We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Gibside Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford
Level Contributor
216 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“nice place”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I have stayed at the Gibside on a regular basis and always find it to be a good place to stay. The rooms are always clean and spacious, if not a little warm, even in the winter. Try and get a room in the new part when booking. Good onsite restaurant....

Good breakfast, cooked for you.... it includes black pudding....

Room Tip: Stay in the newer part of the hotel.... the old part is far to warm....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    105
    30
    9
    4
See reviews for
58
68
5
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Aside from the fact that it cashed in on the Great North Run by charging inflated prices, we found this a very good hotel.

Staff were friendly (if a little stiff and formal at reception), and breakfasts were excellent. The restaurant, run by the eponymous and friendly Paco, is attractive and clean. Our room was comfortable even if the solitary window was a little small to fully appreciate the views down to the Metro Centre, the bed was big, the TV was easy to operate (not always the case in hotels), and the lighting thoughtfully laid out. Car parking is handy.

Gripes were small: porridge made with water, not milk; background music at breakfast too soft to follow but loud enough to mildly annoy. The breakfast buffet was no more than adequate.

But these are minor qualms. When we return to the Newcastle area we'll seriously consider staying here again.

Good restaurants and pubs nearby. Great base, just off the A1 Motorway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a large window so you can admire the views down the hill to the Metro Centre and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaselinerGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Last minute booking, £55 for double room, and allowed our dog in this room (one of two apparently). Couple of dog hairs on the carpet, but I suppose that's to be expected in a dog room. Bed was massive, all clean other than that, and at £55 (no breakfast) it's a bargain. Very pleasantly surprised. Not sure on location as it was a stop gap, but not I'm centre. Close to shop and takeaway so I was happy. Would recommend

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed here as a last minute booking after deciding to visit friends nearby.Usually stay nearer the metro centre but hotels were fully booked so after seeing rooms on offer at the Gibside for £65 for a deluxe room we opted to try the hotel.

On arrival we had to park on the public car park opposite the hotel - no problem free after 5.30. We were greeted by the friendly receptionist and given keys to our room and the code for free wifi ...we were on the top floor which was fine for us but there is no lift which meant three flights of stairs with our luggage.

Room was nice with modern furnishings and well equipped with kettle hair dryer TV and full bathroom. Bed was kingside and yes this was two beds together but still comfy and we both slept really well. The only negative with the room was that it was very warm and because of the furnishings room was very dark.


We cannot comment on the food as we declined the breakfast - at £12.95 per person felt it was a bit steep. Instead we opted for baked products from the local Tesco. The metro centre is only 5 mins in car or the pub nearby offers breakfast from £1.99 as other options.
We did visit the bar both nights which had a lovely atmosphere and great views over the valley. There was a wedding on the Saturday night but this did not intrude on our stay and did not get disturbed by guests during the night.

Overall we had a nice stay and would consider this hotel again if rooms were on offer at a similar price to what we paid

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aligaz05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate
Level Contributor
217 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

after getting a deal at 69.50 for diner bed breakfast i am reviewing at that the price i had paid and not what you pay at normal tariff and the over inflated breakfast prices...after checking on a late availability site was showing £60.00 room only...rang hotel direct and they said they had availabillity room only was £75.00 and breakfast £12.50 they eventually agreed they would do the room at the same price as the late availability site.....on further checking the website they had a deal for dbb for 69.50 which i booked....on arrival at the hotel the entrance is at the rear .....met receptionist who wanted to take a £100 credit card swipe i declined the offer saying i would not be spending £30 on drink...she did not know how the diner bed and breakfast worked and on finding a menu for the set diner was extremely disappointed at the choices of 3 starters and 4 mains one a veg option and anbother with a £5 surcharge ...i asked if i could use the allowance on the bar food or restuarant and she said no and then phoned somebody who came down and said it was not normal but they would allow it .....i ate in the bar and food was excellent and so was the service...went to my room and i am still looking for the trouser press which from what the website says "All of our bedrooms offer a comfortable relaxing atmosphere, and are fully equipped with direct dial telephone, radio, alarm, colour television with free view chanels and remote control, trouser press, hairdrier, and tea/coffee hospitality tray " there was no alarm or radio so i assume it is all on the small flat screen tv....room was practicable and comfortable but a note to the cleaner do occassionally clean and hoover into the corners and trying moving the table and bedside cabinet...bathroom paintwork was full of dirty stains....if i had been paying there normal price i would be saying that hotel was very poor value but at what i paid it is average...i do not think i will be revisiting the establishment and i must thank the glass bottle recycling company for the 5.30am alarm call

Room Tip: the bar is below rooms on 2nd floor so friday night was rather noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suki45, Director of Sales at Best Western Gibside Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us . We do occasionally have last minute rates available through late availability sites , and to obtain that price, the procedure is normally, that you have to book through the site showing the rate . We also have special offers available on our own website , such as Bank Holiday Weekends etc, and these are bookable through either the booking facility on our website , or by telephoning reception at the hotel . The two are not normally inter-changeable .
Our Breakfast charges start at £3.95 - we have a wide selection - enabling guests to decide what they would like to eat, and how much they would like to spend .
We ask for a credit card swipe on arrival ( which is normal procedure at most hotels ) which enables you to have any charges posted to your room . If you decide that you don't wish to do that , its fine - you can pay for any drinks, meals etc ordered at the time of purchase .
Our Manager did allow you to choose from our Lounge bar menu when there was nothing that appealed to you on our Table D'Hote menu , and I'm pleased that you found the food and service in our lounge bar was excellent .
The alarm is programmed through the telephone in the bedroom , as per the instruction booklet , or alternatively, reception are very happy to arrange a wake up call for you if you request one .
The radio channels are on the TV - again, all channels are shown clearly on the list next to the TV.
I have asked both our General Manager and Head Housekeeper to investigate your comments regarding the room - which we find quite surprising , as the room you occupied has been used on a daily basis for certainly the past 6 months, - we not received comments from any other guests , and the rooms are all checked prior to arrival by our Head Housekeeper .
I will forward your comments to the glass recycling company concerned - they work totally independently of the hotel , and I'm afraid we don't have any control over their collection times .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
481 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

What a lovely hotel with great customer service! Kudos to Joy and her staff for such a wonderful experience. The restaurant provided delicious food and the service in the restaurant was outstanding! The help and concern provided by the staff when an accident occurred on Hadrian's Wall with one of those in our group was deeply appreciated. I hope to return to this great place!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRH0PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suki45, Director of Sales at Best Western Gibside Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Dr Rigby
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us . I'm so pleased you all enjoyed your visit , and thank you for your kind comments, which I will make sure are passed on to the staff concerned . We do hope to see you all again in the future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I usually plan my hotel trips a long way in advance and get very good deals. This time I ended up with a week's notice and all of the usual places were booked, expensive or subject to all night parties in Newcastle. After looking at the Trip Advisor reviews I setled on The Gibside, which at £65 for a double room is not unreasonable. It was ironic but there was a wedding reception being held there so I was concerned I would have a sleepless night, but this ended at midnight. It's not a bad location and the staff are very friendly. My only negative comment is that £12.50 is a bit pricey for a breakfast, and I was still full form the Indian meal from the night before so I had a DIY one from Tesco Express.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davebb1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
2.6 mi away
Best Western Ryokan Hotel
Best Western Ryokan Hotel
#41 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
4.5 mi away
Best Western New Kent Hotel
Best Western New Kent Hotel
#51 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#20 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
6.6 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#32 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gibside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gibside Hotel

Property: Best Western Gibside Hotel
Address: Gibside Arms Hotel Front Street | Whickham, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 4JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Gibside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, in the center of wonderful Whickham Village, has the location, location, location you are looking for - whether you are here on business or staying at your leisure. Built in 1982 and extended in 1990, the hotel has a reputation for relaxation. In a historic village setting, it is little wonder that many television productions have been filmed in the area. Our friendly staff, many of whom have been at The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel for over 25 years, will give you a true home-away-from-home experience. Friendly and caring, they will make your comfort their top priority from the moment you check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gibside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing