We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb pub , great staff , nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cumberland Arms B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb pub , great staff , nice rooms”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

If like me you arent a fan of chain hotels , pubs , restaurants and like places with personality and character , look no further . This is a great place . If you like friendly staff , open fires , great ales , you have a bonus here .

I think only 6 rooms , nicely done , immaculate but with character . Location is really interesting , a tucked away corner of " the toon " and incredibly short walk onto the Quayside . Other really interesting hostelries nearby also .

We loved it , many thanks to the staff also . Great breakfast , brought to your room .Had a great time - cheese and pate selection saturday afternoon was just the job .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiamB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    11
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
33
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Once again the Cumberland Arms wins my respect
this is the second time i have stayed here and they have even improved upon things
a cracking cooked breakfast is now avaiable, and everyone is there to help
the beer and atmosphere of this pub cannot be beeten (why can't i find this down south)
the rooms are clean and comfortable with style that is not forced.
YOU MUST STAY HERE!!!!!!

Room Tip: choose any they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkingboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We ended our Hadrian's wall walk , at the Cumberland Arms. The walk up to the B&B didn't look that great and had us slightly worried about what was to come, but as soon as we reached the place we realised we had landed on our feet with this little gem.

The room was lovely, really nicely done out and very clean and comfortable. We had a great beer in the pub in the evening and breakfast was brought to our room on a tray in the morning. very relaxing place to stay, especially as you are next to the pub but aren't disturbed by it at all.

I heartily recommend this place to the weary traveller , it's a real find.

Room Tip: We were in the red room , lovely decoration and very comfortable, with a great shower for pummelling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gertsfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Stayed when running Gt North run. Great quirky place to stay with live music downstairs (not not too noisy or too late), great accomodation above pub (big rooms, nice decor, real coffee!) and really friendly staff. Perfect to walk to start of race. No food available when we stayed but Im told there is usually and there was a fantastic Lebanase 5 minutes from pub

Helpful?
1 Thank Barcelona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

My partner and I regularly visit Newcastle to visit our student daughter who recommended this pub. WE prefer to stay in independent hotels where possible and this accommodation combined comfort with style in a city centre location. Our room was spacious and tastefully furnished. The room had a great view over the Ouseburn valley - a fascinating area for anyone interested in Newcastle's industrial heritage and we enjoyed this as we sat at the table in our room to eat our continental breakfast. Despite being in a pub, we were not disturbed by noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel with a view over the Ouseburn valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christineh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2009

The Cumberland B&B is a fantastic place to stay! It has a contemporary, classic feel which is comfortable and friendly ( with great coffee). The views from room were lovely. With the added bonus of a fantastic pub below. Great to stay for an over night stay, or a weekend break to explore the local area.

Helpful?
Thank Genie75uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#10 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#20 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#29 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
1.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Arms B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Arms B&B

Property: The Cumberland Arms B&B
Address: James Place Street | Ouseburn, Newcastle upon Tyne NE6 1LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cumberland Arms B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumberland Arms boasts a gem of a Bed and Breakfast that hides behind the side door. Opened in May 2009, it has four spacious ensuite rooms all with south-facing views over the Ouseburn Valley and city. If you are cycling there is a place to store bikes and we offer 3 types of breakfast served to your room at a time that suits you. The rooms all have super king size beds, tv and radio, real coffee and tea making facilities with fresh milk! There is so much to do on the doorstep within the Ouseburn Valley or a short walk will bring you to the Quayside with the Sage Gateshead, Baltic and Millennium Bridge. We are also just 15 minutes from the city centre. The B&B sits above The Cumberland Arms pub with its real ale and cider selection, beer terrace and open fires, traditional music sessions as well as regular gigs and events throughout the year.The Pub has a selection of bar snacks but does not do meals. There are lots of places to eat near by, if you ask the staff they are happy to give you advice on places to eat. Whatever you want from your stay the luxurious but relaxed atmosphere of the B&B means it is a perfect place to get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cumberland Arms B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing