We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at The Waterside Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Waterside Hotel
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My hubby and I come up for the football and nights out a couple of times a year. We have stayed in the posh hotels to the basic travel lodge.
I felt like this hotel was more of a B and B but a good one at that. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Rooms were good enough for me, comfortable bed and good selection of TV channels whilst getting ready. The bar under the hotel is closed but there is one oppisite the hotel but I did not find it too noisy due to the secondary windows.
Breakfast was lovely with a good selection and I thoroughly enjoyed my full english and thought the sausages were gorgeous (very meaty). The breakfast room is open 0830 - 1030 on a weekend.
The lounge bar is nice and cosy and again very friendly.
Brilliant location with plenty around, if you have bad knees there is a steep climb up but there is a bus stop just round the corner from the hotel that will take you up (the staff at the hotel can provide a leaflet/timetable)
Checkout is at 12 noon so plenty of time to get ready and they allow your car to stay in their car park for the day even after check out.
Right next to quayside market on a Sunday which is worth a look.
Overall I enjoyed my stay and would definatly choose this hotel again, cheaper and more friendly then travel lodge etc, if you want a warm welcome, comfy bed and good breakfast then this is for you, but if you like the glitz of the modern hotels (and expense) I would book somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becky b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

Lovely clean and friendly hotel, lovely location on the quayside and only 10 mins walk into the centre of Newcastle. Great breakfast with many options and free parking just opposite the hotel an added bonus! All of the staff went out of their way to ensure you had a great and comfortable stay with advise on the local area made our stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyorksfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed here with friends and although it's not the most luxurious hotel it's really central and great value for money. The rooms are clean and spacious but a little tired. Great breakfast and really good service. Will defiantly stay again when we'd are in Newcastle.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaHScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Having sifted through tonnes of Newcastle hotels for our visit, this one came up best for the combination of star rating-value-location. And at 3* they've probably got it about right,
It's just alright. Lacks attention to detail would be a way they could improve.
We stayed in one of the third floor rooms, i've forgotten the number, out of the lift and first on the right.
Although it looks to have been recently refurbished, and the actual fittings and furniture of good quality. There were certain areas that lacked attention.
The cleaner does an ok job, but there is dust if you're looking for it.
Nice tea tray with biscuits and varioys drinks, hair dryer, good bedding and comfortable bed are a plus.
But, the bathroom extraction is dreadful, and the ceiling is starting to mould even though it looks pretty new. There's no heat in the bathroom and the towel warmer and shower basket are both broken.
In the bedroom, there are no less than three electric fan heater, one high on the wall, which doesn't work, another on the opposite wall, lower under the windows, also doesn't work. The cleanliness and amount of dust gathered in the vents of these is quite disgusting. A third new free-standing one is working and very efficient - might be an idea to get rid of the other two though?
Breakfast, again, ok, quickly served by friendly staff. I couldn't eat the sausages, they were the strangest tasting sausages I've ever encountered.
reception staff helpful and friendly. Bar available if you need it, and lounge, we didn't use these.
Good location, and well priced for the spot it's in compared to it's competitors.
There were previous comments on reviews about a noisy bar underneath the hotel, this looks to have closed down, or it's not open midweek when we were there. So don't let that put you off.
All in all, average, would return, but definite room for improvement,

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The hotel is situated local to the Tyne Bridges and the quayside. It is local to a good range of restaurants and the city centre.
The hotel is a lot larger than it appears from the outside.
The reception is situated on the 2nd floor and there is a lift from the ground floor and a set of stairs. the staff were helpful and friendly.
Reception is a small area and there is a good selection of local info sheets to be had.
The hotel only does breakfasts and there are various drinks and snack machines in the reception area.
The hotel has a small bar with seating area.
The room i had was classed as `executive twin` on the 2nd floor.
The room was spacious with seating and wardrobe with a safe fitted. the room was a little dated and the heating was not very good. There was a kettle and drink making facility.
The bathroom was modern units with a good shower section.
To go from the reception up there is a second lift and stairs.
The dining room is quite small but adequate for its purpose and breakfast selection was of a good selection.
Overall the hotel is priced at city prices but the position is ok for short city break hols.

Room Tip: Check reviews on trip advisor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEVIN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Had stopped here once before and was happy then, this time was, turn up on the day and ask, glad I did! Heidi (hug) on the desk was absolutely brilliant, as were all the staff. Its not "five star" but it did the job well and what a location, could not be better. The girls on breaky duty were ace and breakfast very good. Couldn't ask for more. Will be back, my first choice next time.

Room Tip: Cant say. what's good for one isn't good for another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We chose "The Waterside" based on price, location, car park and the positive reviews.
The room we had was clean and comfortable with nice beds and a nice en suite shower room.
Situated in the city centre we expected a little noise but the secondary glazing kept noise to a minimal level. We paid around £50 which is great value as it included a freshly cooked breakfast but cereals, fruit etc was also available. After a night strolling around the town, we got back to the hotel after midnight and the manager opened the bar especially and all the other staff were very pleasant and helpful also. The location is great, a stroll along the quayside with great views and only 5 minutes from the heart of the city. There might be a couple of minor improvements that could be made but for the price we paid I refuse to elaborate on them. The review dated about a week before this one launches a scathing attack which I could not see as justified for the price, perhaps they should try Malmaison or similar and pay three times the price !. A well located, nice clean, comfortable Hotel with comfy beds a good breakfast and friendly staff, Overall " The Waterside" represents good value.

Room Tip: Our room ( 301) was next to the dining room we did hear the staff setting up in the morning but if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyguy2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
612 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle Central
Travelodge Newcastle Central
#32 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,071 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
#29 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,750 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surtees Hotel
Surtees Hotel
#71 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
#31 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside Hotel

Address: 48-52 48 Sandhill | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £42 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Newcastle’s famous and picturesque Quayside and just an 8 minute walk to the city centre. The hotel occupies a handsome Grade II listed building steeped in history and includes free Wi-Fi, parking and the funky and lively late night bar "Jimmyz" open Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays . The city centre plays host to an excellent choice of shopping and also plays host to the Theatre Royal, which brings in talents such as opera North and The Royal Shakespeare Company. The bar is located on the ground level or if it’s dancing you prefer, then look no further than Sea nightclub. The hotel aims to go that extra mile to ensure you have a wonderful stay.Each bedroom has a unique style; the layout of the hotel lends itself to well-appointed rooms with the privacy and intimacy of a boutique hotel. Rooms offer all modern facilities guests would expect plus some rooms have extras such as plasma screen TV and DVD player and air conditioning.At the Waterside staff believe it is important to start the day right with a delicious freshly cooked Full English Breakfast or tasty Continental Breakfast which is served every day from 7:00am – 10:00am Monday – Friday and 8:30am – 10:30am Saturday and Sunday. Although the hotel doesn’t serve lunch or evening meals the immediate area boasts an excellent range of restaurants and cafes in which to enjoy any variety of meal.The famous Jimmyz Bar has been a landmark venue in Newcastle since the major re-development of the Quayside in the early 90’s. The bar has recently had a makeover of its own and this opulent cosmopolitan venue now boasts an extensive cocktail list and the sort of hospitality which makes Newcastle a popular choice.Newcastle and the wider area is made up of a diverse variety of towns, cities, coast and countryside offering a huge selection of things to do whatever your tastes. From relaxing at the coast to soaking up world-class culture in the city centres, from getting back in-touch with nature at a woodland retreat to shopping at Europe’s largest indoor shopping and leisure complex, (Metrocentre). It’s rare to find anywhere so diverse that amazes visitors at every turn with its dialogue between ultra-modern and ancient, with award-winning dining, inspiring heritage, fantastic shopping and acclaimed architecture makes up a destination like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterside Hotel Bed And Breakfast
The Waterside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Waterside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing