We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like stepping back in time!”
Review of Flat Caps Coffee - CLOSED

Flat Caps Coffee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$7
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Multi-award winning small coffee shop. The focus is definitely on coffee but we also offer a range of sandwiches, salads, soups and cakes depending on the season. We've built a reputation for doing some of the best coffee in the region whilst also working very hard to make your visit enjoyable with great service too.
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Like stepping back in time!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

First visit to Flat Caps and will definitely be returning. Great coffee and hot chocolate and lovely cakes. It is a bit like stepping back in time when you go down the spiral staircase into the cafe. The only criticism would be the seating. The stools were very uncomfortable and one at our table wobbled so much it looked unsafe! After a bit of swapping around we managed to get comfortable. Would definitely recommend Flat Caps, far better than a visit to one of the large chain coffee shops!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NS57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    23
    11
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best coffe shop in Newcastle”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Or anywhere for that matter. Tiny place and you need to through another shop to get to it. The menu is limited but delicious. Sourdough breads and home baked cakes are the order of the day. If you get a chance, try the siphon coffee. You won't get anything like it at Starbucks that's for sure.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank debs7669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Nicest Salad I have tasted!!"”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Characteristic and charming café situated downstairs in the Eluha shop Ridley Place. Accessed via a spiral staircase and you are in another world when you reach the bottom. Goats Cheese and Figs Salad, served with Sour Dough Bread. Absolutely delicious. Anyone wanting a different place to eat, this is it. One of a kind. .

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“fantastic coffee and an excellent lunch”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Absolutely fantastic spot to have lunch and an excellent coffee. If there are two or more of you try your coffee made using a syphon, its an experience and you get the full experience from an awarding winning barista. If you enjoy your coffee this is the place to visit in Newcastle. I had a fantastic orange and Halloumi salad for lunch served with rustic breads and a fantastic balsamic dressing, honestly this place has it all, small, personable and fantastic products and pride in what they do here. I am planning my next trip to Newcastle already so that I can visit again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great little hideaway.”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

A small cafe, tucked away, that does what it does very well. You do feel a bit as though you're vanishing into a hidden dimension as you enter through the Eluha new age shop, then down the spiral staircase (note - this isn't for you if you have mobility problems). The coffee is great, and the food is pretty good. I would agree with other reviewers that if you're after a fast cup of coffee, you may need to go somewhere else. It's worth waiting for though!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LouR21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flat Caps Coffee also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing