We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good amenities” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malmaison Newcastle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good amenities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel. Good decor. A bit dark. Mattress was a bit too firm for us. The bath was hard to get in and out of and the toilet was in a awkward spot next to the sink. Not great for elderly or chubby people. On the plus side, the standard double we stayed in had an ironing board and iron. The room itself was spacious and the location was great.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amrita100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    905
    708
    313
    125
    67
See reviews for
207
1,114
48
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here the night before my birthday for a spa break. I could not fault it one single bit. It's beautifully decorated and the staff are so friendly and welcoming. The spa is amazing I left feeling really relaxed and pampered the staff were really attentive and took hood care of me regarding a medical issue I informed them about. We opted to have our continental breakfast in our room and it was delivered promptly at the time we chose and the ingredients were so unbelievably fresh.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MrsJ1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

My husband and I live about 15 miles out of Newcastle so it is often more convenient and cost effective to stay in the city. Whenever we do, we stay at the Mal because it's so convenient for going out in town and very reasonable. It's also lovely to come back to a little bit of luxury and enjoy a lie-in and a yummy breakfast without the kids!

A week later I also stayed there again with my best mate - we got a great deal for cocktail, dinner and bed and breakfast. It has definitely become our regular for nights out in the city! Lovely service, delicious food and some great deals to be had.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on business. Room was a great size, excellent views. Reception went out of their way to accommodate my room request away from main road. Unlike other hotels, I had a good night sleep, comfy bed, nice bathroom etc.

Breakfast included in rate and very nice/civilised unlike some chain breakfasts.

It's definitely not the same as a premier inn or travelodge as others have said.

Would stay here again for business and great location.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ScaryMaryUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We have to admit that we took a gamble in the first place going to this hotel. Its no spring chicken any more and reading some of the reviews we were undecided.
Interestingly when you try to book on line there is no option for adding any children onto your reservation. Sadly we went for the gamble.
First impressions very poor if you are using the nominated car park to the rear of the hotel. You arrive at a dirty rear entrance with little signage in a very dark area. Check in ok ish.
Room looked like a throw back to the 90,s with a view of a nearby office.
Bar service non existent--walked out after waiting 20 mins to be served.

All in all this hotel does not do what it says on the tin--we were not expecting a Ritz Carlton but on the other hand were not expecting to stay at Travelodge level and that's what you sadly get here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank connorhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights while we were visiting for a friend's birthday. While we were checking in we were having a disagreement about when a local restaurant had opened; having both lived in Newcastle for 6 and 5 years respectively we asked the receptionist to settle our dispute, at which point her Geordie accent completely disappeared and became fairly southern! Extremely bizarre. Not sure which accent was her actual one, but pretty strange nonetheless. The stay itself was absolutely fine, more than appreciated the on site Starbucks in the morning! Didn't eat in the restaurant or have room service, however the mini bar and accompaniments were more than adequate for what we needed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MihasX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were two friends on a weekend trip to Newcastle. We both like the style of the Malmaison chain and thought the location of this one was just perfect for a short city break. It is right on the quayside, opposite the wonderful millennium bridge and the Baltic gallery on the opposite bank of the Tyne. Our room was on the fourth floor, directly facing the river, with a great view of the winking bridge changing colour at night. The room was large and the beds were luxuriously comfortable.

I have three small gripes, which stopped the score being an 'excellent': firstly, it was a twin room, but there was room on the towel rail for only one set of towels, secondly, it was very hard to get the water temperature in the shower right and thirdly, there were no bathrobes in the room (or if there were, they escaped my notice). These are small things, which did not impact adversely on our overall experience. The welcome was warm, the reception staff unfailingly helpful and the bar was buzzing.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river have great views, but can be a bit noisy on a weekend night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiavelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#32 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#3 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Newcastle

Property: Malmaison Newcastle
Address: Newcastle Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fog on the Tyne? Let's hope not. Otherwise you'll miss the great view of the Tyne Bridge you get from our hotel in Newcastle city centre. But then, when you're staying at Malmaison Newcastle, it's the views on the inside that tell you your boat's come in. While you're right at the heart of Newcastle's great shops and exciting nightlife, the lure of MALBAR's legendary cocktails and the Mal Brasserie's classic dishes with a twist is pretty strong. And who wants to spend all night out on the town when one hotel in Newcastle has a whole floor with a shipbuilding theme and bathtubs you could sink a battleship in? It could only be the Newcastle Mal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malmaison Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing