located. The rooms have been updated and were clean. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice.
However, the negative, staff were not very friendly. The rooms were small, especially the bathroom. Only one person can fit in! The shower was dark as the light was insufficient. The tiles need a good clean. There is no aircon and room temp was tropical and uncomfortable. I would not stop again. I don't feel I had value for the price I paid.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Suggs78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here in May with a group of friends to see kings of leon. Rooms where average one of the rooms the sink was blocked and flooded the toilet. Biggest problem was the length of time it took for our room deposits to be put back into our bank accounts we were fobbed off with countless excuses of why this wasn't done right away, promised someone would call back etc eventually after numerous calls this was finally done. If staying here only pay by cash as one if the excuses was card details had been mislaid which in my opinion is a total breach of security. Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynsay1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Where to begin!!! We stayed as a group of 8 ladies for a hen party last Saturday night, we were aged from 30-60 years old so a varied age range. We were greeted with piles of sick leading upto the steps to the main entrance. The staff would probably have been more cheerful if they were on fire and to be honest I don't think they cared if we had a pleasant stay or not, no information was given referring hotel facilities, breakfast times or even what floor our room was on, which is like competing in the crystal maze trying to find our room. But even after this terrible start I thought for £125 for a twin room it's going to be a good standard. Well I couldn't have been more wrong the room was tiny, dirty, and the temperature of the amazon jungle, ( air con is defiantly needed in the rooms) it stunk of smoke and dirty toilets. The bathroom was the same standard, the shower curtain was filthy the walls had dirt splattered up them so overall not good. I understand we were a hen party but to me that doesn't mean we wanted to stay in a cheap, missal hotel. Sadly that's what we got. The only positive I can give this place is the fab breakfast, served and cooked by the only pleasant two members of staff there, it was cooked to order and tasted great, so well done ladies you were the only thing that shone in this disappointing place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

First time ever in Newcastle. Went on a hen do. Hotel quite grubby in parts and did not get value for money £100 a room r u kidding me. Windows wouldn't stay open had to use coat hangers. Breakfast not included. Won't ever go back. Surrounding areas are unkempt. Never seen as much bird poo in my whole life. Streets look like they never get cleaned. Only positive people are really nice and friendly

Room Tip: Go to premier inn you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Surtees hotel... After reading the reviews I have to say that I was a little worried but for £45 I had to remember this is a city centre hotel.

First off on entering the hotel it is a little dated but clean and the male staff person was welcoming and informative. Yes I have to agree the alley way is steps but there is another way in a few yards away that has no steps.

On entering then room in have to say i was pleasantly surprised. OK I did as when booking on booking.com for a double bed and got a single but all I needed was a bed. But the bed was comfy and I have to say I slept well. But like many city centre hotels thenoutside noise can be heard but I was at the back in room 233 so not so bad. Down side over looked by a car park. But just close the curtains you would at home.

The young lady in the evening yet again was helpful WiFi was an issue but that was sorted really fast it isn't the fasted or stable but I have stayed in expensive hotels that are either charging for worse or you get no WiFi but in public areas. I am writing this sat on the bed in my room.

I am not having the breakfast but that is due to the fact that £7.95 is not what I will pay for breakfast because I don,'t eat that much at home.

Now you can see from the photos that there were a couple of issues but nothing that bad. I have stayed in chain hotels that have been worse. Attention to detail isnwhatnis needed.

1. The unused broken curtain rail fittings need removing windows need a little love and diy on them and a good clean.

2. A silly thing but I had no teaspoon this morning to make coffee or tea in the room. Small thing but I could have gone and asked for one. I managed.

3. The bathroom was clean and tidy toiletries provided if needed soft ttowels. The sshower was good but the grout needs a good going over and scrubbing in places this I think is due to age. But not a problem. Softer toilet paper and some tissues would have been nice.

4. The lift....what can I say about that? I didn't use it because on a arrival it was being used by staff to bring down laudrey and on other times it just didn't seem to be working but I think it may have been due to other guests not following the instructions on closing the doors.

Would I stay here again? Yes I would.

Room Tip: If you can a room at the back of the hotel it is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri_pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my friend spent 1 night here and we thought it was brilliant.
Fab location, plenty of pub's, clubs and restaurants around the hotel.
Yes the hotel it a bit dated and does need a lick of paint but who's really bothered about that.
Our room was spacious and airy. There was an iron and board, a hair dryer and a fan in the room.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
I would definately stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grey Street Hotel
Grey Street Hotel
#42 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#55 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surtees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surtees Hotel

Address: 12-18 Dean Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £48 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surtees Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Surtees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surtees Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing