We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beers only - good choice before a train”
Review of The Victoria Comet

The Victoria Comet
Ranked #424 of 1,349 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price range: US$13 - US$20
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Gastropub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours
Description: You'll find The Victoria Comet in the centre of Newcastle, directly opposite Newcastle Central Railway Station and a short stroll from the O2 Academy and St Nicholas Cathedral - and you won't find another pub quite like it. Step in to discover a traditional pub of unique character, revered for its eclectic range of real ales and its quality pub food, which are served, as they should be, with a generous measure of famous British hospitality.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Called in to eat but stopped serving food at 9 (Burger King was also closed and a nearby pub also stopped serving - I thought Newcastle was a late night city!)

Good choice of beers however and had a drink - well worth a visit before a train.

Also the bar staff directed me to somewhere where I could eat after 9pm so much appreciated.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Victoria Comet, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review Simon. We hope that you have many train journeys to come so you can join us for a few beers. Until the next time we meet, take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I ignored the Victoria Comet for the first days and a half that we spent in Newcastle. It is located right across the street from the Central Retrain station do we gave it a pass in favor of checking out pubs located blocks away. In hindsight, that was a mistake. The Victoria Comet was attractive and ckean, it serves well prepared and we'll priced food. The service was quick and attentive. This is everything that a good pub should be. I would go back anytime given the opportunity.

Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Victoria Comet, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Allan, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we do hope that you are given the opportunity to return very soon. Until then, take care and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

We were really disappointed with the service and meal sizes at this place. I ordered macaroni cheese and was brought what I thought was a child's portion not even half inch the small dish it was in. The charge was almost £10 which was ridiculous for what amounted to a side-dish (which was also on the menu). The manager said that was the size (which makes me wonder what the side-sized portion looks like!) Refused to eat and got my money back which was better spent in a pub serving much better food in the side street next door... For less money!

Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Victoria Comet, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Steve O, we are deeply disappointed to hear of your poor experience with us. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this issue does not happen again. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. We hope you will consider us again in the future. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Long appointment in Newcastle, parched, needed pint pre train home. It's right opposite the Railway Station, totally convenient and not a bad range of beer.
Its a a big pub with street-side seating and looks like it could get rather busy. Can't comment on food.
Can't complain.

    • Service
Thank Douglas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Victoria Comet, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Hi Douglas, thank you for your kind comments about The Victoria Comet. We hope that you'll drop by if you have any further appointments in Newcastle. Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

The Spit and Vomit as it known in the Toon
Opposite the station
Good on match days
Not sure i would drink here otherwise
Buzzing
Quick service

Thank davethedrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Victoria Comet also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Victoria Comet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing