We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When I saw this on here I actually laughed out loud” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blue Carpet

The Blue Carpet
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“When I saw this on here I actually laughed out loud”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

This should only be listed as an attraction to serve as a warning. It wasn't much good when it was new; 12 years haven't improved matters. I wouldn't cross the road to see this. It's faded with the odd tile replaced which serves only to highlight the state of the rest of it. I think the council are just waiting fur everyone to forget how much they spent on it before they pull it up. Can't be long now.

On the plus side it is free so you can walk about on it to your heart's content. Top value I guess

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lightlyTravelledGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    3
    4
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“its not blue”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

the carpet has become threadbare, time to take it up and replace with a more visual piece of art, most visitors don't even notice it

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank offquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Waste of money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

I just didn't like it. I couldn't see the point of the money spent on it. I'm sure the money could have been better spend on something else.

Helpful?
1 Thank AILSA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Blue Carpet”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

This is somewhere I walk across regularly and never fail to wonder why Newcastle Council thought it a good idea to waste so much money on something which looks absolutely nothing. Can't imagine anyone actually going to see this.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank HHMNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“dated”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

not sure what its all about. an art attempt which looks reallt dated. maybe thats the point

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank barry f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blue Carpet also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Blue Carpet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing