We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newcastle upon Tyne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clifton House Hotel
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I was made so welcome my Son & his Girlfriend stayed there too, we all had come up for a hospital visit, the rooms are lovely clean and very warm just what you need on a cold winter stay in January. The breakfast was very nice saying I'm not really a full-English breakfast person. Caterina is just so helpful and friendly lovely lady. Should we ever have to come again I most certainly would stay there again

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 479RMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    25
    5
    4
    9
See reviews for
20
19
20
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This was our 2nd time staying here and already booked in for this November. There was 3 of us in the party and like the last time we can not fault this hotel the owners are so lovely and make you feel so welcome and at home. We love our breakfast so look forward to it in the morning sets us out for our Christmas Shopping Trip at the Metro. Also this so central for the Metro centre and for Newcastle Town Centre. There's only 1 thing for you to do is stay here and you won't disappointed

Room Tip: We had a room at the top of the Hotel and the view was lovely over Newcastle
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caz1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Lovely place, with a great hostess. A ~5 pound taxi ride from the main station. Huge Victoria building, and absolutely immaculate.

Breakfast was the full works - bacon, sausage, hash brown, beans, mushrooms, tomato, cafetiere coffee with jugs of cream or milk + all the usual continental stuff. All high quality stuff as well. About as good as breakfasts come.

I would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WayfaringVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
189 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I have to write a second review because in my opinion, this hotel is the best in Newcastle.
If youre looking for a home from home, quiet, comfy and clean place to stay then look no further. Its out of town, no nightlife, no noise, great transport locally too.

Caterina is always welcoming, I always feel like Im coming home. She makes a fantastic breakfast and is flexible on arrival and departure times to accommodate her guests.
The rooms are not modern but are clean, have everything you need and having stayed a number of times now, all the beds ive slept in have been very comfortable.

For the price and standard of service offered this hotel is ahead of the game

Room Tip: I havce slept in three rooms now and all have been lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MossyCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

hello
stayed 30 nov to 02 dec,nice warm & friendly hotel ,just what you want at this time of year with a verry good breakfast selection, a little far to walk into town in the cold weather but there are plenty of busses nearby and in summertime it would be fine to walk,however there is not much in the way of night life or resturants in the imediate area but still a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CardiffMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
workington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Ive stayed at the Clifton House quite a few times now over the past few years,and i have never been let down.The owners and staff are all very welcoming and friendly.
The breakfasts are good with plenty of choice of cereals ,fruit ,and the full english.
The rooms are a tad dated but they are clean ,and the beds are comfy.
Alli in all if youre looking for a good breakfast,clean room,and friendly hosts then look no further

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andnot123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We first stayed at Clifton House Hotel in 2004 and were very pleased with our stay that we have kept going back. The staff are very welcoming and our room comfortable and clean. The breakfast was excellent with a wide range of choice. Perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allanandann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Ryokan Hotel
Best Western Ryokan Hotel
#41 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#27 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#32 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clifton Mount Hotel
Clifton Mount Hotel
#14 of 27 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bentley's Hotel
Bentley's Hotel
#14 of 23 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton House Hotel

Property: Clifton House Hotel
Address: 46 Clifton Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 6XH, England (Formerly Chirton House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Clifton Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing