We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More nightly let apartment than hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2013

On arrival the glass enclosed fire, visible from outside, misrepresents the feeling of a plush hotel. 

On entry, there is simply a reception desk with no other public spaces, excepting a large Sports Bar which is also used for breakfast (expensive but freshly cooked and very appetising, not withstanding the pub environment and eating off a sticky beer table at 7AM). 

The central location is great, opposite the football stadium  Free coffee at the reception desk was a nice touch and all staff where extremely friendly and impeccably well trained. 

The corridors and rooms where clean, fresh and ultra modern. The rooms where apartment style with small fully equipped kitchen (small TV, microwave, tiny hot plate, full size fridge, breakfast bar, stools and cutlery, plates & pans). Coffee making facilities where provided. 

The room had a second TV, small wardrobe, ironing facilities, safe and sofa. Gowns and slippers where provided in my upgraded room. 

The bathroom was modern with walk in power shower and lots of fresh towels and toiletries. 

The air conditioning was surprisingly a cheap and noisy through the wall unit, but other than that the room was to a high quality with lots of glazing and good lighting. 

A great plus was 24 hour room service if you didn't fancy using the kitchen. 

In summary, if you are looking for a nightly let fully equipped central apartment it's a winner, but if you want full hotel facilities stay away. I like the former and will definitely return. 

Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
Thank Nick_From_Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,282 - 1,288 of 1,492 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel to go see the strictly tour. The show was very good & the hotel was excellent. The staff were more than helpful. The room lovely, & the bar meal was amazing for the money.There as plenty choice at breakfast too. The stay was a treat to us from our family & we will stay there again if we ever go to Newcastle again.

Room Tip: The room on the 7th floor had a mini kitchen, two TV's, large comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Me and my husband stayed here just after our wedding to see the olympic football at St James park. They found out we were newlyweds and decided to upgrade us to a better room which was lovely. The facilities were good and room very clean. I would recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

The Sandman Signature is a well located hotel across the road from St James' Park. The rooms are modern and clean however heating can be noisy and the lower floors suffer from loud traffic noise from the main road below.
The rooms are well presented with a modern bathroom. I felt the room rate was expensive given others within the city but overall an enjoyable stay. Breakfast buffet was good and served in the connected Shark Bar which offers American style food with good offers available most nights.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank machiavelliLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

A fantastic boutique hotel based in the city centre.

This Canadian chain is going to do well in the UK.

The hotel is linked with an excellent sports bar called "Shark Bar" serving chicken wings, pizza and snacks. Worth a look on a football or sporting weekend as they have several tv screens showing all matches.

The hotel is above par and the staff are very pleasant.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith-from-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently and was pleasantly surprised throughout my whole stay. Upon check in the girl at reception was very plesant and ensured my check in was swift and she also arranged a parking permit for me to use in the nearby car park. I was given a room on the 7th floor overlooking the stadium and the car park (I was able to keep an eye on my car from there). The room itself was small but was well equipped with a rather comfortable bed, fridge, microwave and safe. More importantly the room and bathroom was nice and clean. The great thing about this hotel is how close it is to the shopping quarter, its within a 10 minute walking distance to the nearby mall and China town is also close by. When I checked out of the hotel the gentleman on the front desk was really helpful and even looked up the driving directions for getting to the Metro centre. All in all a pleasant stay and wouldn't hesitate to book again when I am next back in Newcastle. But the one bad thing about this hotel is the street noise is not blocked out and you can everything that is going on outside even if the windows are closed and locked.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room at the rear of the hotel instead of a street facing one to avoid the street noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yuki-ukko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

I stayed here with my Husband for 1 night in November as we had tickets to see Kevin Bridges at the City Hall. First impressions were that this was a very quirky hotel in the centre of Newcastle, whoever designed the Reception has real style and flare.

We arrived an hour before check-in and were prepared to leave our luggage or wait, however the receptionist was more than happy to ring the maids to see if a room was ready. Luckily it was so the check-in was quick and smooth.

The room or 'mini apartment' was impressive, very spacious, clean and bright. The bed was exceptionally comfy too. The shower room is like a wet room and a little narrow but the shower is a good size. The only small negative is that the frosted glass door to the shower room didn't quite close properly and could not be locked. It all depends on how much you like your privacy.

All in all a lovely hotel to stay in for 1 night or more and I would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamalama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,293 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#16 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,209 reviews
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,448 reviews
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel

Address: Gallowgate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4SD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £66 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel sits in the city center of Newcastle, surrounded by key attractions in the city such as the iconic Newcastle United Football Club Stadium, China Town, city center shopping district, Newcastle University, etc. (All this within 5 minutes walking radius) In addition we are just few minutes walk away from the Theatre Royal, the Centre of Life, the city Quayside and a great selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy this vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing