We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great hotel in a fantastic location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Having stayed here last summer, we were again not disappointed! When we arrived we were informed we had been upgraded to a better room for free - no complaints there! The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The room was fantastic and the kitchen in our room was better than the one we have in our house!

Highly recommended and looking forward to my next stay already!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear Fiona C,

Wow thank you for such a fantastic review of Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle, its reviews like this that really do make us love our job and motivate us to keep providing such fantastic experiences for our guests.

Great to hear of your return visit and how you were looked after by the team – I am glad to hear of how you are already planning your return visit!

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    424
    204
    61
    25
See reviews for
152
488
32
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

The hotel is right next to St James' Park in Newcastle and is very close to just about everything there is to see in the city. I had a very pleasant (if not exactly large) 8th floor room which was comfortable, modern and clean. The staff were really helpful and friendly at all times - not always something you find in hotels down south! I would definitely stay here again and definitely recommend the place. Newcastle is a football mad place, and when I was there the (sports) bar in the hotel was incredibly full. That may be worth considering if you plan a say here.

Room Tip: The football stadium side can be a little noisy so a lower level room might be better if you are at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear Baz27,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle great to hear of your pleasant stay with us. It’s great to read of how you picked up on the great Geordie Hospitality throughout your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully it will be a leisure stay next time and you can explore our fantastic city!

Many thanks again your feedback is greatly appreciated!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

hotel is in a really good location with cheap parking just outside. checking was one of the best I've had, staff member was excellent and covered everything. requested higher level room, so couldn't hear any noise from the traffic. Room was small but very clean and only thing that let it down was the cheap aircon unit on the window. Used the bar area for some drinks and food, service was excellent and food really good. Would use hotel again if got a good deal, but wouldn't pay full price as hotel indigo around the corner has much better rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garrye81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear Garrye81,

Many thanks for your review!

Fantastic to hear that you found the location of the hotel and the parking ideal for your stay. I am delighted to hear that your check in experience was one of the best you have received!! The team are extremely grateful for such kind feedback! I am sorry to hear that you found the Air conditioning unit not to your taste. For all the best rates please book directly on our website where you will find all rates very competitive with other hotels in the city.

Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the sandman came back because we loved it. The hotel is bright modern and spotlessly clean. Location is great for shops pubs and restaurants. There is a small car park opposite the hotel and we have parked here both times without any issues it is payable separately to your room at the hotel but it is still a lot cheaper than most others. My only complaint was with the breakfast Buffett a couple of items (eggs and black pudding) obviously had been sat a whole as they were a bit dry but other than that it was fine. Definitely will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judehe75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear Judehe75,

Many thanks for posting feedback on your stay at Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle. Great to hear that this was a return visit as you love the hotel. Great to hear how you have used the car park with ease and like the bright and modern décor of the hotel. Sorry to hear that some of the items at breakfast dry we will look into this to prevent from happening again in the future.

Hopefully it won’t be too long until your third visit! See you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Perfect for a weekend in Newcastle. Good location for city centre & Quayside - only max 15 minutes walk with no "retail" stops. Lovely friendly staff and an interesting (!!) busy bar - but was the "rugby super Saturday". Comfortable, compact bedroom - lovely bed - the heating/ventilation system took a while to master but once done room was warm and minor irritation of bedside lights not working. All-in-all an hotel I would happily recommend where it is the enjoyment of Newcastle, and all it has to offer, is the primary reason for the stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuldReekie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear AuldReekie2013,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle. It’s great to hear that you found the team lovely and friendly and would recommend Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle.

We hope to see you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waddesdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

The Sandman Signature, is in a perfect setting, for a city break. I thought the decor was interesting and quirky. The staff were very friendly . The rooms were small, chilly and damp. This will be a big problem if it isn't sorted. We were only staying 1 night, and the room ad only cost £89.00. If our stay had been longer, I may ave asked to move rooms.

Room Tip: I think they are building a fitness center on the 10th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Dear Heather B,

Thank you for writing the above review for your recent stay, glad to hear that you found the location perfect for your city break, and how you found the team very friendly.

We have a fitness facility on the top floor which has been open since the end of January.

I am sorry to hear that you found the room chilly and damp if this had of been brought to our attention at that time we would have acted on that issue immediately.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience this may have caused you.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

When you first enter the Sandman Signature you think you are onto a good thing. Very modern, new,trendy reception area. The staff are very friendly and will go out of their way to be of assistance. I was visiting Newcastle University with my son and had booked a double room with a sofa bed and a small kitchen area. On first impressions the room looked nice, but on further inspection I felt the room was not that clean and you could tell that even though fairly new it had been well used (I suspect by groups of football supporters/stag/hen parties). When my son got into the sofa bed he discovered that it was so well used that all you could feel were springs. We phoned reception and asked to be moved to a twin room as nobody could have slept on it. This request was dealt with straight away and we moved to a twin room. I must agree with other reviews that the air con/heat system is awful. The rooms are cold when you enter and then to warm them up it would be impossible to sleep because of the noise it makes. As we arrived after 11pm after a 5 hour journey we decided to sleep instead of warm the room up. Again as other reviews have metioned even though we were on a top floor we could hear a lot of noise from outside (poor quality windows).
Breakfast was in the TV ridden sports bar. I had to ask for clean bowls after looking through all the bowls on offer to find each one covered in dried on food residue. I really am feeling like a real moaner now but lets get it out of the way! Butter was off, eggs had been there all morning, no large plates, £11.45 each!!! We left to enjoy our day visiting Newcastle University but my son didn't enjoy it much as he felt ill and spent a lot of time visiting the loo!!
I feel really sorry for the staff because they were so friendly maybe they just need better management. Anyway I wouldn't stay there again you might as well go to Premier Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbarellaOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear BarbarellaOxford,

May I thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay in Newcastle. I am sorry to learn that your experience of the hotel and breakfast were not up to standard please accept my deepest apologies for all issues that were caused directly to you.

Please feel free to contact myself directly at the hotel to discuss your above mentioned points in more detail.

I look forward to hearing from you direct.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#10 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel

Property: Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Address: Gallowgate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel sits in the city center of Newcastle, surrounded by key attractions in the city such as the iconic Newcastle United Football Club Stadium, China Town, city center shopping district, Newcastle University, etc. (All this within 5 minutes walking radius) In addition we are just few minutes walk away from the Theatre Royal, the Centre of Life, the city Quayside and a great selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy this vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing