We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short stay recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clifton House Hotel
Reviewed 26 September 2008

A stay of a night or two would be fine but I was there 6 nights (with relatives) visiting a patient in the nearby Newcastle General Hospital. Getting clean towels was a problem as we had to change rooms a couple of times and dropping them on the floor didn't work. They were folded and put back. Toilet paper was also strictly rationed. I kid you not. We had to share a triple room for two nights - not the hotels fault - they were fitting us in where they could but a change of sheets when the person in the single bed changed would have been nice. Just a lack of consideration/thought.
The shower in room 11 needs the drain to be unblocked as it doesn't drain away very well. Not very nice when three people are sharing a room.
Place was clean and the breakfast room was lovely. A change from the nice but repetitive full English breakfast would have been welcomed over that length of time. There are no phones in the rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hjlj940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Clifton House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2008

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Pedal-to-the-sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2008

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saltashcornishmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2008

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SchumacherUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2007

Stayed: November 2007
4  Thank andnot123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2006

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Freischutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haribo1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Ryokan Hotel
Best Western Ryokan Hotel
#39 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
111 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#10 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
529 reviews
2.1 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#49 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#73 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
145 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Gibside Hotel
Best Western Gibside Hotel
#35 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
267 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rosebery Hotel Jesmond
Rosebery Hotel Jesmond
#32 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton House Hotel

Address: 46 Clifton Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 6XH, England (Formerly Chirton House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £50 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Clifton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing