We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pristine Birthday Meal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Pristine Birthday Meal”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Had a great evening meal late on a Sunday night for my friends birthday. Food was exceptional (brilliant steak) and service was top quality, very polite and trained to the highest of standards and our host Laura Marie had a great sense of "connecting with the customer" too. Cocktail menu and shots were great. Definitely would recommend! Such a classy place to eat. Facilities such as the toilets were tip top and parking was easily accessed on the quayside too. Thanks Malmaison!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    931
    719
    315
    128
    67
See reviews for
215
1,133
48
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stokesley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed at this Hotel last weekend as we had a party locally on the Saturday night .The welcome was warm and helpful and the room we had was excellent. Our only eating experience was Breakfast on the Sunday morning and it was first class. The service was outstanding which is an experience not very much enjoyed in many establishments these days. The staff were very attentive and observant so you lacked nothing during the service, and the selection from the menu was very good with a wide range of dishes in addition to the "Full English"such as Eggs Benedict.
Departure was well handled well even though it was very busy. I really struggle with the other reviews that have been published as that was nowhere near our experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here for a family trip back to Newcastle with my 15 month old little girl. The reception staff have no idea, always lots of waiting around, no interest in your comfort or welfare. Room service is impossible to reach by phone and then takes an age to arrive. The worst aspect was my little girl being accidentally served a very, very hot and spicy pasta sauce instead of the requested plain tomato sauce and pasta. This was a dangerous mistake to make, luckily my daughter spat the food out, thank goodness she didn't have an allergic reaction. I tasted the food to see what wrong and it had so much chilli in it was foul and inedible. This was met with a very weak response of discounting our desserts (from an already discounted offer) we then had to wait 2 hours in our room for more food for my daughter which arrived stone cold. The rooms haven't been refurbished since the hotel opened 15 years ago and this really shows now. Dated, shabby, uncomfortable beds, far too dark in reception. Not remotely people-oeriented service never mind family oriented. This place needs serious training and investment to improve it. Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Whilst the first drink at the bar was good, dinner and last drink were awful. It's the second time I have dinner at a Malmaison, and shall not be caught a third time. The food was bland and overcooked, the waiters did the bare minimums. I ha to turn away my second course (lamb cutlets) as it was dry when I requested pink, and the second time it was raw. Bad attention to detail and expensive.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Horacio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My wife retired yesterday and had an evening of celebration planned in Newcastle, as a result, to extend the celebration, I booked a room at Malmaison Newcastle. I read the reports and considered The Jury's Inn on the other side of the river, but opted for a Superior Room with a bridge view.

The hotel is very purple, very dark, very gothic, but different to the clinical one night hotels. The room was large, with a corner room we had a view of the Millennium Bridge and down river.

The room was very nice, not glitzy, lean, not sparkling, a little tired, but do you know what? It was nice, the bed was big, comfortable with very crisp cotton linen. A bottle of fizz to the room and our stay was very good indeed.

The riverside area is very lively, but the hotel appears very calm. I would go back, it is a little more expensive, but it is a little different. £129 for room, £4 overnight parking and £5.50 for a can of G&T from the mini bar.

Room Tip: the bridge view is worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Another wonderful stay at Malmaison Newcastle. We have stayed here many times and again this time it did not disappoint. Even better as we were upgraded to a lovely suite with a sitting area and two TV's! Thank you Malmaison, we will be back!

K & M Baker - Yarm

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAREN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Average hotel for the price, but as it was central, very well placed. The decor is horrible depressingly dark purple, and the French language lifts about as discordantly pretentious as it gets. Staff very attentive, but £26 for two glasses of wine? RIP OFF. I shall return to the Stalbridge suites that have better rooms, a short distance away, and not patronise this place again.

Room Tip: Use Stalbridge Suites, very near and better sized rooms, with no rip off charges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pjtbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#10 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,084 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
916 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#29 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,319 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
461 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#3 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Newcastle

Property: Malmaison Newcastle
Address: Newcastle Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fog on the Tyne? Let's hope not. Otherwise you'll miss the great view of the Tyne Bridge you get from our hotel in Newcastle city centre. But then, when you're staying at Malmaison Newcastle, it's the views on the inside that tell you your boat's come in. While you're right at the heart of Newcastle's great shops and exciting nightlife, the lure of MALBAR's legendary cocktails and the Mal Brasserie's classic dishes with a twist is pretty strong. And who wants to spend all night out on the town when one hotel in Newcastle has a whole floor with a shipbuilding theme and bathtubs you could sink a battleship in? It could only be the Newcastle Mal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing