We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of lovely meat!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Escobars Rodizio Bar And Grill - CLOSED

Escobars Rodizio Bar And Grill
Price range: US$19 - US$26
Cuisines: Brazilian, Barbecue, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: We are an all you can eat Brazilian Steakhouse with fantastic quality cuts of meat, grilled to perfection on our special Churrasco.Also included is a salad bar with around fifteen different dishes all prepared that same day coupled with four or five hot dishes(rice, Brazilian beans etc..)Everything is on a set price menu and its great for the kids too...
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lots of lovely meat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Went early on a Friday evening. Was quiet and service was good. Salad bar was great with some very tasty sauces.
Relentless TASTY meat arrived repeatedly and I had to stop because I got so full!
The staff were very polite and helpful. Lovely food and also great Sangria - get some!!!!
Definitely recommend but probably best when not too busy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    50
    23
    15
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We went in the evening and the restaurant was relatively empty, there was our group and 2 other groups. The way the restaurant works is very quirky and unique. You each have a card on the table - the green side means keep bringing the food, you turn it over to the red side for them to stop. They have a buffet at the back where you can get as much salad, cold meats, and bread as you like. They also had soup, curry and rice on offer, you could also have as much of these as you liked. After they have taken your orders they bring over a bowl of chips for the table, this gets replaced once empty. They then bring a selection of meats over to all of the tables. The staff were very friendly and informative when we were asking about the meats on offer. The best meat of them all was the rump steak - this came near the end. It was by far the best steak i have ever eaten, it's just a shame i was too full to eat how much i wanted! I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AdrianthePenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Bliss on a plate.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I loved visiting the Escobars in the Metro Centre in Gateshead and was gutted when it closed. When I discovered the Escobars in Newcastle I was overjoyed !

The food is amazingly well cooked. The idea of them bringing you different dishes when you want is well thought out and executed.

The side salads and rices / chilli all are beautiful and the endless amounts of bread and chips / black pudding is great !

My only desire would be to see refillable drinks.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielGTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and gorgeous food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The staff are really friendly and helpful, and the food is really good. It is a kind of buffet style restaurant. You get some food from the buffet tables, hot and cold food then they bring you out the meat. Loads of different meats, it keeps coming until you turn over your card to red.
Definitely will be going again. Good value for money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Went between lunch and evening service and was amazing. Salad bar was great with a good fresh varity and the meat is amazing!! Going again. My new favorite place in toon!

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Escobars Rodizio Bar And Grill also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing