We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value great location ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value great location ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Good hotel in nice part of Newcastle. The hotel is easy to find just of a1, really nice room (I think we were in a suite) good shower and comfy bed. It's only 5 mins drive to metro centre and only 10 mins into centre of Newcastle and about £10 in taxi so perfect for a night out without staying in awful travelodge.
The staff were nice although didn't really help when we asked for recommendations of where was good to eat. Luckily we have trip advisor!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank haverotawilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suki45, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review , and your kind comments about our hotel . I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and found us convenient for the Metro Centre and Newcastle .
We do hope to see you again in the future
With kind regards
Sue Campbell
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    101
    27
    9
    4
See reviews for
57
65
5
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Right from checking in we couldn't fault this hotel. Fast and efficient service meant we were in our room in minutes, room 405 was large and spacious, with a soft and comfy bed, contemporary design with views through the trees over Newcastle. It was clean and well maintained as was the rest of the hotel. Food was delicious, hubby had French onion soup which he said was almost as good as mine, and we both had pasta which were both delicious but too big for us to finish. Two starters, two mains Mine was a starter sized but still too much for me to finish, two beers and a wine was £35, very good value. The staff were all friendly and efficient, overall a fabulous base to explore the wonders of the northeast.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon-Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suki45, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us .
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit, and found our bedrooms comfortable and thank you for your kind comments about our staff, and our restaurant .
I hope you managed to explore the North East during your visit - there are some fabulous places , beaches, castles, all of our National Trust properties, Beamish Museum, The Metro Centre ....... you probably need to come back again to see more of our area .....
With kind regards
Sue Campbell
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Spent 2 nights in this hotel, clean, friendly staff but the stairs were a bit of a problem. The drawers in the bedroom which we mentioned on departure kept opening bit unsafe in the night I kept bumping into them!! The views were fantastic, the bar very friendly. We opted to breakfast in the nearby pub The Bridle Path 1/2 the price of the hotel and FANTASTIC!! Would we stay again?

Room Tip: ask for the ground floor and at the front of the hotel a little less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suki45, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us - and I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit, and found the hotel comfortable and staff helpful .
The views from our Sphinx Lounge Bar and the higher floor bedrooms is amazing , especially at night .
We hope you can return in the future, and we look forward to seeing you again .
With kind regards
Sue Campbell
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Gibside Hotel in Whickham and will go there again.
The hotel is clean with nice friendly staff.
There is a choice of restaurants you can walk to on foot and the Metro Centre is a short walk away. There is an in expensive pay and display behind the hotel which can be used of the hotel car park is full.
I have no qualms about recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay on the first two floors if you don't like dragging your cases up the stairs. We never founf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nest T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suki45, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your review - I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit , and found our hotel comfortable .
Thank you so much for your kind comments , and we look forward to seeing you again in the future .
With kind regards
Sue Campbell
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

I have never stayed in this hotel but I would quite like to in the future I being here for lunch lots of times over the years particularly Sunday lunch this hotel is in a fnice peaceful location The people who work here are nice and helpful and polite The food is delicious you m get a nice Sunday lunch here with quite big portions the restaurant staff are nice helpful and polite and today take all in all a good experience thank you very much for meeting my review a very good care of their customers

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank NickyTheInspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Had a brilliant night at this hotel. Was so close to metro centre that it made for a really pleasant and stress free Xmas shopping trip.

We went to the bar that over looks the centre and then had an amazing meal at pacos!
The belly pork starter and the steak main was amazing!

Room was lovely and clean and quiet and breakfast the next morning just hit the spot.

Can't wait to return

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We always stay at the Gibside in Whickham when we come over on holiday and always find the staff welcoming and helpful and the rooms very comfortable. This year a number of family members joined us and we used the apartments, the inside apartment as well as a standard single room and found all the accommodation very comfortable. When family arrived we had Saturday lunch in the sphinx bar and found the vibe good, the food very nice and the staff friendly. When booking Sue and Joy are always most helpful and the ladies at reception are a credit to the hotel, always more than willing to help and offer advice on the area. The Whickham village is a great place to stay and my in laws couldn't get over this tidy little village with good restaurants and pubs with easy proximity to Metro Centre and Newcastle. Sad to leave but will, as always, return on my next stay in Newcastle.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Waynef123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suki45, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Wayne
Thank you so much for your review, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us - I know its the first time you have stayed in the apartments, and I'm so pleased you liked them . Thank you for your kind comments about our staff, I will make sure they are passed on . It is great to know that your relatives enjoyed their time in Whickham, and enjoyed visiting our local restaurants and bars - and we look forward very much indeed to seeing you all again on your next visit back to the UK .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel
BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel
#40 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#21 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#17 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel
BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel
#50 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.9 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel
Address: Gibside Arms Hotel Front Street | Whickham, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 4JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, in the center of wonderful Whickham Village, has the location, location, location you are looking for - whether you are here on business or staying at your leisure. Built in 1982 and extended in 1990, the hotel has a reputation for relaxation. In a historic village setting, it is little wonder that many television productions have been filmed in the area. Our friendly staff, many of whom have been at The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel for over 25 years, will give you a true home-away-from-home experience. Friendly and caring, they will make your comfort their top priority from the moment you check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing