We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waterside Hotel
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“value for money”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I just spent the weekend here and loved the place. It's basic and tired but has everything you need, clean bedding, towels, tea, coffee, Tv, Free Wifi, bar and a lovely little Breakfast room. Staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast spot on. Great location to bars and restaurants and a 10 minuet walk into the town. There is a Sunday market on the Quayside which is just a 2 minuet walk from Hotel. There have been complaints about the fusty smell as you enter the main door but baring in mind this hotel suffered flooding along with other businesses and is still recovering, the smell does not go beyond the entrance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katharina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    140
    104
    44
    47
See reviews for
30
172
38
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We checked out on seeing and smelling this place. We had booked in from attractive but misleading photos on a website but on arrival the lobby stank, a sour, rancid smell; the place was run down so that letters on signs in lift (eg) were missing, dirty net curtain on bedroom window, reception poky with a door open showing laundry, bedroom carpet that had been scrabbled at/scraped away etc. Ghastly place, breakfast room looked dispiriting as well.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susiebabhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Where do I start, ok the staff were very nice nothing too much trouble, food also ok.
This is where it stops, the room was dirty and smelt. There were cobwebs on ceiling and dust everywhere. We only had hot water in the mornings and the shower tray was cracked, therefore water was coming through the floor into bedroom soaking the carpet, thus the smell. We only found this out after putting a cushion down and when putting back on bed found it was soaking wet.
Also the shower room extractor fan did not work, so paint was peeling off the ceiling.
The bed not too bad except for the pillows that were like cement bricks.

We booked this hotel because it stated that it had been refurbished but it might have had a lick of paint some time ago. I think you can safely say we will not be going back.

Room Tip: Dont bother rooms on front noisy because of traffic don't know about rooms at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackoAlnwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Great location - the pub downstairs is closed for refurbishment at the moment so we had no problems with noise. Really friendly helpful staff. A bit shabby in places - but we were seriously happy for the price we paid. Would stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Situated on the quayside just a short walk to the city centre and waterfront. It's a bit shabby but fantastic value for money and the staff are super friendly and engaging. There is a free car park close by and the breakfast was lovely.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bonniebeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Hotel is located within walking distance to some attractions and restaurants. We had difficulty finding this hotel even with a GPS because it is located right at the exit of 1 of the 4 bridges nearby and no place to stop to try to figure out where the hotel might be. They offer a parking across the street at no charge which is convenient.
They have no restaurant but offer a discount at one restaurant right at the corner. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: If you don't know the area I would avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FVMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the Waterside Hotel for 2 nights, our first impressions were not too good as you entered the hotel you were confronted with a damp musty smell, Check in went okay our room was basic ,carpets were pretty poor very threadbare,net curtains stained .burn hole in curtains , Breakfast was very nice with a good choice . wouldn't stay here again,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirminghamCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,013 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
#27 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle Central
Travelodge Newcastle Central
#30 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
995 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surtees Hotel
Surtees Hotel
#71 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
#34 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside Hotel

Property: The Waterside Hotel
Address: 48-52 48 Sandhill | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Newcastle’s famous and picturesque Quayside and just an 8 minute walk to the city centre. The hotel occupies a handsome Grade II listed building steeped in history and includes free Wi-Fi, parking and the funky and lively late night bar "Jimmyz" open Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays . The city centre plays host to an excellent choice of shopping and also plays host to the Theatre Royal, which brings in talents such as opera North and The Royal Shakespeare Company. The bar is located on the ground level or if it’s dancing you prefer, then look no further than Sea nightclub. The hotel aims to go that extra mile to ensure you have a wonderful stay.Each bedroom has a unique style; the layout of the hotel lends itself to well-appointed rooms with the privacy and intimacy of a boutique hotel. Rooms offer all modern facilities guests would expect plus some rooms have extras such as plasma screen TV and DVD player and air conditioning.At the Waterside staff believe it is important to start the day right with a delicious freshly cooked Full English Breakfast or tasty Continental Breakfast which is served every day from 7:00am – 10:00am Monday – Friday and 8:30am – 10:30am Saturday and Sunday. Although the hotel doesn’t serve lunch or evening meals the immediate area boasts an excellent range of restaurants and cafes in which to enjoy any variety of meal.The famous Jimmyz Bar has been a landmark venue in Newcastle since the major re-development of the Quayside in the early 90’s. The bar has recently had a makeover of its own and this opulent cosmopolitan venue now boasts an extensive cocktail list and the sort of hospitality which makes Newcastle a popular choice.Newcastle and the wider area is made up of a diverse variety of towns, cities, coast and countryside offering a huge selection of things to do whatever your tastes. From relaxing at the coast to soaking up world-class culture in the city centres, from getting back in-touch with nature at a woodland retreat to shopping at Europe’s largest indoor shopping and leisure complex, (Metrocentre). It’s rare to find anywhere so diverse that amazes visitors at every turn with its dialogue between ultra-modern and ancient, with award-winning dining, inspiring heritage, fantastic shopping and acclaimed architecture makes up a destination like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
The Waterside Hotel Bed And Breakfast
Waterside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing