We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lots to do!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Life Science Centre

Life Science Centre
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: For a great day out in Newcastle upon Tyne, look no further than the Life Science Centre with exhibitions, events, theatre shows and the biggest planetarium in the North of England! We’re an award-winning Science Centre full of exciting exhibitions, activities and events for all ages. Our programme changes regularly so there’s always a new reason to visit. And remember - everything is included in the price of admission.Life is an educational charity; we do not receive public funding. All money raised from ticket prices helps us achieve our charitable objectives - to get people of all ages switched on to science and to raise standards in science education. We couldn't do this without your support, so THANK YOU.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lots to do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2016

Brilliant interactive science centre with loads to interest kids of all ages, including a 4D cinema experience and a planetarium presentation. Very reasonably priced with lots included in the cost. The cafeteria was clean, efficient and good value. Lockers available for coats, etc which is a real bonus. Could quite easily spend a day here, or pop out for some retail therapy, then pop back (tickets valid for whole day). Just a hop, skip and a jump from the train station. Thoroughly recommend.

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank TeeJay2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    239
    110
    71
    57
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

My kids love this place so much. Plenty to do for children (and adults) of all ages. There is a picnic area for packed lunches in the basement and a massive soft play/creative area upstairs for when you have seen all the exhibits.

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank amosam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What has happened??”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend's family were visiting from Dorset, and had never spent time in Newcastle. They brought the two children with them so we wanted a family friendly activity for a good chunk of the day. After paying around £50 to get in (4 adults and 2 children) we we're there for around 2 and a half hours.
There were very little "hands on" activities, except a curiosity area, which encouraged the children to "discover their inner scientist"- it was a glorified play area. There was a robot exhibit, that literally had plastic models of robots from film, pop culture etc, with no explanation of how robots can work, which is what I would expect from a science museum. And there was a brain exhibit, which despite visiting through the Easter holidays (which must be a popular time for them), was not complete.
The only saving grace was the 4d motion ride and the live shows, which got the interest of the kids. Although as it was the Easter holidays, we had to queue for a long time (in fact, half of our time there was spent in queues).
I am massively disappointed with our visit, as I used to go as a child myself, and definitely used to spend a good day there (maybe I was just very easily pleased?!). There used to be interactive exhibits everywhere, and an upstairs that had little workstations to try different things it. It's now large space that has some lawn games in it, like giant 4-in-a-row.
It definitely was not the best way for us to show what Newcastle has to offer to our visitors.

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice little trip out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

The museum is quite small and can get quite busy but we hit lucky. The planetarium is fantastic and the hands on activities are great for the kids. Very close to the train station so ideal if you're travelling by train.

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank Becky904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An amazing place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2016

Took my 3 girls (6, 10, 12) and they all loved it. There was so much to see and do - sadly we didn't allow enough time to see and do everything - we are definitely going to come back! 4D Motion Ride was amazing, Planetarium was spectacular, Science lab was outstanding. Brilliant!

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank Curlyshirley2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Life Science Centre also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Life Science Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing