We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service in an out of the way hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Gibside Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Good service in an out of the way hotel”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Due to a bereavement my wife and I needed a cheap, convenient and quiet hotel as we journeyed 335 miles from Kent to Wallsend. The room was discounted but there was no mention on the website for the extra cost of breakfast. The staff were very good to me as my Aunt had just died in the afternoon and we received an upgrade to our standard room (Thank you for your kindness). The food in the restaurant was excellent however the house wine was very rough! Our stay was a mixture of standards. The bed was excellent and we both had a quiet nights sleep. The town of Whickam stuck on a steep hill is very run down. The food in the restauarant was excellent, but nearly £13 for a cooked breakfast and nearly £9 for continental is far too steep. The coffee the first morning was stewed. I liked the bathroom but there is a lack of attention to detail: two people staying for 2 nights and 1 towel! No extra soaps given. The extractor fan did not work.
So to sum up: staff were friendly but the hotel is disorganised and not 4 star. The village might be ideal for the metrocentre and the A1 is nearby but not a great place to start a holiday exploring the North east (there are about 10 car parking spaces only)!
I would not book here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timetachyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suki45, Director of Sales at Best Western Gibside Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel . I'm so pleased you appreciated your up grade to a Delux room , I do apologise for the towel situation, our policy is a bath sheet and large hand towel for each guest - I imagine that the room had originally been set for single occupancy, and unfortunately when you were up graded - the additional towels were not put into you room - if you had let reception know we would have got them to you immediately. I know that wine is very subjective , we have been trying different suppliers recently , - its a very personal thing and many of our customers drink our house wine on a regular basis and enjoy it .
I'm sorry you thought that Whickham was run down - it is actually a very historic village - but sadly has suffered the same fate as most hight streets in the country , with shop closures .
Again, apologies for your coffee at breakfast -our breakfast staff would have been happy to replace the coffee for you had you mentioned it .
As far as parking is concerned, we have about 12 spaces immediately outside of the hotel - but immediately opposite the hotel - just on the other side of the road, is a public car park with about 200 spaces - which is free of charge from 5.30 pm - 9.00 am , otherwise the parking charge for the day is £1.00 , or 20 pence per hour - which we don't feel is excessive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    111
    31
    9
    4
See reviews for
60
72
5
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands, UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed in an executive room which was reasonable, dinner and breakfast was good, but far too expensive, breakfast was £12:50 which I think was over the top.

Decided to order a double gin and tonic as house doubles were offered for £3 but when I checked out I was charged £6, was told by reception that house doubles offer only applied to vodka which annoyed me.

She offered to call the manager but I didn't want to make a fuss over a couple of quid but it soured my stay.



Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a night out in Newcastle. Gorgeous room (deluxe room) decor was lovely, huge bed, ample pillows and towels. Short taxi ride into the city centre, this cost around £8. The room was immaculate. Reception staff were friendly and helped us with our enquiries and booked a taxi for us. Would much rather stay here and pay for a taxi into the centre than pay the same price for a budget hotel in the centre that aren't as nice. Thanks gibside, we will be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leannemichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We booked this hotel a year in advance and had family and friends staying aswell it was our honeymoon night had a fantastic day then got to hotel about midnight had a drink in the bar then went to our room what a disgrace it was two single beds pushed next to each other and we had paid for a deluxe room it was shocking would never stay there again and they had the nerve to charge you for breakfast what a rip off hotel..

Room Tip: dont book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianhodgson377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suki45, Director of Sales at Best Western Gibside Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel . I am sorry you were dissatisfied with your bedroom. Our Delux rooms all feature Kingsized beds , which when required, can be seperated to make 2 singles . The beds are specially designed to be used either as kingsized or twins - and most of our guests find that they are extremely comfortable and very large .
I am sorry that you thought Breakfast was included in your rate , our bookings are all confirmed very clearly as either room only or Bed and Breakfast - had you requested Bed and Breakfast , we would have been happy to arrange that for you . Our Breakfast rates start at £3.95 - we have 3 choices , or the alternative of going upstairs to our lounge bar for just a bacon sandwich or toast , so we do feel that we offer a fairly extensive choice .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Went up for my brother-in-laws 40th birthday for 2 nights so needed a bit of space - booked a Junior suit which was perfect - 2 single beds, living area with 2 sofa's and 2 bathrooms. Staff really friendly and bar/restaurant buzzing in the evening - glad i didnt go for the cheaper hotel options

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Very clean,lovely helpful staff only fault needed more towels in bathroom but would stay again plus location is great very close to metro centre,takeaways and small shops would recommend to a friend bar and restaurant reasonable prices and clean

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarha30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed here a few weeks ago and had a lovely stay. We were upgraded to a deluxe room which was a fantastic treat. Our room was well equipped although the only complaint was that the TV was very small considering it was a deluxe room. We ate in the hotel as nowhere in the village took our fancy and found the food and service of excellent quality. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoL186513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
721 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Ryokan Hotel
Best Western Ryokan Hotel
#39 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
100 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#9 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
505 reviews
4.5 mi away
Best Western New Kent Hotel
Best Western New Kent Hotel
#49 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
245 reviews
8.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#22 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gibside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gibside Hotel

Property: Best Western Gibside Hotel
Address: Gibside Arms Hotel Front Street | Whickham, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 4JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Gibside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, in the center of wonderful Whickham Village, has the location, location, location you are looking for - whether you are here on business or staying at your leisure. Built in 1982 and extended in 1990, the hotel has a reputation for relaxation. In a historic village setting, it is little wonder that many television productions have been filmed in the area. Our friendly staff, many of whom have been at The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel for over 25 years, will give you a true home-away-from-home experience. Friendly and caring, they will make your comfort their top priority from the moment you check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gibside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing