We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Central - Perfect for a Weekend!!!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newcastle upon Tyne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holiday Inn Newcastle City
A TripAdvisor Member
“Clean and Central - Perfect for a Weekend!!!”
Reviewed 22 October 2004

Stayed here from 15-17 October 2004 and it was grand. Located about a 5 min walk from the city centre, you cant go wrong if your looking for somewhere central to stay and that you can bring someone back to your room for some fun! The price for the room was good, but dont eat here as its very expensive and there's nice places to dine for a lot cheaper which are nearby! Overall had a pleasant stay and would recommend it for groups going to newcastle for the weekend as the residents bar kept serving till about 8 in the mornin! Sweet!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    5
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
2
3
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2004

Stayed here on August 28th 2004 and was not too disappointed seeing as I live near to Newcastle and know the location. Just a couple of points to mention for anyone considering a stay at the Holiday Inn Newcastle City... the hotel is located in a run down area next door to a nightclub that spills out at 3am with throngs of people waiting for taxis, arguing etc, this was clearly audible from the room as we had to have the window open due to the room being very warm & no air conditioning. A fan was provided in the room but wasnt powerful enough to make any difference to the temparature. The room was tiny, approx 18 inches gap between the end of the bed and the desk & chair, although it was nicely decorarted (looked recently updated) and was spotlessly clean as was the bathroom, had that just being cleaned smell !! All in all it was worth the £74 rate (look around on the internet) just dont pay the rack rate through the hotel as you may find yourself a little disappointed.

Helpful?
3 Thank dino durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2004

I have been in this hotel for a special occasion and it was advertised to have high speed internet connection when they didn't.

It is officially a 3 stars but very old, dirty, no air conditioned, pathetic lobby (10 sq meters).

I don't usually do that but I pretended my money back and moved (after I saw the room and the bathroom) to the Hilton in Newcastle. More expensive but was worth it.

Holiday Inn Newcastle is not worth the money. Old, dirty, a no no.

Helpful?
2 Thank Chuae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 February 2004

Booked into this hotel for a one night stay. Location is city centre, near monument metro station. Very close to city sentre shopping and 10 min walk from Quayside

Reception staff do not have much personality. Being a platinum priority holder, I was upgraded to executive room even although the hotel was fully booked.

Room was decent, with mini bar, decent decor, pay movies, playstation etc, but very small

Restaurant and bar in hotel, although I did not sample.

On check out they tried to charge for breakfast even although it was in the rate and my paper which was complimentary

All in all an average clean hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 November 2003

Welcome not too bad, but hotel looks tired. The decor in the corridor looked like it had been touched up in 5 minutes by someone who had never painted before. The room was hot, and when I opened the window I was met by a cacophany of noise. Hobson's choice! Room service prices were disgraceful, and the minibar prices served only as humour, because only a madman would pay them. Overall, hotel clearly set up to maximise revenue and to hell with valur for money or any customer satisfaction.
Oh, and not even a complimentary biscuit!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 June 2003

We stayed there for two nights in June 2003. The welcome was less than friendly. The room for 105,00 GBP had the size of a shoe box. It was unbearably hot because the hotel does not have air conditioning. Keeping the window open meant to hear all the noice from a near main road but we had no choice. The receptionist said a change of room wouldn't help and promised to send a fan to the room. It never arrived. The shower mat was so mouldy (on the rolled up back side) we couldn't use it. The cheese and cold cuts of the (14.95 GBP!!) breakfast buffet looked like they had been there for some days. Terrible value for the money. Never again! Eggert & Lesley Stehr

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#38 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#5 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#17 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
0.1 mi away
Euro Hostel Newcastle
Euro Hostel Newcastle
#55 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newcastle City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newcastle City

Property: Holiday Inn Newcastle City
Address: New Bridge Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 8BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 140
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn
Newcastle City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing