We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good BUT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Gibside Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Our in 308 night away was ruined by noisy inconsiderate other guests that had been to a wedding in the building , doors slamming ,loud music running up and down all this till 5.30 am then again at 8 am so had hardly any sleep ...
WHAT A SHAME this hotel is beautiful rooms lovely ,the staff on check were very good .
Annoyed by the receptionist claim no managers available over a bank hoilday weekend ... i have worked in hospitallity and i just dont believe that managers are all allowed bankhoildays off.
Fobbed off by receptionist saying it was a wedding party was not the only people complaining no offer of refund of reduce rate . shame wont be staying again lost a customer .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suki45, Director of Sales at Best Western Gibside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us , and for your kind comments regarding our staff, and our bedrooms .
I am so sorry that you were inconvenienced by other guests , and you don't mention it, but I wondered if you had at any point contacted our night porter . We have a 24 hour reception, and had you phoned down to reception and complained , our night porter would have gone to the bedrooms or area of the hotel where the noise was occurring , and requested that the noise be stopped . I do apologize once again for the thoughtlessness of fellow guests .
With kind regards
Sue Campbell
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Gibside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed again on 5th April for one night. Room clean , nice and quiet, reception staff very good ,free wifi. Good car parking space ,overall a very well ran hotel .No doubt we will return in the future.

Room Tip: Some local shops about a 5 minute walk,nice location
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vince R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suki45, Director of Sales at Best Western Gibside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us . I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit, and found our hotel comfortable . Thank you for your kind comments about our staff, and we look forward very much to seeing you again in the future .
With kind regards
Sue Campbell
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Good hotel in nice part of Newcastle. The hotel is easy to find just of a1, really nice room (I think we were in a suite) good shower and comfy bed. It's only 5 mins drive to metro centre and only 10 mins into centre of Newcastle and about £10 in taxi so perfect for a night out without staying in awful travelodge.
The staff were nice although didn't really help when we asked for recommendations of where was good to eat. Luckily we have trip advisor!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank haverotawilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suki45, Director of Sales at Best Western Gibside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you so much for your review , and your kind comments about our hotel . I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and found us convenient for the Metro Centre and Newcastle .
We do hope to see you again in the future
With kind regards
Sue Campbell
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Right from checking in we couldn't fault this hotel. Fast and efficient service meant we were in our room in minutes, room 405 was large and spacious, with a soft and comfy bed, contemporary design with views through the trees over Newcastle. It was clean and well maintained as was the rest of the hotel. Food was delicious, hubby had French onion soup which he said was almost as good as mine, and we both had pasta which were both delicious but too big for us to finish. Two starters, two mains Mine was a starter sized but still too much for me to finish, two beers and a wine was £35, very good value. The staff were all friendly and efficient, overall a fabulous base to explore the wonders of the northeast.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sharon-Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suki45, Director of Sales at Best Western Gibside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us .
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit, and found our bedrooms comfortable and thank you for your kind comments about our staff, and our restaurant .
I hope you managed to explore the North East during your visit - there are some fabulous places , beaches, castles, all of our National Trust properties, Beamish Museum, The Metro Centre ....... you probably need to come back again to see more of our area .....
With kind regards
Sue Campbell
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Spent 2 nights in this hotel, clean, friendly staff but the stairs were a bit of a problem. The drawers in the bedroom which we mentioned on departure kept opening bit unsafe in the night I kept bumping into them!! The views were fantastic, the bar very friendly. We opted to breakfast in the nearby pub The Bridle Path 1/2 the price of the hotel and FANTASTIC!! Would we stay again?

Room Tip: ask for the ground floor and at the front of the hotel a little less road noise
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suki45, Director of Sales at Best Western Gibside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us - and I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit, and found the hotel comfortable and staff helpful .
The views from our Sphinx Lounge Bar and the higher floor bedrooms is amazing , especially at night .
We hope you can return in the future, and we look forward to seeing you again .
With kind regards
Sue Campbell
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Gibside Hotel in Whickham and will go there again.
The hotel is clean with nice friendly staff.
There is a choice of restaurants you can walk to on foot and the Metro Centre is a short walk away. There is an in expensive pay and display behind the hotel which can be used of the hotel car park is full.
I have no qualms about recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay on the first two floors if you don't like dragging your cases up the stairs. We never founf...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nest T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suki45, Director of Sales at Best Western Gibside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your review - I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit , and found our hotel comfortable .
Thank you so much for your kind comments , and we look forward to seeing you again in the future .
With kind regards
Sue Campbell
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

I have never stayed in this hotel but I would quite like to in the future I being here for lunch lots of times over the years particularly Sunday lunch this hotel is in a fnice peaceful location The people who work here are nice and helpful and polite The food is delicious you m get a nice Sunday lunch here with quite big portions the restaurant staff are nice helpful and polite and today take all in all a good experience thank you very much for meeting my review a very good care of their customers

Stayed: April 2013
Thank NickyTheInspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
746 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#9 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
526 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Ryokan Hotel
Best Western Ryokan Hotel
#38 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western New Kent Hotel
Best Western New Kent Hotel
#49 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
253 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
595 reviews
4.3 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#28 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gibside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gibside Hotel

Address: Gibside Arms Hotel Front Street | Whickham, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 4JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £54 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Gibside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, in the center of wonderful Whickham Village, has the location, location, location you are looking for - whether you are here on business or staying at your leisure. Built in 1982 and extended in 1990, the hotel has a reputation for relaxation. In a historic village setting, it is little wonder that many television productions have been filmed in the area. Our friendly staff, many of whom have been at The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel for over 25 years, will give you a true home-away-from-home experience. Friendly and caring, they will make your comfort their top priority from the moment you check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gibside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing