We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous apart-hotel near city centre” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous apart-hotel near city centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

This is a stylish city centre hotel. The reception has a boutique hotel feel and the staff (all local which in itself is novel in the hotel industry these days) were all welcoming, genuine, friendly and helpful. I stayed in a junior suite for a short break to Newcastle. It really does have everything you need - including 3 tellys! A spot light for the desk might have been useful and an adaptor to plug in the two-pin standard lamp in the lounge area.

Having the kitchen was great as I was effectively able to self cater. I did feel guilty about having to leave washing up for someone else (no w/up liquid) but maybe that's the point of it being an hotel.

There is a small gym with the usual equipment. Shame there was no pool. The hotel is ideally situated to walk into Newcastle's centre and of course for football stadium. I drove to this hotel and was relieved at how easy it was to find and having had some anxiety about the first-come-first-served to actually get a parking bay. Mind you, I didn't dare leave it just in case!

I think this is a real find and would both happily stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wisewoman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    416
    196
    58
    25
See reviews for
148
476
32
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

This hotel looks fantastic but having had a couple of days there last week, I would not recommend the service. I left feedback on their website and got a message saying they were investigating and would get back to me. They haven't,

I told them that on checking in I wasn't given info re breakfast or offered any help with my numerous bags. The next day I returned at 16.45 and breakfast plates were still in the room. The fridge didn't work and the sink hadn't been cleaned. The next day breakfast wasnt delivered. eventually someone came to the room saying my phone was on private and they were out of bagels. my new order arrived ten minutes later, without the tea from the original order. all this delay meant a very rushed breakfast.On checkout I wasn't asked how my stay was or if I ended help re my onward journey. The focus was only on settling my incidentals bill.

On the up side, the food was good and the Reservations Manager was very helpful re printing some documents I needed.

This hotel is fine if you want somewhere comfy to crash, their bar seems to attract a young clientele. If you need service that caters for you as an individual, the Premier Inn where I stayed the next night, would be a better bet.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonD1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear SharonD1964,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay, we received email feedback through our central offices, which I have personally responded to please accept my apologies if this did not reach you.

If you wish to discuss this in more detail with myself please feel free to contact myself directly at the hotel where I would be more than happy to discuss further.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay! A group of us came from Glasgow to go to the races, for ladies day, we arrived early, around 11 o'clock and all of our rooms were ready for us, so we were all very impressed. From the moment we entered the hotel we were stunned by the decor. Our room was great, looked onto the football stadium, and the entrance to china town. Room itself was a good size and ideal for the night, bed was really comfy ( best sleep ive had in a while) and the air con great with the weather we have been having. Only criticism was that you could hear some noise from the main road and the room next to us getting a shower in the morning but you expect some noise when in a hotel. Overall great stay and not a rumble of a complaint from anyone in our group about the hotel and all loved the shower/wet room although some of the older men were confused because there was no door to the shower. Will deffo come back next time i am in town with it being very close to the city centre and would recommend it to anyone traveling to Newcastle.

Thanx for a great experience,

A very happy Scottish woman.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annon000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

I was surprised to find a whole kitchen area in my room, complete with TV, microwave, 2-hob stove, etc. The room itself was excellent: very clean and comfortable with a huge bed, massive flat screen TV and lovely shower room.
The food offering on the menu is rather limited. I suspect this is because there are a lot of restaurants nearby and you can cook your own meal if you want.
Breakfast wanted for nothing, and the chef made me porridge on request.
Having stayed in a lot of hotels, I think Sandman is excellent.
There is no pool and I didn't use the fitness centre, so can't comment on that.
Location is excellent for the town centre, and if you are a football fan you are right by St James' Park, but I personally wouldn't want to be there when the football is on!

Room Tip: If you want to be quiet, don't book when there is a big Newcastle FC match!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AustriaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Booked last minute for a great price . Reception is amazing with free coffee or tea . Lovely room , amazing bed and linen . Bathroom did flood from shower but worth it for the shower ! Lovely having a fridge in room to chill wine ...and wine glasses in room !
Excellent location , five min walk to city centre . Would highly recommend and definitely stay again .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buster55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Buster55,

Many thanks for choosing to stay at Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle, your feedback is greatly appreciated. Please accept my apologies for the bathroom we are currently resolving this issue to prevent from happening in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
66 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Really was impressed with this hotel, car park right across from the hotel, room was on the 4th floor and was marvelous, walk in shower was great very comfortable bed had my evening meal at the restaurant which was very good and not expensive, they have a wide choice of beers available.would definately return here in the future

Room Tip: My room was facing St James Park and was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danermag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Danermag,

Many thanks for choosing to stay at Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle, your feedback is greatly appreciated it’s great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed each aspect of your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

I stayed here with my husband and daughter. As soon as you enter the hotel you know it's going to be a good stay. The decor is impressive and welcoming. As we only booked for a double room we got free upgrade to a family suite. As its hot weather the air con unit was fantastic. Will definitely stay here again
Mrs miller

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kezeboni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Kezeboni,

Many thanks for choosing to stay at Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle, your kind words are most appreciated its great to hear how we were able to upgrade your room type. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel

Property: Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Address: Gallowgate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel sits in the city center of Newcastle, surrounded by key attractions in the city such as the iconic Newcastle United Football Club Stadium, China Town, city center shopping district, Newcastle University, etc. (All this within 5 minutes walking radius) In addition we are just few minutes walk away from the Theatre Royal, the Centre of Life, the city Quayside and a great selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy this vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Lastminute, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing