We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, nasty, inadequate rooms!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heroes Hostel-Hotel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheap, nasty, inadequate rooms!!”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Our room had not been cleaned properly, cigarette buts around edge of the bed, bed held up by wood, no rungs on the ladder up to top bunk, window held open by a bucket. The ppl staying in the room next to us had the same problems plus the didn't have any ladders to top bunks, shower had a door missing and tiles on the floor cracked, holes in the walls, had to get the look on their door fixed before they could leave their room.
Only good thing was the location, although its "reception" area is actually in the chip shop below.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mslm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Father Ted C, Guest Relations Manager at Heroes Hostel-Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Sorry Guys, you were not housed as you should have been, the rooms would have been cleaned as they always are after every guest leaves. However the guests previous to you had trashed some of the rooms, we could only have cancelled your booking. Smoking is never allowed and that cigarette dumps were left we were unaware of. We do expect our guests to be responsible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    10
    10
    11
    27
See reviews for
1
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We thought this hotel was fabulous for the price! We stayed here for one night as we attended Koosday, it is in the central of all the clubs so its easy to access and very easy to find! It is the perfect hotel for people who are partying in Newcastle! The rooms were clean and tidy and provided everything we needed the only let down was bringing your own towels! The staff were very kind and helpful.We will definatley be staying at the hotel again next time we are out.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCandCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Father Ted C, Guest Relations Manager at Heroes Hostel-Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for your response to your stay at Heroes Hostel-Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We booked this for a hen party. The location of the HOSTEL (definately not a hotel in any way) is great, but the rooms were awful. The bathroom had not been cleaned, the toilet seat was hanging off. There was a hole in the wall where someone had punched it. You could feel every spring through the mattress. Window ledge was filthy and we had to clean it ourselves before we could put anything down. Most importantly, there were no rungs up to either top bunk bed - we dragged one mattress onto the floor and the staff found a spare set so we could climb up to the other bed - not at all ideal. I didnt expect high standards for such low prices, but basic cleanliness is a must, which this place did not have. Would NOT recommend.

Room Tip: Don't bother full stop, I can't imagine there are any good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meema_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Father Ted C, Guest Relations Manager at Heroes Hostel-Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
I apologise for your problems when you stayed at Heroes Hostel-Hotel. The rooms are always cleaned and we try to repair any previous guest damages and not cancel follow on bookings, this is what seems to have happened in your case, sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

NOT a hotel more like a hostel.....very bare, no towels, soap etc. We only stayed one night a stop off on out way home. We had bunk beds, a curtain hanging off the window, a quilt that was so thin we had to sleep with our clothes on...there is so much bad things. The cafe down stairs is open until 3.30am when we got up to leave at 8am we could not get out the building as the front door was jammed we were shut it for a further hour and half until the cafe was open there is no other exit we thought we would have to call the police to get us out...........STAY AWAY going to trading standards a death trap.....

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pattypay71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Father Ted C, Guest Relations Manager at Heroes Hostel-Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
If you had indicated you were maybe leaving early in the morning you should have been given the Night Porters contact number as he works in the downstairs cellar. The front door is not deadlocked any time guests are staying for the reasons you mention. We are a basic Hostel-Hotel and do not supply any towels or soap.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,852 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,026 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heroes Hostel-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heroes Hostel-Hotel

Property: Heroes Hostel-Hotel
Address: 71 Grainger Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Heroes Hostel-Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget Hotel/Hostel Welcome to Heroes Hotel - Hostel... Heroes Hostel-Hotel is within the walls of the City of Newcastle on Tyne. It is 10 metres from the famous 'Bigg Market'. You are within walking distance of the Theatre Royal, the Cathedrals, the Metro Radio Arena, Newcastle United Football Ground, the Newcastle Quayside and Bridges. 'The Gate' entertainment complex, bars and Aspers Casino. The 'EldonSquare' Shopping Centre is only 100 metres from Heroes Hostel-Hotel. The Gateshead MetroCentre is a 15 min bus or train ride away. The whole of the North East history is within your reach, visit the world famous 'Hadrians Wall' and 'Vindolanda Roman Camp' which is an acclaimed World Heritage site. Also Fun days can be arranged such as paintballing, go-karting, clay pigeon shooting Heroes Hostel-Hotel is in the City Centre and is in a redeveloped Victorian Building. It has 11 bedrooms over 3 floors, comprising Twin & Triple Bunk Beds in 11 rooms for 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8 and 9 persons. All of the 11 rooms are en-suite with shower, toilet & washbasin. The private rooms all include bed linen and private shower rooms. Guests can also make use of free Wi-Fi at Heroes Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Heroes Hostel-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing