We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday night in Newcastle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malmaison Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I booked on a dinner bed and breakfast deal, which for £135 was excellent value for money. I had a corner room on the second floor which was very large. The bathroom was small, but lovely and immaculately clean. Dinner was delicious. Breakfast was a feast - don't miss it.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 111Traveller111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,709 - 1,715 of 2,567 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

Great location, lovely friendly check-in. Probs occurred with room 3 long hairs found around bath, shampoo & shower gel that were half used and obviously so! Bar service was atrocious lacklustre staff no friendly welcome. Service slow and couldn't be bothered to clear glasses & wipe table from previous customers. Disappointing as have stayed in a number of different Malmaisons but this first time stay at the Newcastle branch was not up to the same standard

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo_999000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed here for work and was completely blown away by how fantastic the whole experience was. At reception the staff were nice and friendly. My room was fantastic nice big comfortable lovely view of the millennium bridge. The card in my room welcoming me personally with the offer of a free drink in the hotel bar was a lovely welcoming touch after my long travel.
I enjoyed room service which I must say was cooked to perfection and came promptly. I genuinely enjoyed my stay so much took the time to fill in the comments card before leaving. However I didn't think my stay could have got any better until I went down to breakfast which was exquisite, I had the waffles for breakfast a treat I wouldn't normally have and I must say they were beautiful.
I arrived at my meeting that day well rested and very happy, all thanks to your wonderful hotel

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 27th April on the Sunday night stopover deal and chose to upgrade our room to a junior suit. When we arrived in our room it was well presented and very clean well worth the upgrade. We also ate in the hotel and could not fault the service or the quality of the food. The staff were very friendly and helpful, we also got a glass of fizz as a gift from the hotel as it was the first night of our honeymoon. We had a couple of cocktails in the bar after our food it was a lovely atmosphere and we're happy to make anything we asked for. Would definitely stop here again and with the Deal it's silly not to upgrade!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sinead L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a dark, badly laid out, poor value for money hotel. Breakfast was poor, room lacked the vroom factor. Bar and dining room were extremely noisy. I would not recommend or stay in this hotel again, especially on a Saturday evening

The views of the river was the only plus side of the stay. The evening meal was extremely good but ruined by the rowdiness of many of the diners

John and Christine

Room Tip: Despite a allocated a room on the South side, 6 floor we were kept awake by guests shouting and bang...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

For a little birthday treat on a sunny spring evening, cocktails at the Malmaison bar seemed like a good idea... Wrong. Unfortunately, the bar is no longer a groovy oasis of calm 'down the Quayside' - last night half the bar was fenced off for a hen party - nothing wrong with that, but the general atmosphere, noise and loud crappy MOR rock music meant that the place felt and sounded just like any other noisy bar on a Saturday. Over £10 for each cocktail would be worth it, if the atmosphere and feel of the place had been right - sadly that wasn't the case. Shame, because the decor is still great, and the staff were also nice.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank LittleRedWagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

stayed for one night only, but really enjoyed the business trip! Excellent location close to quay and city. huge room (was staying single), well equipped, with 2x tvs, sofa, living and sleeping area, coffee making facilities, ironing facilities..high standard en-suite. cannot remember what else..excellent bed and sleep quality, cleanlinesses and overall very good hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Konrad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,349 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#21 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,187 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#24 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,440 reviews
2 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,203 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#11 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Newcastle

Address: 104 Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £80 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fog on the Tyne? Let's hope not. Otherwise you'll miss the great view of the Tyne Bridge you get from our hotel in Newcastle city centre. But then, when you're staying at Malmaison Newcastle, it's the views on the inside that tell you your boat's come in. While you're right at the heart of Newcastle's great shops and exciting nightlife, the lure of MALBAR's legendary cocktails and the Mal Brasserie's classic dishes with a twist is pretty strong. And who wants to spend all night out on the town when one hotel in Newcastle has a whole floor with a shipbuilding theme and bathtubs you could sink a battleship in? It could only be the Newcastle Mal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Malmaison Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing