We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Achingly cool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Malmaison Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Achingly cool”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed 2 nights during the early May Bank Holiday. Dark coloured 'common parts' but the rooms are lovely and light. We paid £350 for 2 nights bed and breakfast, we didn't have dinner as we were 'out and about' but the menu looked interesting and varied. breakfast was excellent, even a fresh honeycomb to dig into! Staff were very efficient and friendly and are to be commended. The bar on the first floor was light and overlooked the Tyne. Lots of sofas and large chairs to crash into. early evening drinks were quiet and restrained, late night cocktails were v lively and full of exceptionally well (under?) dressed 'bright young things' clearly having a great time. The room was double aspect, side and back, and on the 5th floor, which was higher than the multi storey car park so didn't affect our light. It was well furnished with a sofa a 2 TVs and a well appointed bathroom with good quality smelly things for the bath etc. Easy walking distance from all the Quayside bars and restaurants, and an easy (ten minutes) walk to the city centre shopping up the hill. Parking is free in the car park at the back.
Our three sons (one at the University) looked pretty trashed both mornings, so I guess they also had a good time.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front look onto Quayside, the river and the Millennium Bridge, rooms at the back look o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antandpickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,015
    747
    327
    130
    69
See reviews for
234
1,205
53
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Stayed on the Friday dine option which included 2 course meal and a bottle of wine. Fantastic value stayed in room 405 which faced the building next door large room. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaCMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We have just had another great stay at the Mal Newcastle, this time we were given a high room which had great views down the Tyne, we stayed on the Friday night rate which included a 2 course meal and wine. The food was excellent and the service from the staff was friendly and attentive.
We like the Mals bar and the ambience in there (bring back Peroni please!)
Ideally located on the Quay. Its a 10 minute walk to the city centre. We had our breakfast at a little jewell of a place called QUAY INGREDIENT on Queen st. (walk down the Quay, turn up right under the Tyne bridge by the side of the Premier Inn and its up there on the left) Its a small place run by a friendly young couple trying to build their business by food quality and attention to detail, go there its great!
We will be back to the Mal as soon as we can.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheppy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Great service, lovely breakfast. The room was very comfortable and spacious and the breakfst was wonderful. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Just returned from 3 nights at this lovely hotel. Excellent location right on the Newcastle Quayside. Great for local bars and restaurants- La Tasca right next door and 2 doors down Gusto. Across the bus way The Pitcher and Piano. If travelling by car you park in the multi storey at the back of the hotel, there are third floor spaces reserved for Mal guests. You get your ticket from the machine on entry and when you need your car again, your ticket is validated at the hotel reception, for which there is a charge, and this enables you to use it as you leave the car park.
Hotel was good,our room 421 was fantastic. Spacious and the view of the Millennium Bridge was awesome. Obviously this comes at a price and I was pleased that we had paid that bit more as I wouln't like to have been in a bedroom at the back, looking out onto the multistorey car park.We stayed on room only basis and this was perfect because there are plenty of places to have breakfast within ten minute walking distance. Check out a lovely coffee house 'Quay Ingredient' No4 Queen Street-the pork and leek sausuage sandwich is to die for! and the variety of teas are a delight.
Receptionists at Mal were very helpful,always polite and advising us on places to visit etc. We ate in the hotel on our first night-meal was fine but not anything special which is what you expect from a hotel of this standard.
Room 421 was very big with two huge windows overlooking the Tyne-not at all noisy as you might expect from its close proximity to the restaurants and bars,although we did stay Sunday to Wednesday so maybe weekends would be more so. Bedroom was very clean and bathroom was modern and full of the toiletries etc that you would require. No hair dryer in the room, or at least not that I could find-so take your own is my advice. Asusual mini bar was well overpriced as were the nuts and snacks left out on the dresser-be aware these are not complimentary as there is a price list inside the basket.
All in all a most enjoyable first experience of a Malmaison Hotel and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking river are the best-high floors even better.Avoid rooms at the back of this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STAMFORD
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Stayed here in a deluxe room with an excellent view of the millennium bridge on a short break to see Dancing on Ice at the Metro Arena. Good spot for walking along the Quay & across the bridge & walking distance to the town. The room was spacious, warm & extremely comfortable with an ultra modern bathroom with a very large rain shower over a really deep bath with plenty of hot water & luxury toiletries. We had the dinner bed & breakfast package & found it to be excellent and the staff were most helpful and about the best we have come across in the UK.
Would definitely want to stay there again.

Room Tip: Go for the room with a view costs a little more but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOSSOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I enjoyed an excellent Saturday night stay at the Mal Maison Newcastle to celebrate a birthday.
The room was large, spacious and full of all the facilities that would be expected of a high end hotel chain. The bathroom and room were clean and well presented and very comfortable indeed.

We had spa treatments booked during the afternoon and found the spa which was located on the ground floor to be equally impressive with very professional staff who provided an excellent service.

We enjoyed a 3 course meal as part of the deal booked through the hotel, and after enjoying a cocktail in the bar overlooking the millennium bridge sat down to eat in the restaurant.

The restaurant provided a wide ranging menu alongside daily specials and the service was again excellent. We were provided with a complimentary glass of cava due to the birthday celebrations which was a nice touch.

The following morning, breakfast was also included and the continental buffet was excellent with an array of cooked options also available.

All in all, the hotel was excellent in all aspects and made for a very enjoyable and reasonably priced stay. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,176 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,070 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,371 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,105 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Newcastle

Property: Malmaison Newcastle
Address: Newcastle Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fog on the Tyne? Let's hope not. Otherwise you'll miss the great view of the Tyne Bridge you get from our hotel in Newcastle city centre. But then, when you're staying at Malmaison Newcastle, it's the views on the inside that tell you your boat's come in. While you're right at the heart of Newcastle's great shops and exciting nightlife, the lure of MALBAR's legendary cocktails and the Mal Brasserie's classic dishes with a twist is pretty strong. And who wants to spend all night out on the town when one hotel in Newcastle has a whole floor with a shipbuilding theme and bathtubs you could sink a battleship in? It could only be the Newcastle Mal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing