We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bri. over priced”

Franco's Terrace Bar & Restaurant
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“bri. over priced”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

nice restauant good food staff friendly over priced for what you get, they sure dont like groupon
not going back plenty italians in town advanti's much better

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 722brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    12
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
1 review
“Appalling customer service!!!!”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Visited recently with a friend on a Groupon deal. The restaurant was only half full therefore I was surprised we were asked to sit at the bar. Approx. 40 minutes later, after we had been clearly ignored, the barmaid asked if we wanted to sit at the table.
The waiter completely ignored us throughout the evening and we had to ask if we could place an order, have a drink (which we then had to remind the staff about 15 minutes later), and for the bill (which was only sorted out when I had had enough and started to put my coat on to leave).
Food was okay, however the prawn, mussel and calamari risotto came without a single prawn?!
I will never return to this restaurant again due to rudeness of the waiter.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PazNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“£28 .oo for free wine with groupon”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

6 of us dined with a groupon voucher. wihich has to be a good way to sample a restaurant for future visits, the meet and greet staff we good and there were 4 free glasses of procecco 2 small and two regular served between the 6 of us.as the groupon only covered 4 diners.no problem as beers and wine was ordered.
food ok but my main coarse was served on a cold plate.which is the only complaint I could have. the bill was paid and a tip left.only to be told by Franco on our way out. that we owed £28.00 for 4 glasses of wine, two of which were not even. a regular size.spoilt the night!
If you use groupon make sure you get the facts right.Francos attitude has lost him a lot of future full paying customers

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank georgealan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Five of us visited here on a Monday evening. We were very surprised just how busy it was. The staff provided a great service and there was plenty to choose from on the menu. The food was very good. Will definitely go back there the next time we are in Newcastle.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worst budget Italian food ever !”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

If you are lucky enough to be greeted on the phone with anything other than 'hello' or 'yes' thats a good start, very expensive for very budget quality food, burnt to a crisp garlic bread,with " sorry it caught under the grill" as it was placed on the table! why serve it in the first place? pizza bases so thin you can see through them (a common money saving exercise in poor restaurants), frozen badly cooked squid served nearly cold, old and bitter tasting iceberg lettuce, just poor quality all round, the older guy is such a misery and caused an atmosphere when we told staff the garlic bread was awful, it was actually still left on the bill, and £7 for a glass of cheap Prosecco in Newcastle is a joke ! 20% VAT added to the bill ! They dont even say excuse me or ask if its okay to clear your table reaching over you and clattering cuttlery around, send in Gordon ramsay this place definately needs him before it goes under!
What a shame as the setting is great with a lovely courtyard and furniture, inside was very acceptable also. The saving grace for this restaurant, was female waitress, very pleasant

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stee41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Franco's Terrace Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing