We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent food,service and value for money”

Portofinos Restaurant
Ranked #130 of 1,326 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$42
Cuisines: Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 5 October 2011

we have been going to Portofinos a couple of times a month for years.The latest building is lovely and we have never had cause for complaint.The food is always tasty and cooked perfectly.Wine ,food nice surroundings what more can you want.Try it !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portofinos, Manager at Portofinos Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2011

Thank you for your review. Glad to hear that we continue to please our valued and long standing
customers. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

798 - 802 of 808 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2011

The restaurant is situated on the corner of Dean street and Mosley street which is the gateway to the keyside or the centre of the city. I have passed it thousand of times being a Newcastle taxi driver and athough it has been recomended plenty of times in the past by people I pick up this was the first time I and my wife have been inside. I was realy suprised by the decor, the high arched celing all covered with oldie word tiles. The staff were very friendly and as we were on our way to the theatre with not much time to spare we encounted realy good sevice. I had a calzone pizza which was a real treat and my wife ordered chicken brest and bacon with sauce with potao skins starter. Our meals were great .
This is the first time I have personly recomended a restaurant but when the food is good and the service good and the price does not mean a bank loan it has my vote.
J. henry

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portofinos, Manager at Portofinos Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2011

Many thanks for your very kind review. Good to know that you have finally had time to give us a
try, we hope to always give value for money. there are many restaurants to choose from in Newcastle so every customer feedback is very welcome.
We are very fortunate to run our business in such a beautiful building.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Portofino is a long established italian restuarant in Newcastle. The current premises in a victorian era tiled and vaulted ex insurance office offer interesting surroundings .At lunchtime this was a little cold but I'm sure it warms up by evening service.
Lunch was two courses for £6-95.I had carrot and coriander soup..hot,well flavoured and not too gloopy and accompanied by a delicious warm fresh homemade roll.My Pizza Portofino was well scattered with olives, anchovies and courgettes and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Coffee was offered for an additional 50p and was also served hot.The white wine was very acceptable and I would certainly return.We was not robbed!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 3GOWplus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portofinos, Manager at Portofinos Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2011

Thank you for your review good to know that you enjoyed your lunch with us
We are very lucky to have such lovely premises, and yes it does warm up in the
evenings. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Lovely food, great wine, impecable service, good atmosphere, the babble of conversation and unique decor, what more could you want, oh, not overpriced.
I am lucky enough to visit this resturant every month and would recommend a visit to anyone who enjoys a meal out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MsCHDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portofinos, Manager at Portofinos Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2011

Thankyou so much for taking the time to leave your revue. so pleased you enjoyed your visit.
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portofinos Restaurant also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Portofinos Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing