We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Malmaison Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Our Daughter had arranged to go to a concert with friends in Newcastle and we decided to make a weekend of it and travel up so we could take her in the car. What a wonderful place this was, our daughter tells us that the malmaison chain was originally founded by Mick Hucknall of Simply Red.

What stood out most is that, although this is clearly a contemporary idea, we didnt feel like oldies in the place and there was a general air of respect both with the staff and other clientelle. It wasn't cheap but was such a wonderful surprise.

In our eagerness to get into Newcastle and take a look around we arrived at the hotel early. The maitre'd was wonderful, he took our luggage and told us it would be kept securely until our room was ready and then they would be taken up and left there. When we returned from our afternoon out we found he had been as good as his word, there was even a compliments note.

As we had had a long day we decided to eat here on our first evening; although not extensive, the menu had a good choice for all palates and the food was excellent. I would not be surprised if people come here just to eat. Again the atmosphere was unique, almost serene, clearly a lot of thought has gone into the ambience.

all in all a wonderful visit and we are now looking at a trip to edinburgh and a stay in the malmaison there, later in the year.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricBingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    965
    734
    319
    129
    67
See reviews for
222
1,162
50
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The low lighting hid what turned out to be the most enjoyable hotel experience for many years. The staff were so helpful, attentive, and professional, everything was spotlessly clean, the beds comfortable and rooms well appointed, breakfast a delight . I doubt you will have any reason to find fault , certainly its no Malmaison.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jericlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the Malmaison on 8th May 2011. We stayed in the deluxe double on the 6th floor and I couldn't believe how big it was! The room was absolutely beautiful and the bath/shower were fab!! Bed was huge although a little firm, but each to their own taste.
I particularly liked the complimentary toiletries in the bathroom. A touch I appreciated a lot!
The only negative being that it was a little on the pricey side. Cocktails in the upstairs bar were lovely; but for £10 each I was hoping for something a little more spectacular.
I think it is a perfect getaway for young couples. On the Quayside and the nightlife is literally round the corner.
Not for anybody who doesn't appreciate French extravagance, but it was very much to my taste!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieTravels91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Stayed here with my partner last night. The standard rooms are very spacious, gorgeous interior and very comfortable. Some of the best hotel toiletries I have used which you are encouraged to take home. Would definetly recommend asking for a river view.

Had the £30 for two courses and bottle of wine for two deal in the restaurant. The food was fantastic.

The bar does amazing cocktails - watch out they will knock you out if you have one too many :p

Breakfast was great too, would highly recommend the eggs benefict with smoked salmon.

Overall a brilliant hotel and would happily stay over and over again!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahvb1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

The rooms were standard, quite nice. The hotel though was very purple and gold, which was quite nice, bit oppressive.

Bar and service were good. Breakfast excellent. All round really good. But very dark inside.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fay75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

I booked the malmaison for my partners 30th birhday as a surprise, i paid £99 which included nights stay two course meal each and bottle of wine. I have to say i was more excited about staying here than my partner and i have i was not disappointed! The hotels decor was moody and romantic which i loved, but did take some adjusting to the darkness after coming in from outside on a sunny day, staff were helpful and well mannered, found our room no problem which was spacious and modern and clean with complimentary toiletries which smell gorgeous, our meal was delicious as was the wine, and the restaurant staff were very attentive and professional, loved the bar area where we sat looking out over the river and were given a bowl of olives to snack on.
The whole experience was fab and couldn't be faulted, it was perfect for a special occasion. My partners only gripe was the pillows were too soft which he said folded around his head. but overall a fabulous stay and i cant wait to return.

Room Tip: we had a side room which was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulie067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Stayed here on a £125 price for an upgrade executive room with quay side view. Arrived at 10.00 a.m. and was given the room straight away as it was ready. Staff were very helpful throughout the stay. Room was lovely, very comfortable, spa experience was wonderful, had a lovely late evening night cap in the lounge area with a great view of the millenium bridge changing colours. The only down side was the disco blaring from the Pitcher and Piano just across the road from the front of the hotel. This goes on till 1 a.m. I would suggest not asking for a quay side view and choosing a peaceful going to sleep experience instead. The views can be seen from other areas of hotel and there are plenty of quayside bars to see the same. We had a lovely time and the Baltic was a fabulous experience also. the Quayside link bus at £1.70 day rover is excellent value to see all the other areas the city has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twochaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#30 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#3 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Newcastle

Property: Malmaison Newcastle
Address: Newcastle Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fog on the Tyne? Let's hope not. Otherwise you'll miss the great view of the Tyne Bridge you get from our hotel in Newcastle city centre. But then, when you're staying at Malmaison Newcastle, it's the views on the inside that tell you your boat's come in. While you're right at the heart of Newcastle's great shops and exciting nightlife, the lure of MALBAR's legendary cocktails and the Mal Brasserie's classic dishes with a twist is pretty strong. And who wants to spend all night out on the town when one hotel in Newcastle has a whole floor with a shipbuilding theme and bathtubs you could sink a battleship in? It could only be the Newcastle Mal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing