We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2013

A very pretty and well maintained hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpfull in all situations. However, the rooms are very cold in winter and the heater/air conditioner is very noisy, it sounds like a helicopter and it is improssible to sleep when it is on. But if you turn it off at night the room gets very cold by the morning - I woke up when it was 10 degrees in the room.
The breakfast is good and tasty, but a little bit overpriced - about £12.
The atmosphere in the bar at night is really nice - tasty cocktails and good food, however there are TVs everywhere that are a bit distracting.

Room Tip: Ask for an extra heater in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,245 - 1,251 of 1,462 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2013

Great location great staff rooms clean and tidy only thing I didn't like was no bath other than that no faults what so ever would recommend to friends and family staff were great as I left items in the room they posted them to me free of charge

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

New hotel with all the quirks. Basic rooms are very small, and quite dark inside due to tinted windows but very trendy. Shower/wet room can be a bit of a shock as the showers are so powerful and water gets everywhere.
Comfy beds, hotel is good location for shopping and football. On the whole, Good value for money and clean.
Sports bar downstairs is very much a 'gentlemans' bar!!!
Taxi service to the Metro arena was excellent. Collected from the lobby by suited driver. very professional.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodsvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Stayed here for two nights with my friend. The hotel is lovely and modern. The room is a good size, with a kitchen etc. The bathroom is spacious and has a large shower (which floods the bathroom). The hotel is in a great location, within walking distance of the centre of Newcastle. Got room service one night and the food was average. The bad points were just that the shower flooded the bathroom and the rooms were absolutely freezing (even with the 'heating' on). I would return to this hotel again :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennaCathryn1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

The hotel is quite new, about 16 months old. It is right opposite a football stadium and about 10 mins walk from the station (uphill) and central Newcastle. The reception is modern with a range of pretty, but uncomfortable seats. Reception staff were welcoming and friendly.

The rooms are small, the furniture is too large and for instance there is a bench seat at the bottom of the bed, which reduces space further between the end of the bed and the large desk. The bed and pillows are very comfortable. Lots of cushions, which look nice, but serve no purpose and just get thrown on the floor. The bathroom, again, is small but is a wet room, that gets very wet when the shower is on. Flooding +++. However, there is a rain shower and a conventional shower. Nice range of toiletries and a helpful shelf. Clean.

There is tea and coffee making facilities, a safe, and a microwave- strange! The fridge door can't be opened as it catches on the wardrobe sliding door mechanism, so you have to tilt it backwards, about 30 degrees, to open it. How odd. I have commissioned many large, new buildings and thought it was strange that whoever, from the hotel management, who snagged this would allow such a basic flaw.
The window could be opened. Hooray! The heating is an air con/heating combo affair. Air con in NE England? It was very cold when we were there, but the heating part of the machine is very inefficient and really noisy. Think 747 taking off. Not what you want in the room when trying to sleep.

Breakfast was buffet style in the Shark Bar. The waitresses were very attentive, pleasant and friendly and brought hot drinks. However, the breakfast was minimalist. The two mornings we were there, bacon, eggs and sausages ran out, it was 08.00-08.30. The plates were cold. So was the food. Multiple TV's on. Yuk! All unacceptable.

The Shark Bar, in the evening, was busy, noisy and obviously catered for sports fans. The waitresses, again, were friendly and obviously recruited for their appearance. The Hooters brand came to mind! TV's everywhere! We didn't eat there as it was too noisy, some friends of ours did and said the food was ok.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim_sunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Just had the one night in this hotel on a business trip, my room was spotless with very clean bedding and well appointed things for the stay, fridge,microwave oven, tv,tea coffee etc
The shower is a wet area and the water does splash off the wall onto the toilet and bathroom floor but that is only a little moan.
Breakfast was super, with an excellent choice and proper sausage!
Sharks bar at night has very friendly attractive staff waiting on and has a great atmosphere.
Staff are friendly and welcoming, ideal for the football fan directly across the road for the Magpies home ground.
Parking is a little bit of a problem, get a pass from reception for the Metro Car Park across the road.
Would I stay again on or not on business - YES.

Room Tip: Read about parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Stayed at the Sandman for one night on a business trip to Newcastle. The rooms are snug, clean and cosy. My room was a tiny bit noisy facing onto a busy road junction. Situated opposite St James Park which is very impressive.

Reception and greeting was excellent. The guy who checked me in was very thorough and showed great attention.

Sports bar was hopping in the evening as there was a lot of league football on. Great atmosphere

Really good location being just five minutes walk from the centre of town and from the Monument metro stop.

Breakfast was average. The only slight downside. Pancakes were awful. Scrambled eggs were drowning in butter.

Thumbs up for the hotel

Room Tip: ask for a room not facing on to the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sir_Cumference
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#24 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,895 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#16 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,315 reviews
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel

Address: Gallowgate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £71 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel sits in the city center of Newcastle, surrounded by key attractions in the city such as the iconic Newcastle United Football Club Stadium, China Town, city center shopping district, Newcastle University, etc. (All this within 5 minutes walking radius) In addition we are just few minutes walk away from the Theatre Royal, the Centre of Life, the city Quayside and a great selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy this vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing