We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Check in was fast but they came across like they could not really be bothered, we would have upgraded but we were not given the option. Rooms were tiny - the leather chair and footrest in our room was stained. The sharks bar is nice enough for a drink.
We would not stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROBERTANTHONY223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,379 - 1,385 of 1,490 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

The hotel room was a little strange, I had a junior suite that had a kitchen, desk space, living room, bedroom and bathroom. It was very small though to cram all those areas but done quite well so that they were all functional. The bathroom is designed as a wetroom, the shower is a glassed off area which was really nice and great shower but this meant the whole bathroom floor flooded and it took several hours to drain out of the bathroom so your feet got wet everytime you went into the bathroom for anything. The service was good, and the breakfast next door in the Shark Bar was excellent with the full a-la-carte menu available as part of the hotel breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

The very helpful staff made me and my one year old very comfortable. I stayed for three nights and all was looked after very well. The rooms are well catered for in all respects including a microwave in the room which suited me for warming things for the baby, an iron and iron board which I used a lot. The breakfast in the rest was very sumptuous though for a charge. The temp control in the room was very useful. Not to mention the location. Perfect in all respects.

Room Tip: I tried both the king room and the junior suite. The junior suite for a little more is a great room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Stayed in this hotel for a night, 21st birthday party, hotel is like a travelodge but posher, microwave and fridge good extra, could have finished the room as the ceilings weren't painted in my room.
Staff very friendly and helpfully.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dougie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager s, Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Dear Spyatrilad,

Thank you for your recent feedback following your stay with us. I am please to hear you enjoyed the additional facilities our rooms have to offer such as the fridge and microwave.

With regards to the unfinished ceiling, this is a concrete finished designed to give our guest rooms the feel of a loft apartment and this is the design throughout our hotel.

I am also pleased to hear you were well looked after during your stay by our team and hopefully we will see you again soon at Sandman Signature Newcastle

Regards
Michael Burrow
Sandman Signature Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Very Modern hotel, Within 20 seconds away from St.James Park (or SportDirect Arena now) so is perfect for match-goer's and anyone who wants to be close to the city centre

Would 100% stay again and will

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RyanY769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I stayed at this hotel on a business trip for 2 nights. Friendly staff, nice rooms. The rooms are not very large but who cares on a short business trip :)
The hotel is across the street from the stadium and the metro station. The universities are about a 10 minute walk and walking downtown takes about 15 minutes.
A taxi from the airport was about 15 Pounds. The sports bar is nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

room no was 715, no noise,good room for price will go again

Room Tip: unless you want to look at st james park football ground book rooms higher and not facing the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmyosmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#24 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#16 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,209 reviews
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,420 reviews
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel

Address: Gallowgate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4SD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £67 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel sits in the city center of Newcastle, surrounded by key attractions in the city such as the iconic Newcastle United Football Club Stadium, China Town, city center shopping district, Newcastle University, etc. (All this within 5 minutes walking radius) In addition we are just few minutes walk away from the Theatre Royal, the Centre of Life, the city Quayside and a great selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy this vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing