We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mature couple”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Blyth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mature couple”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a dark, badly laid out, poor value for money hotel. Breakfast was poor, room lacked the vroom factor. Bar and dining room were extremely noisy. I would not recommend or stay in this hotel again, especially on a Saturday evening

The views of the river was the only plus side of the stay. The evening meal was extremely good but ruined by the rowdiness of many of the diners

John and Christine

Room Tip: Despite a allocated a room on the South side, 6 floor we were kept awake by guests shouting and bang...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    965
    734
    319
    129
    67
See reviews for
222
1,162
50
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

For a little birthday treat on a sunny spring evening, cocktails at the Malmaison bar seemed like a good idea... Wrong. Unfortunately, the bar is no longer a groovy oasis of calm 'down the Quayside' - last night half the bar was fenced off for a hen party - nothing wrong with that, but the general atmosphere, noise and loud crappy MOR rock music meant that the place felt and sounded just like any other noisy bar on a Saturday. Over £10 for each cocktail would be worth it, if the atmosphere and feel of the place had been right - sadly that wasn't the case. Shame, because the decor is still great, and the staff were also nice.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LittleRedWagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

stayed for one night only, but really enjoyed the business trip! Excellent location close to quay and city. huge room (was staying single), well equipped, with 2x tvs, sofa, living and sleeping area, coffee making facilities, ironing facilities..high standard en-suite. cannot remember what else..excellent bed and sleep quality, cleanlinesses and overall very good hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Konrad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinghorn, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This review is for 2 adults staying at the Mal for three nights from the 27th December-30th December. When arriving at the Mal the staff were very helpful and we were directed to our upgraded room. The room itself was stunning/ the view incredible and very clean throughout. The hotel itself sometimes is too dark and in need of several repairs and refurbishment. These repairs could be done and it would just lift the hotel to the next level. We never dined in the restaurant so cannot comment on the food. Breakfast was wonderful with a great choice and great attentive service. Also the room service was great we opted for two toasties which were delivered promptly and tasted lovely. Additionally, the concierge service was also top notch and was on hand if you needed anything such as ordering taxi's etc. The only negative points I can think of was one rude member of staff on reception/ the hotel in need of a 'face lift' so to speak and the check out day. When checking out it became apparent I had been overcharged by a total of £30. I had been charged twice for certain items on the bill. When explaining to management my issues they were very un helpful and asked on several occasions "Are you sure these don't add up". & stated that they were probably soft drinks or other items of food which they were not. This event lasted about 30 minutes were finally I was given the refund but was a sad way to end a lovely stay and even resulted in an argument between myself and my partner. Overall, a wonderful stay with a beautiful room/amazing view just let down on one occasion.

Room Tip: Our room was 507 and the view was incredible! Ask for 503!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

First visit to Newcastle and couldn't of had a more friendly welcome from the girls on the front desk. I am already a fan of Malmaison but these girls win top prize for the best front of house! Looking forward to my stay thank you Lindsay & Natalie!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north shields
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

My wife booked this hotel as a surprise for me for my 50th birthday. The level of service you receive can only be described as exceptional, from booking in at reception and throughout our stay, the professionalism and friendliness of all staff just has to be admired.
When they knew it was my birthday, they even sent a card up to the room with "happy birthday from all at the mal", lovely personal touch.
The views from the rooms are breathtaking and the meals are exquisite. If you're visiting Newcastle on business or just for a leisure break, dont even think of staying anywhere else except here....you wont be disappointed.


Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank robbo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Malmaison, Newcastle with my boyfriend at the beginning of April and we could not have been happier with our stay. The hotel is beautifully decorated, with big comfy beds and a range of facilities. We were greeted by friendly and helpful staff who immediately made us feel welcome. Our room was very spacious with great facilities, but what we were most impressed with was the incredible view of the River Tyne. We stopped by the bar for some drinks and were again met with friendly and helpful staff. We will most certainly be coming back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#30 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#3 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Newcastle

Property: Malmaison Newcastle
Address: Newcastle Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fog on the Tyne? Let's hope not. Otherwise you'll miss the great view of the Tyne Bridge you get from our hotel in Newcastle city centre. But then, when you're staying at Malmaison Newcastle, it's the views on the inside that tell you your boat's come in. While you're right at the heart of Newcastle's great shops and exciting nightlife, the lure of MALBAR's legendary cocktails and the Mal Brasserie's classic dishes with a twist is pretty strong. And who wants to spend all night out on the town when one hotel in Newcastle has a whole floor with a shipbuilding theme and bathtubs you could sink a battleship in? It could only be the Newcastle Mal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing