We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding night let down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Malmaison Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wedding night let down”
Reviewed 9 March 2010

We spent our wedding night in one of the suites, room was great & and initially the service was second to none. We eagerly awaited the champagne breakfast included in our package the following morning but it never arrived. My husband went down to reception to ask them what was happening, only to be told we should have ordered the breakfast the night before. When we checked out, I spoke to the manager, who apologised profusely, admitted it was the fault of the hotel and the price of the breakfast was taken off our bill. We didn't want to make a big deal out of it, but it's really not good enough considering the occasion and the price. Despite this, I'd probably go back if there was a good offer on...

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NinaD78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    991
    744
    324
    129
    68
See reviews for
227
1,186
52
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2010

Stayed one night on a Red magazine promotion. Staff very welcoming and the room, food and location were really good. The Millenium Bridge, in front of the hotel is impressive and Newcastle has some really intersting buildings and galleries and many resauarants and bars. Would recommend the hotel and the city for a weekend break.

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Froggetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Booked for my wifes birthday treat this hotel turned out to be anything but.
Asked to ring us the daybefore so i could book us a spa treatments, never did and spa fully booked for the two day we were in newcastle.
The breakfast was even worse. No croissant or pastries at all. waited almost 30 mins after we ordered before anything turned up. Had to ask twice for tea and coffee as did the people next to us. when we did finally get our food it was tepid and unpleasent.
The staff were ok, but more interested in chatting than serving customers.
In our room the air con unit was right above the bed. So when ever it turned on it blased you with cold air and then took 20 mins to very noisily turn off and slow down.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2009

Room was clean, but radiator broken, draft coming through windows. Woken up at 5:30am in the morning with someone emptying bottles. Facilities in rooms limited The food in restaurant was awful..

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadgeBurnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2009

We only stayed for one night but this has always been my favourite Malmaison - great building, great location. We did have a suite which was very nice and seemed quite newly decorated. It smelt lovely when we walked in. A bit disappointed we didn't have a better view - we looked away from the Tyne Bridge overlooking office blocks but I suppose someone has to.

I love the dark decor and odd-shaped seats but I suspect it may not be to everyone's liking. All the gadgets in the room worked and there was a lovely chaise-longue. My only quibble is that all the beds in this chain are far too hard for me and I never sleep very well on them. A soft pillow-top to the mattress would be great!

The service at reception seemed fine -not much waiting and everyone was friendly. The car parking was easy to access and very close by and not too bad at £4 a day. There was a wait for breakfast though - no tables at 9.30 on a Sunday and we wish we'd been told it gets busy (it obviously always does as they have tea and coffee set up in the bar while you wait) - if we had known we would have ordered room service. Oh and we wanted a drink when got back in the evening and the bar was full - so we took our drinks to our room.

But all in all much better than other Malmaison's and Hotel du Vin's we've been to recently.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magda70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

I booked this hotel for myself and 9 friends on the Girls Night In package. It was £99 per person for bed and breakfast, a spa treatment, a bottle of wine per room and "mal munchies" in the room in the evening.

When we arrived my room had been upgraded and all others have a wonderful view of the Tyne and the Millenium Bridge and we were all impressed.

The staff were extremely accommodating, the spa treatment was lovely (altho the spa facility is small) and the rooms were all spacious and comfortable.

Despite the fact we were a little on the loud side (I was celebrating my 40th Birthday) the hotel were understanding and tolerant and nothing was a problem or hassle to them and I was very grateful.

I would definately return to the hotel especially on this package as it was such good value for money but would also come here again with my partner as I feel the hotel has a lot to offer in terms of facilities and location.

Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Silver69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

Stayed here for one night. Just very disappointed, expected this hotel to be special, but it just felt like being in an old worn out nightclub. £145 for the room for 1 night, no breakfast included, not even a biscuit to go with the complimentary tea/coffe. The whole place was very darkly lit, it felt like there was something to hide.....shabby paintwork & dust. It was as if maybe this was the place to be at one time but sadly it's gone off the boil. On the plus side, the room was fine & the bathroom was very nice, lots of hot water & fluffy towels.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toffeecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,148 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,046 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#28 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,355 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
477 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Newcastle

Property: Malmaison Newcastle
Address: Newcastle Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fog on the Tyne? Let's hope not. Otherwise you'll miss the great view of the Tyne Bridge you get from our hotel in Newcastle city centre. But then, when you're staying at Malmaison Newcastle, it's the views on the inside that tell you your boat's come in. While you're right at the heart of Newcastle's great shops and exciting nightlife, the lure of MALBAR's legendary cocktails and the Mal Brasserie's classic dishes with a twist is pretty strong. And who wants to spend all night out on the town when one hotel in Newcastle has a whole floor with a shipbuilding theme and bathtubs you could sink a battleship in? It could only be the Newcastle Mal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing