We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Discovery Museum

The Discovery Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

It is getting a bit long in the tooth and Expensive limited car parking spoils every visit.
I am sure this used to be an old Co-op warehouse / display centre that I used to visit when I was 15 year old and worked at a Co-op branch that has now been turned into a marvelous place to spend an afternoon. From the first exhibit of the Turbinia that greets you upon entering right down to the old voice recordings of the people of Scotswood and Benwell there is plenty to keep everyone from 3 year old to 300 year old engrossed for hours. Of course the souvenir shop is full of overpriced Chinese tat ( whatever happened to BRITISH made souvenirs ?) most of which has nothing to do with anything in the museum. I am surprised that no one has started a "MUSEUM OF CHINESE TAT THROUGH THE AGES" as just about everything this country used to make is already in museums and nearly everything we now make in this country today " assembled" in FOREIGN owned factories with foreign made components.
This museum cant realy grow because there is nothing BRITISH to add anymore.
I dont know how the old floors manage to hold the weight of some exhibits that were made to last.
Everyone coming to Newcastle should pay a visit before the council decides to close it .
Everyone living in Newcastle should pay a visit taking all the family because everyone will be able to relate to something on display

GET THERE SOON BECAUSE IT IS STILL FREE ADMISSION regardless of the "DONATION" they want to "CHARGE"

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gumblejum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    688
    354
    74
    14
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great museum for all ages.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

During school holidays it is busy. Famous for housing Parson's Turbinia. Hands on Science Gallery. Regular exhibitions. Parking outside with meters. Quite central for town centre.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A superb learning experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

A fantastic place to visit, the museum has a full size steam turbine boat called Turbinia with cut away's so you can see the engine etc cant believe it is free there are so many interesting items to impress over multiple floors well worth a visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Neville S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good if your younger”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

A great museum with lots which showcase the North East - but if you are older then you have probably visited enough times to have seen everything more than once. There are a lot of fixed exhibitions which haven't changed for a very long time. But saying all that it is good for younger people and it can keep them amused for most of the day. Best bit is it is big, open and free with lots and lots of hands on stuff. Very well worth a visit for younger people and excellent for new visitors to the region.

There is a cafe but it does have plenty of room for improvement and I would recommend you eat before or after your visit.

Worth a visit but if you are local and have been with young children then you will probably find that not much has changed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kedav7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Enormous variety of interesting exhibits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

On 3 floors with a large lift this was an exciting museum to visit. As you enter at ground floor level you see the slimmest ship ever built. It's proportions are unlike anything I have viewed before. relatively long, incredibly narrow, and astonishingly with NINE propellors. The ''TURBINIA'' was the worlds first ship to be turbo powered, and she could do up to 40mph. Not bad for 1894!
We moved on to the ''Newcastle Story which looked at the area from Roman to modern times. I loved this exhibit, and found it fascinating. It took well over 2 hours to cover it adequately, but I would have loved to spend more time there on a future visit.
On the first floor was a superb collection of scientific instruments, with decent explanations for most. Some are interactive, but I feel more could be done here.
The only disappointment I had was, as I viewed the art gallery, that I felt the paintings were just too expensive for me. However, for other people they will be a paltry sum!
Well worth a visit, and less than 5 minutes walk from the main rail station.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Discovery Museum also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Discovery Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing