We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent, but you can do better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clifton House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newcastle upon Tyne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clifton House Hotel
London, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Decent, but you can do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Friendly enough staff and hosts.
The location is in a sort of sketchy neighbourhood.
The Lobby and restaurant are really nice but the rooms don't match thatm -- pretty plain Jane.
The TV channels are poor.
If you're looking for Wi-Fi, forget it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRAIG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    25
    5
    4
    9
See reviews for
20
19
20
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Never written a review for a hotel before but this is the worst place I've had the displeasure of staying. The couple who run the hotel are the rudest people I have ever met. After finding hairs in our breakfast, and notifying the staff, we were accused of putting our own hair in the food in order to make a complaint. At which point we were told to leave the hotel. Think these people have serious mental health issues. Bad hotel, bad room and bathroom, and even worse staff and food. Trust me, do not visit this hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gen_Man_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pasqualina, Owner at Clifton House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
We would like to make it clear Clifton House Hotel does not accept male or female groups whose behaviour is rude aggressive and inconsiderate as a result of excessive drinking which is the case with these guests.
These guests ,when placing their booking , chose to ignore our policy that we do not accept 'party night ' bookings . As a result of their totally unacceptable behaviour they were not allowed to complete their stay at Clifton House , the removal of these guests has resulted in a verbally vicious review,however, we will not tolerate disturbance to our guests who have come to relax in this very peaceful and elegant hotel. Be assured that majority of reviews have given a truthful reflection of their stay at Clifton House Hotel supported by an' Award for Excellence ' from Trip Advisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
126 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed here for four days over the Easter weekend. Our en-suite room was spacious, comfortable and reasonably-priced and the decor throughout was elegant with a pleasant bar downstairs. The owners were very friendly and helpful and there was plenty of parking. We would have liked to have been a little nearer to the city centre - a good half hour's walk - but buses were convenient and taxi journeys about £5. Breakfast was good but not outstanding. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueBrStoke_on_Trent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wymondham UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

I spent 3 nights in the Clifton House Hotel and for me it was absolute bliss. I traveled to Newcastle to spend a few days with my Uni daughter before bringing her home for Easter. I mirror all the other good reviews. My room was a single with a shared bathroom. They were both spotless,the bed was so comfortable, I had no problem with the shared bathroom it was free whenever I went to use it, the shower was lovely. The breakfast was wonderful, cooked to perfection, the staff were all so polite, professional and helpful. The decor in the hotel was beautiful with lovely homely touches. The garden looked pretty and cared for.As I don't get the opportunity to have many breaks this was so therapeutic for me in every way, I felt looked after by the owner and staff. The owner Katerina was so friendly and helpful. It was a lovely base to explore Newcastle from and I had some lovely days out with my daughter. The town is very easy to get to from the hotel. I hope to return soon as this is a very special little part of the world to me now.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseWymondhamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Lincolnshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We are a young couple who stayed here for 2 nights in February. We booked on hotels.com and included a note that we would be bringing our 1 year old so would require space in the room for his travel cot. On arrival we were told that we has been upgraded to a room with an en suite- free of charge! This was a very welcome suprise and was much appreciated. We had a sneak peak at the shared facilities anyway and they looked lovely- a room with a bath and a room with a shower- both very spacious. The ensuite itself was also gorgeous. The room was stunning with lovely bedding and soft comfy matresses.

The owners went out of their way to help us, as did the staff. The staff even offered to warm up our sons milk for his cereals! Catrina (the owner) also very thoughtfully placed books and toys on a high chair for our son to play with whilst eating breakfast- these little things really made us feel welcome.Breakfast was delicious and there was plenty to eat. In the evenings we got a glass of wine and a beer from the small bar in the hotel. The prices were extremely reasonable- we paid £5 for a pint of beer and a glass of wine which I feel was very cheap. On the second night the owner even said that we could take our drinks up to our room if we wanted to so that we could put our son to bed.

Such a great stay, and totally love this place. Cannot wait to return again soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annam_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Only in Newcastle for a funeral, so not looking for anything special, but this place is special. Not least the wonderfully personal decorative touches. Don't be put off by the otherwise suburban looking street, it's within walking distance of the town centre.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed here for two nights and were very happy with the hotel. The owner gave us a free upgrade from a shared bathroom room to a private room - which was a great welcome gift! She also gave us a map, showing us the main sites and the public transportation options. She also gave us a great tip for dinner (Komal Resturant). The centre of the city was easily reached by bus in around 10 minutes and the bus stop itself is a short 5 minute walk from the hotel, on a street that is well lit. Breakfast was served in the beautiful dinning room and was absolutely delicious and very filling.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traversethesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel
BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel
#40 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#24 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#22 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#23 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton House Hotel

Property: Clifton House Hotel
Address: 46 Clifton Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 6XH, England (Formerly Chirton House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Clifton Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing