We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cost Conscious Comfort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waterside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Waterside Hotel
Lydbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Cost Conscious Comfort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Just one night here, as a couple. Comfortable room with great views of the river and the city. The bed was comfy and the facilities all good. In spite of its central location, we were not disturbed by noise.
It's an unusual hotel, with no ground floor rooms and a reception area on the first floor. Pleasant little bar on the same floor and the dining room (for breakfast only) on the third floor. Car parking is free, but you need to know how to get to it. We found an on street parking spot just a few minutes away and then walked from there and moved the car once we had the directions, which took us to a spot just across the road.
Breakfast was freshly cooked and full of flavour. Good food. The area is bursting with places to eat, so no shortage of dinner opportunities.
The staff were all friendly, efficient and professional. A very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    135
    97
    42
    47
See reviews for
29
165
34
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

The waterside hotel offers brilliant value and a great location. Recent stay with my partner staying for one night in a double room with en suite and breakfast all for £53.00.
The hotel is located on the river Tyne next to the Tyne bridge, the location is perfect for a city break as is a two minute walk away from an abundance of restaurants and bars,but is far enough away from a quiet nights sleep.

The hotel room was very modern but needed a more thorough clean as there was cobwebs on the ceiling, however this minor detail can be overlooked because of the price of the room we paid. The room was of a good size and included a safe in the wardrobe.

Breakfast was very tasty and plentiful, there is continental bar including juices, fruit, cereals, yoghurts, cheese etc and a hot breakfast can be ordered, whether a full English or eggs on toast with tea and coffee to accompany.

The hotel offers a free of charge off road car park which has CCTV, located just opposite the hotel. We was able to leave our car all day when we checked out and was happy to leave it there on a night as seemed very secure.

Would recommend this hotel because of its superb location and great value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNewfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

I recently just checked out of the Waterside hotel after a lovely stay. I was here on business and was looking somewhere near the city centre to stay.

On arrival at the hotel it was a little bit hard to find exactly where the reception was the reception is upstairs on the first floor. After discovering where the reception was I was greeted with a friendly smile and welcome from the hotel receptionist who quickly and efficiently checked me and told me where my room was.

My room was lovely overlooking the bridges on the River Tyne and had a lovely welcome pack with "Geordie" anecdotes in the front and common sayings along with a history of the local area a lovely touch I thought a nice welcome as well as the usual hotel information.

I experienced a lovely comfortable might sleep upon the morning went down to the breakfast room to be greeted by friendly waitress.

Breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious and could not fault however I wasn't offered a choice of eggs so perhaps next time it will be nice to be offered a choice of eggs.

On checkout I went back down to the reception where are fond farewell was made by the hotel receptionist.

What a lovely state this hotel had provided. It was near the city centre which isn't too far away from the railway station either. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family but it is worth remembering that there are a lot of steps going down to the hotel from the city centre which is more easier than going back up first thing in the morning to the city centre. The quick taxi ride may be beneficial to get you back to the city centre if you waking up first thing in the morning.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ALMAWAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

So glad we chose this hotel. Comfortable and cosy with lovely little corridors and sweet lounge . The staff are helpful, friendly and geniunely NICE . Freshly cooked and tasty breakfast and clean room . The bed was snuggly and the view of the bridge and twinkling lights very attractive

. This has character , If you don't mind things being slightly idiosyncratic and want a welcoming, well priced , well placed hotel then read the reviews and decide if this is the place for you .It was for us and we had a great stay , wish it had been for longer and would definitely return . If you prefer identikit rooms and perhaps smarter but less individual places then choose another hotel.

Room Tip: Room 304 looks straight onto bridge and river
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

The Waterside Hotel is well placed to serve visitors to the Newcastle/Gateshead Quayside.

The hotel is near enough to walk to all of the nightlife locations, but quiet enough to get a good nights sleep afterwards. Staff are all very friendly, and nothing is too much trouble.

Rooms are compact, but big enough for a short stay, and although well-equipped, could probably do with a facelift.

Wi-fi is free and quite effective, and breakfast is cooked to order.

All in all, a good choice for a quick stay in Newcastle/Gateshead.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pkilmister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Perfect location, nice rooms. Our second stay. We'll definitely stay again. Breakfast was delicious too. Service was great. Prices are very reasonable. Couldn't ask for more. A definite find. Handy for everything.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MoonStoneClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheatley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

I stayed here with my son when he was attending a university open day. We didn't pay much for the night as it was a last minute booking and that made is very good value. I found the road system difficult but when we did reach the hotel the parking facility was excellent. Even though we only stayed one night we were able to leave our car in the free secure parking all of the next day which was very useful.
The receptionist was lovely when we arrived after a very very long drive and the staff at breakfast the next morning were also great. All local lasses which adds to the ambience of the place. Breakfast was fantastic, freshly cooked, lots of choice and piping hot.
The room was clean and the shower was hot and effective. My only downer was that the carpet was really musty smelling, the smell lingered on all our clothes. Overall though this was a great value place and easy to walk up to the city and the university.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#22 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#19 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
#26 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surtees Hotel
Surtees Hotel
#71 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside Hotel

Property: The Waterside Hotel
Address: 48-52 48 Sandhill | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Newcastle’s famous and picturesque Quayside and just an 8 minute walk to the city centre. The hotel occupies a handsome Grade II listed building steeped in history and includes free Wi-Fi, parking and the funky and lively late night bar "Jimmyz" open Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays . The city centre plays host to an excellent choice of shopping and also plays host to the Theatre Royal, which brings in talents such as opera North and The Royal Shakespeare Company. The bar is located on the ground level or if it’s dancing you prefer, then look no further than Sea nightclub. The hotel aims to go that extra mile to ensure you have a wonderful stay.Each bedroom has a unique style; the layout of the hotel lends itself to well-appointed rooms with the privacy and intimacy of a boutique hotel. Rooms offer all modern facilities guests would expect plus some rooms have extras such as plasma screen TV and DVD player and air conditioning.At the Waterside staff believe it is important to start the day right with a delicious freshly cooked Full English Breakfast or tasty Continental Breakfast which is served every day from 7:00am – 10:00am Monday – Friday and 8:30am – 10:30am Saturday and Sunday. Although the hotel doesn’t serve lunch or evening meals the immediate area boasts an excellent range of restaurants and cafes in which to enjoy any variety of meal.The famous Jimmyz Bar has been a landmark venue in Newcastle since the major re-development of the Quayside in the early 90’s. The bar has recently had a makeover of its own and this opulent cosmopolitan venue now boasts an extensive cocktail list and the sort of hospitality which makes Newcastle a popular choice.Newcastle and the wider area is made up of a diverse variety of towns, cities, coast and countryside offering a huge selection of things to do whatever your tastes. From relaxing at the coast to soaking up world-class culture in the city centres, from getting back in-touch with nature at a woodland retreat to shopping at Europe’s largest indoor shopping and leisure complex, (Metrocentre). It’s rare to find anywhere so diverse that amazes visitors at every turn with its dialogue between ultra-modern and ancient, with award-winning dining, inspiring heritage, fantastic shopping and acclaimed architecture makes up a destination like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
The Waterside Hotel Bed And Breakfast
Waterside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing