We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, friendly staff”

Portofinos Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Visiting Newcastle on vacation, was ready for something other than pub food and took the family (6 of us) to Portofino for dinner. The restaurant is in old building with quite interesting architecture, and has a unique look and feel. We ordered a variety of foods from pizza to spaghetti to steak, and everyone seemed to thoroughly enjoy their meals. I had the chicken and spaghetti with spicy sauce and it was delicious. Our waiter was friendly and helpful; we didnt feel rushed, but got attention when we needed it. In all, I'd say it was a pretty perfect evening. Yes, I'd definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portofinos, Manager at Portofinos Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Hi

Thanks for your review and I hope you will return to us next time you are in Newcastle!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

565 - 569 of 771 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We ordered the garlic mushrooms which are described as deep fried and then done in garlic butter ! How many times??? So overcooked but dreadfully greasy at the same time ! Not pleasant at all . Then we had spaghetti carbonara which also had an awful greasy feel to it and felt quite sluggish to eat . We won't be returning to this place which is a shame because the building itself is so beautiful being listed and so looked forward to the visit especially with it being family run .However extremely disappointing .

Thank maria o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portofinos, Manager at Portofinos Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Hi Maria

Sorry you did not enjoy your food, our garlic mushrooms are first deep fried to crisp the breadcrumbs, and then they are sautéed in garlic butter. This is only done once, however it sounds like your portion may have been left in the fryer for too long. I've passed your comments on to the chefs and they will be keeping a closer eye on their cooking times.

Hope you will try us again in the future regardless of this bad experience

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were a party of 14 in a busy Saturday night. The service was very attentive , the food was excellent, portion size was good and value for money xx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portofinos, Owner at Portofinos Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for your review so pleased that you had a good evening and hope to see you again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I love this restaurant, it's always such a friendly place to eat with friends & family. Everyone makes you welcome from the minute you step inside. Food always very very good, I have been here loads of times and never had a meal that wasn't really tasty . Happy hour until 6 or 7 so great after you have been/ going to the theatre as only minutes away. Give it a go, you won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Mary182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portofinos, Owner at Portofinos Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

thank you for your review hope to see you again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Pre-booked for the evening Happy Hour. Lovely décor, pleasant and friendly staff, efficient service, good food of very fair portions, not the 'happy hour' amounts served by some places, and a very nice bottle of house red wine. Would have no hesitation in returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank YorkyWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portofinos, Owner at Portofinos Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you so much for your review..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portofinos Restaurant also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Portofinos Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing