We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Really cool” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Life Science Centre

Life Science Centre
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: For a great day out in Newcastle upon Tyne, look no further than the Life Science Centre with exhibitions, events, theatre shows and the biggest planetarium in the North of England! We’re an award-winning Science Centre full of exciting exhibitions, activities and events for all ages. Our programme changes regularly so there’s always a new reason to visit. And remember - everything is included in the price of admission.Life is an educational charity; we do not receive public funding. All money raised from ticket prices helps us achieve our charitable objectives - to get people of all ages switched on to science and to raise standards in science education. We couldn't do this without your support, so THANK YOU.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really cool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2016

I've been coming here since I was little, it's always changing so there's always a reason to come back. Great day out, I'm 21 now and I still want to go back!

Visited January 2016
Helpful?
Thank Sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    239
    110
    71
    57
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Over priced and nothing for younger kids”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2016 via mobile

visited here with my son who's 3 he was bored after 5 min and wanted to go as they is nothing for him to do or play with even in the younger bit so after paying nearly £20 we are extremely disappointed and will not be coming again.

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank Liam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lelystad, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
120 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Very Good for Children - Not Adults”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2016

This most deffinately is for young children. They have several things to do for the age group 10 and under. As an adult it is interesting but thats about it. unless they are having a special exhibit. We did not know what to expect as the brochure did not really indicate it was for children. There are many varied activites and experiments all designed for children. They did have 3 different shows but again all intented for young children. The day we visited they did not have any special exhibits and so instead of the normal entrance price of £10 it was reduced to £5. They had a special exhit on the brain or so we thought but once again geared toward children, Even at the reduced fee it was not worth it. Do check the schedule of events and see if they have anything that is adult related. If not.... do not bother. There is a cafeteria style restaurant but is pricey. You can however bring a packed lunch. So in summary great for kids but not for adults. Recommended time for visit : Adults 1/2 hour with kids a couple of hours. There is also a small cafe and gift shop near the entrance.

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank whouwhoami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect School Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2016 via mobile

I visited here with 60 Year Three children a couple of weeks ago. I can't recommend this place enough. It was perfect!
As soon as we arrived we were given a detailed timetable and secure place to put our packed lunches. A member of staff was also available to take us to every activity.
The planetarium was a bit too grown up with the content but they still enjoyed reclining on the most comfiest chairs whilst looking at the stars.
One of the highlights of the day was the prebooked workshop titled Who Killed Dr Bob? The children were captivated by the dead body of a scientist and enjoyed checking dna, finger prints and motive. I won't spoilt the surprise of who it was although Mrs Horne our Teaching Assistant was blamed at one point! All children had the opportunity to check out hair follicles on microscopes, handwriting etc to find murderer! Huge thanks to Liam, a student on Work's Experience who was an asset to the staff and worked hard in the workshop.
The facilities for our lunch were clean with toilets in same location - so handy.
We arrived at 10am and left at 2pm but crammed so much in that it felt like longer.
All children and staff thoroughly enjoyed this trip and I highly recommend it to anyone.

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca_Cacioppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not worth it if you don't have kids.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

From the outside we didn't really have any idea what to expect inside.

What we found was lots of educational games for kids, a planetarium show titled Naughty Monsters in Space, a live show with experiments aimed at primary school kids and Pacific Rim 4D which was rubbish.

Not worth the £10 admission for a adult without kids.

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonny1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Life Science Centre also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Life Science Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing