We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clifton House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newcastle upon Tyne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clifton House Hotel
Stevenage
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2009

Lovely family run hotel in a quiet location with good parking and easy access to the city centre by bus or taxi. Good selection of books and tourist information leaflets.
Excellent cooked breakfast and friendly staff. A bar if you fancy a nightcap.

Great for couples / friends or families. The only thing we could fault was the slow shower. A real gem. We would definitely use this hotel if we go back to Newcastle!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoupleMandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    25
    5
    4
    9
See reviews for
20
19
20
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SaarPfalz-Kreis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2008

Clifton House is a large Victorian property in Grainger Park. It provided all that we wanted - a comfortable room, attentive and friendly service from the proprietor and her staff, and a good cooked breakfast. Guests leaving before normal breakfast-time
are served friendly.
The room is bright and clean, fresh towels dayly.
The first time in Newcastle the owners gave us a lot of helpful
information and tips for sight-seeing etc.
Next time in Newcastle we'll stay at Clifton House Hotel again.

  • Liked — friendly, nice people
  • Disliked — ??
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tohuwabohu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdeburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2008

I arrived at Clifton House Hotel in order to attend a conference an to spend a couple of days of leisure as well. The owners and staff are the most friendly people you can wish to have. I always had the feeling I could come up with any problem I had (day- & nighttime) and I had a few of my own making (being foreign to the place and all). The rooms were tidy, the towels clean. Breakfast was superb with lots of choices (though it was the full English for me, mind). The premise itself is situated in really a quiet part of town, ideally suited for families as well. Clifton House itself is a beautiful place and one can clearly see it is looked after indeed. In short, I had a wonderful stay amongst the most friendly people I came accross in England (that applies to the whole of Newcastle) and a Hotel that includes everything you could wish for and more (I was even phoned on my international phone number by the owner when I arrived at Newcastle Airport and given directions as to how to get to the place!). I highly recommend the place and am looking forward to return next time I am in town.

  • Liked — friendliness of owner and staff
  • Disliked — no idea
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Team_Geordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2008

A stay of a night or two would be fine but I was there 6 nights (with relatives) visiting a patient in the nearby Newcastle General Hospital. Getting clean towels was a problem as we had to change rooms a couple of times and dropping them on the floor didn't work. They were folded and put back. Toilet paper was also strictly rationed. I kid you not. We had to share a triple room for two nights - not the hotels fault - they were fitting us in where they could but a change of sheets when the person in the single bed changed would have been nice. Just a lack of consideration/thought.
The shower in room 11 needs the drain to be unblocked as it doesn't drain away very well. Not very nice when three people are sharing a room.
Place was clean and the breakfast room was lovely. A change from the nice but repetitive full English breakfast would have been welcomed over that length of time. There are no phones in the rooms.

  • Liked — near the hospital we were visiting
  • Disliked — not enough clean towels
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjlj940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel
BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel
#40 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#24 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#22 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#23 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton House Hotel

Property: Clifton House Hotel
Address: 46 Clifton Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 6XH, England (Formerly Chirton House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Clifton Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing