We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Waterside Hotel
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Okay stay”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the Waterside Hotel for 2 nights, our first impressions were not too good as you entered the hotel you were confronted with a damp musty smell, Check in went okay our room was basic ,carpets were pretty poor very threadbare,net curtains stained .burn hole in curtains , Breakfast was very nice with a good choice . wouldn't stay here again,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirminghamCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    140
    103
    44
    47
See reviews for
30
171
36
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Decided to visit "Sunny" Newcastle this bank holiday just gone and headed straight to The Waterside Hotel as we had such a good time last time, and yet again we really enjoyed our stay. We arrived a little early and we were given access to our room a little earlier so we could get ready to meet friends. Our room was lovely, (204) on the second floor with a great view of the bridge. Plenty of hot water and fluffy towels, comfy bed with nice bedding and a flat screen tv. Love the location near the Quay side, especially on a Sunday as the market is on. The breakfast is tasty and home cooked and served by the friendliest girls I've ever met. They even remembered us from our last visit, how's that for great customer service.

Room Tip: The higher the room the quieter it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Had seen some mixed reviews of the hotel but needed somewhere reasonably central to stay for one night on our first trip to Newcastle so went ahead & booked - and glad we did.

The reception is on the first floor & we were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist who booked us in & gave us all the info we needed. Our twin room was on the 2nd floor and was well docorated and a reasonable size. The en suite bathroom was also very good.

We went out for a drink & there is a pleasant pub almost across the road (situated beside the Tyne) or a short walk up the hill to other pubs & places to eat.

We had a good nights sleep & experienced no noise. Breakfast was very good (cooked and/or continental) prepared & served by friendly staff.

I will certainly stay here again the next time I visit Newcastle. It was excellent value for money & very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

First time in Newcastle, great old city with plenty to see and/or visit. Lovely small hotel just at bridge, great location ie everything at hand, bars restuarants and very reasonable, lovely breakfast, go and enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suki02890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanstead Abbotts, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Nice breakfast, friendly staff and not a bad location. On the river but our view was of offices. Small leak in the bedroom, however the rain was terrible at the time. Nice bathroom, small bedroom but comfortable. On the Friday night, the fire alarms went off and didn't go off for a couple of hours. The night porter was useless and broke the machine so couldn't turn it off. The sound was absolutely deafening. That night was refunded however and the other staff were very apologetic.

Room Tip: Insist on a front room so you get the view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Amazing location, amazing price, lovely service from receptionist and night porter and lovely rooms! Couldn't fault it at all!

Easy parking, and it was free which is a bonus in newcastle! Right next door to where you want and need to be. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I started off with the hotels feedback form quite positively but after I had got over the remarkably good welcome and trouble free check in, the niggling faults in the room first amused then annoyed me. The room was drab, the state of the furniture left a lot to be desired and the bad - the repairs in the bathroom were astonishingly bad. The space between the shower screen and the wall was too narrow to comfortably get into the bath. The breakfast room was similarly drab and although the staff were pleasant enough, the breakfast was like something from a travelodge
I ended up making detailed comments on the feedback form - but judging from some of the other reviews, little is likely to be done for a while

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view rather than one looking at the fire escape and a wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTPybus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
#29 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#21 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Surtees Hotel
Surtees Hotel
#71 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle Central
Travelodge Newcastle Central
#30 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
980 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside Hotel

Property: The Waterside Hotel
Address: 48-52 48 Sandhill | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Newcastle’s famous and picturesque Quayside and just an 8 minute walk to the city centre. The hotel occupies a handsome Grade II listed building steeped in history and includes free Wi-Fi, parking and the funky and lively late night bar "Jimmyz" open Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays . The city centre plays host to an excellent choice of shopping and also plays host to the Theatre Royal, which brings in talents such as opera North and The Royal Shakespeare Company. The bar is located on the ground level or if it’s dancing you prefer, then look no further than Sea nightclub. The hotel aims to go that extra mile to ensure you have a wonderful stay.Each bedroom has a unique style; the layout of the hotel lends itself to well-appointed rooms with the privacy and intimacy of a boutique hotel. Rooms offer all modern facilities guests would expect plus some rooms have extras such as plasma screen TV and DVD player and air conditioning.At the Waterside staff believe it is important to start the day right with a delicious freshly cooked Full English Breakfast or tasty Continental Breakfast which is served every day from 7:00am – 10:00am Monday – Friday and 8:30am – 10:30am Saturday and Sunday. Although the hotel doesn’t serve lunch or evening meals the immediate area boasts an excellent range of restaurants and cafes in which to enjoy any variety of meal.The famous Jimmyz Bar has been a landmark venue in Newcastle since the major re-development of the Quayside in the early 90’s. The bar has recently had a makeover of its own and this opulent cosmopolitan venue now boasts an extensive cocktail list and the sort of hospitality which makes Newcastle a popular choice.Newcastle and the wider area is made up of a diverse variety of towns, cities, coast and countryside offering a huge selection of things to do whatever your tastes. From relaxing at the coast to soaking up world-class culture in the city centres, from getting back in-touch with nature at a woodland retreat to shopping at Europe’s largest indoor shopping and leisure complex, (Metrocentre). It’s rare to find anywhere so diverse that amazes visitors at every turn with its dialogue between ultra-modern and ancient, with award-winning dining, inspiring heritage, fantastic shopping and acclaimed architecture makes up a destination like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterside Hotel Bed And Breakfast
The Waterside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Waterside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing