We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, could have done with more staff at breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Stayed here recently for a friend's wedding, and I have to say the location was perfect as the reception was just over the other side of the Millennium Bridge. The decor is sumptuous, if a little dark, and our room was a good size, with a fabulous sized bed but no view.

The requested travel cot was provided with a sheet and towel for the little one, and all the staff were friendly and helpful.

My only negative comment would be the staffing levels at breakfast - they seemed surprised that everyone squeaked into breakfast at the last possible moment the morning after a wedding that they were well aware was happening.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BunnyW44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,370)
There are newer reviews for Malmaison Newcastle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,878 - 1,884 of 2,371 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

I stayed on Saturday 29/9 with a friend and had this as a surprise for her birthday and it didn't disappoint. I had booked the 'Girls Night In' offer which for £148 was excellent value however, I have a feeling Claire the Reservations Manager may have upgraded our room as it was fabulous! If so thank you Claire!

Reception staff were very friendly and efficient, our room was available immediately. Well stocked minibar and nibbles however, we didnt require this as part of the offer included a bottle of wine, huge bar of chocolate, fresh nibbles (brought up to the room as a time which suited us) and breakfast the next morning. Room was furnished to high standard, nice view of the river, beds huge and comfortable - best nights sleep in ages. Breakfast was fab although after ordering toast and coffee we had to remind the staff when this was forgotten but apologies were given. Portions were great and this set me up for the rest of the day.

Malmaison is a great place to stay to explore Newcastle, although I live locally it was a great place to stay for a treat and enjoy the Quayside on a Sunday morning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Good location on quay side. About a 15minute walk to town or £5 in taxi if wearing heels. There are a few bars and restraunts around it. Stayed in a standard room which was nice but no view. Bed comfortable. Breakfast nice. Not a cheap hotel though. Car park just behind it and only £4 for the stay. There did seem to be a few parties staying but we didn't hear any late night or early morning noise at all. Used room service, nice food but a bit pricy for a sandwich. Nice toiletries and mini bar snacks.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marshyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed at Malmaison as part of our Mini moon after our wedding for 2 nights on the champagne deal.

Our room was lovely and spacious and had a great view of the Millenium Bridge etc. The bathroom was very small though not that luxurious really if you like having a bath when you are away. The shower was great though very hot and powerful.

Unfortunately works were being done at the hotel starting that day (typical) so there was a LOT of noise in our room. Thankfully we were out and about during the day but if we'd been camping out in our room we would have definitely had to move as it was constant.

On arrival we asked for breakfast for one morning only but on check out they tried to charge for two mornings so be mindful of your bill. The breakfast was tasty but if you are a fan of buffet breakfasts it's only the continental for that, you order a cooked one. There is a good coffee shop very close by if you walk along the river a bit if you don't fancy it and it's open early.

We parked in the car park across the road which was perfect and we could pay that as part of our bill as well which was perfect. It is £10 a day but very handy.

The location is great there's loads nearby and the city centre is not too far if you are ok walking. We would definitely go back but hopefully the works will be over!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Millenium Bridge and the higher the better as the views are fantastic...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Stayed at various Malmaisons up and down the UK and my favourites are Newcastle and Leeds. The decor is alway spot on and the lighting is cleverly done. The ffod is always good and the rooms a lovely with great bathroom and quirky layout. We had complimentary chockys and flowers and bubbly in our room and even got a free music CD to take home.

Room Tip: High floor for a quiet sleep
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuncanGass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Another excellent stop over at this , my favourite Newcastle hotel situated on the Quayside close to bars and restaurants the hotel has all the facilities you would want. A busy night as was the day of the GNR.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

I've stopped in this hotel many times and never been let down. The rooms are luxurious, the location is great, it is well worth the price.

The last few times I have had the larger rooms, with sofas and had views over the Tyne and of the Tyne Bridge...the best hotel in Newcastle town centre.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank txbxn81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,248 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#22 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,065 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,403 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#23 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,446 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Newcastle

Address: Newcastle Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £82 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fog on the Tyne? Let's hope not. Otherwise you'll miss the great view of the Tyne Bridge you get from our hotel in Newcastle city centre. But then, when you're staying at Malmaison Newcastle, it's the views on the inside that tell you your boat's come in. While you're right at the heart of Newcastle's great shops and exciting nightlife, the lure of MALBAR's legendary cocktails and the Mal Brasserie's classic dishes with a twist is pretty strong. And who wants to spend all night out on the town when one hotel in Newcastle has a whole floor with a shipbuilding theme and bathtubs you could sink a battleship in? It could only be the Newcastle Mal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing