We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Great service, lovely breakfast. The room was very comfortable and spacious and the breakfst was wonderful. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,065 - 2,071 of 2,445 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2012

Just returned from 3 nights at this lovely hotel. Excellent location right on the Newcastle Quayside. Great for local bars and restaurants- La Tasca right next door and 2 doors down Gusto. Across the bus way The Pitcher and Piano. If travelling by car you park in the multi storey at the back of the hotel, there are third floor spaces reserved for Mal guests. You get your ticket from the machine on entry and when you need your car again, your ticket is validated at the hotel reception, for which there is a charge, and this enables you to use it as you leave the car park.
Hotel was good,our room 421 was fantastic. Spacious and the view of the Millennium Bridge was awesome. Obviously this comes at a price and I was pleased that we had paid that bit more as I wouln't like to have been in a bedroom at the back, looking out onto the multistorey car park.We stayed on room only basis and this was perfect because there are plenty of places to have breakfast within ten minute walking distance. Check out a lovely coffee house 'Quay Ingredient' No4 Queen Street-the pork and leek sausuage sandwich is to die for! and the variety of teas are a delight.
Receptionists at Mal were very helpful,always polite and advising us on places to visit etc. We ate in the hotel on our first night-meal was fine but not anything special which is what you expect from a hotel of this standard.
Room 421 was very big with two huge windows overlooking the Tyne-not at all noisy as you might expect from its close proximity to the restaurants and bars,although we did stay Sunday to Wednesday so maybe weekends would be more so. Bedroom was very clean and bathroom was modern and full of the toiletries etc that you would require. No hair dryer in the room, or at least not that I could find-so take your own is my advice. Asusual mini bar was well overpriced as were the nuts and snacks left out on the dresser-be aware these are not complimentary as there is a price list inside the basket.
All in all a most enjoyable first experience of a Malmaison Hotel and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking river are the best-high floors even better.Avoid rooms at the back of this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Stayed here in a deluxe room with an excellent view of the millennium bridge on a short break to see Dancing on Ice at the Metro Arena. Good spot for walking along the Quay & across the bridge & walking distance to the town. The room was spacious, warm & extremely comfortable with an ultra modern bathroom with a very large rain shower over a really deep bath with plenty of hot water & luxury toiletries. We had the dinner bed & breakfast package & found it to be excellent and the staff were most helpful and about the best we have come across in the UK.
Would definitely want to stay there again.

Room Tip: Go for the room with a view costs a little more but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOSSOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I enjoyed an excellent Saturday night stay at the Mal Maison Newcastle to celebrate a birthday.
The room was large, spacious and full of all the facilities that would be expected of a high end hotel chain. The bathroom and room were clean and well presented and very comfortable indeed.

We had spa treatments booked during the afternoon and found the spa which was located on the ground floor to be equally impressive with very professional staff who provided an excellent service.

We enjoyed a 3 course meal as part of the deal booked through the hotel, and after enjoying a cocktail in the bar overlooking the millennium bridge sat down to eat in the restaurant.

The restaurant provided a wide ranging menu alongside daily specials and the service was again excellent. We were provided with a complimentary glass of cava due to the birthday celebrations which was a nice touch.

The following morning, breakfast was also included and the continental buffet was excellent with an array of cooked options also available.

All in all, the hotel was excellent in all aspects and made for a very enjoyable and reasonably priced stay. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Me and my partner visited in October and had a great one night stay! We had a gorgeous room, very clean and spacious, with a Millennium Bridge view- well worth the money. Love the whole vibe of the hotel and the bar is lovely. Excellent customer service, would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatBlakely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Stayed here for a weekend after visiting on business.

Great hotel chain, luxurious feel about the place, friendly staff.

The hotel is right next to the River and has parking on directly opposite.

The restaurant is excellent and has a very good menu, the food was excellent.

Deluxe rooms are very big, high ceilings, well kitted out.

No complaints.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe rooms for the extra space to lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

One night (Friday) stay with breakfast.
Standard room - multistorey carpark view.

Usual Mal style hotel. Dark and moody interior.
Check inn and out prompt, efficient and helpful.
Room clean and tidy. Rainfall shower worked well.
Well stocked and not exoribitantly priced minibar / snack tray.
Breakfast was plentiful and well cooked, however the restaurant waiting on staff were worse than useless - a real imcompetent embarassment to a hotel of this class.
£4 to park for up to 24 hours in the carpark opposite which has hotel reserved spaces.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudithChalmersWannaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#23 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,115 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,292 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#22 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,491 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#11 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Newcastle

Address: Newcastle Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £82 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fog on the Tyne? Let's hope not. Otherwise you'll miss the great view of the Tyne Bridge you get from our hotel in Newcastle city centre. But then, when you're staying at Malmaison Newcastle, it's the views on the inside that tell you your boat's come in. While you're right at the heart of Newcastle's great shops and exciting nightlife, the lure of MALBAR's legendary cocktails and the Mal Brasserie's classic dishes with a twist is pretty strong. And who wants to spend all night out on the town when one hotel in Newcastle has a whole floor with a shipbuilding theme and bathtubs you could sink a battleship in? It could only be the Newcastle Mal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing