We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Park Gate Hotel
Wantage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a hotel...”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We booked this hotel to stay in during the Great North Run 2013, we hadn't booked until after our places were confirmed which left West Park as one of the only hotels with vacancies.

We booked the 'hotel' without reading any reviews which we wish we had done before we booked.

On arrival it was very easy to get to the accommodation, please be aware that the hotel does not have car parking on site and it is not secure, the area of Newcastle it is in does not seem safe although it is only a 15 minute walk to the city centre (20mins to the GNR start line) and a bus stop is just outside.

Parking is in a council car park across the road which stipulates that you cannot stay any longer than 2hours or you will be fined. According to the staff member in the hotel they never check and as he said "no vehicles had been broken in to for over 2 years"...very reassuring...anyway, we parked there all weekend and didn't get a ticket, however, feel it is luck of the draw.

The 'hotel' is more a hostel than anything, the toilets and showers are communal and not the cleanest. In the bed rooms the sheets are dirty with cigarette burns on the sheets and crusty patches on the duvets! There are tv's although they have no signal...

If you are prepared to make compromises and are looking for the cheapest possible place then this is it, although a YHA would be cleaner, safer and friendlier. I think we were lucky that the place was pretty much empty all weekend although I dread to think that it would be like when stag and hen do's go on.

Something isn't right when a hotel advertises that they are for stag and hen do's...the attitude is anything gos here. You can smoke in the rooms (if you wanted to) and pretty much do whatever...no one cares. It is also freezing cold, no heating!

Room Tip: upstairs, I think we had room 12 which was the cleanest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wantagewombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    4
    9
    6
    25
See reviews for
2
6
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lincoln
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Worst hotel ever . No toilet or wash facilities or towels.no heatin kettle or tele . Very cold and damp.its a homeless hostel not a hotel. What a dump do not book this hotel its not even got parking . Not even a double bed in the room . It cost 40 quid which is cheap but its nt even worth that.its freezing cold .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kezLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Went for a Stag do and for the price we can't ask for more

The man in reception was very friendly and helpful to us

Location is a bit out of the way of the city centre. Massive walk uphill from the train station, get a taxi instead for £5.

Shared bathroom with the floor which didn't matter as we had filled the entire floor with our party

Definitely not for couples or family

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed for a stag do, ended up just partying in th e hotel reception all night from 7pm till 9am, great laugh, staff all sound as pounds, let you do what ever as long as nothing gets broken, plenty of birds staying and also wanting to party. My mates has stayed there 3 times and swears it is the same every time he has been. I wouldn't take my missus to the west park for a romantic weekend but if you want to party 24hours non stop and not worry about noise etc then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The first delight of my stay at the West Park Hotel was the hotel's owner kindly debiting £60 from my bank account in Sports World after I provided my card details for book. This seems to be a regular occurance as some people we met had the same experience.

I was happy to find out our room had no toilet and we had to share a filthy hole in the ground with the rest of the floor.

What really made the stay worthwhile was the blood and faeces in the bed covers I had to shiver in seeing as the room was on par with the Arctic Circle.

In a beautiful area of Newcastle where you don't want to step out the door for fear of being mugged, I'd recommend this pathetic excuse for a hotel to anybody.

We came on a lads weekend for football thinking who cares what the hotel is like - I highly recommend spending that extra tenner on ANY other hotel in Newcastle because this really put a downer on the weekend (and losing 4-2 to newcastle united).

Highly recommend the Bewick Hotel Gateshead.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room, they are disgusting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co durham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

don't stay there it is an absolute dump..stinking rooms with the worst facilities known to man couldn't get in the beds didn't dare people running up and down all night long trying the doors banging on the doors the one staff looked like he hadn't had a wash for years and was about as inviting as a don't no what and to top it off we payed to stay in delux rooms that was a joke the ensuite was a shower and sink in the room no toilet my advice it wants shutting down it is a joke don't be deceived whilst booking !!!!!!!!

Room Tip: don't choose any !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tina j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This is not a hotel in any way it is a HOSTEL, do not be fooled. Door is left wide open all night which is scary! Can do what the hell you like in this squat smoke in rooms anything you like they do not care. The shared facilities are awful! Do not stay here, must say we had a lovely view of the mosque though!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotelhuntersx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
1.1 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
445 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#24 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,030 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#17 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,176 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,854 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Brighton
The Brighton
#7 of 20 in Newcastle upon Tyne
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Gate Hotel

Property: The Park Gate Hotel
Address: 157 Elswick Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 6SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Park Gate Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your The Park Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing